Enough of these anti-PRC nonsense, you think so?

AhJason

Many of them are selfish hypocrites. You see, it is always which side your bread is buttered. If they had bought properties before the prices tripled, will they be singing the same tune?

I view it this way. Unless we live in a classless society (which we ain't) there will always be differentiation between the rich and poor, to varying degrees.

Everybody aspires to be the top of the heap, but realistically, only some can.

But these selfish egocentrics, should not blame the govt for their 'predicament'!

Vote in any alternative govt and they'd still likely remain where they belong / are at.

What makes them even think that they will be released from sandwiched-class bondage and suddenly end up there, atas?

They think a new govt can make cars cheaper, when our island state's land area is finite?

They think a new govt can enable HDB upgraders to condo living, one and all ... or become landed property owners? The land come from where?

The real truth is that we got no where else to expand to!

Jurong Island is already nearly full. How to bring in more industries & investments?

But that's the EDB's and JTC's problem to worry about.

Someone mentioned in another thread about wealth creation.

But where else to create more wealth?

Re-focus on wealth management? But wouldn't that turn this country into a big gambling den? Soft skills without core strengths - like Qatar, Dubai etc.? The big difference is that these countries have huge natural resources, while we have zilch!

So where do we go from here, after our next generation?

Should we export our own talent overseas, like the Philipinos are doing now, remitting money back home?

Which govt can lead the way through rapid globalization?

Does the WP have the experience to even lead?

From the bottom of my heart, I do not have any confidence for them to lead.

Maybe wayang in parliament just for the sake of having an opposition voice, maybe.

But to let them chart Singapore's future, your children's and mine?

No way. I don't trust any of them (yet) on our destiny as a nation!

Look around us.

Which govt can promise / do that?

Japan? They have changed the Diet three times in five years!

They're still stuck with reducing GDP and a fast-greying population.

USA? Their budget deficit still runs to the trillions of USD, after many presidents.

Edited by Jolie888

Again half truths.

Yes. Manila by itself as a city is quite RICH in those earlier years.

However, as a country, Philipines significantly poorer and worse off than Singapore.

The British gave Singapore a good fundamental head start ahead of its neighbours.

The second reason about pinoys failing later on is due to

corruption and general mismangement by the government.

It was not because pinoy land was closed to foreigners which is the topic of this thread.

[cool]

I was referring more to the ideal state of society that the opposition would like to have, not just on the topic of immigration.

We cannot afford to slow down. If we do that, we will sink. We are addicted to the high GDP, the high immigration which drives the economy. Once you cut it off, you will see lots of businesses going up in smoke. Unemployment will be high. This is not bull.

Anyway, signing off now, thank you for tonight's discussion. Got to wake up early to contribute to our economy tomorrow.

Be glad that you can surf MCF in comfort on your hi speed broadband and mobile phone.

Be glad that you have relatively affordable and relatively efficient public transport.

Be glad that when you get home after a hard day's work, your building is clean, the lights are always on, the lifts work, your front door is not broken by some robber, there is reliable electrical supply, your air con switches on fine, your TV switches on fine, your toilet flushes well, a piping hot meal comes out of the kitchen by your mother or your wife or maid.

Lots of us younger generation have never known what poverty is. We have never lived in third world countries like their common folk before.

Whatever it is, one wrong step taken in the governing of our country will see us become a banana republic.

right, we need to think positively.

why don't we compare to better countries and instead keep looking at the other sides?

this is not the first nor the second cases that the People read about it, about ex-foreigners creating scenes.

instead of solving the problem, why are you keep telling me or everyone that we must be contented with what we have? i think that you are thinking too far from the topic.

SG will still continue to grow as a country.

what the People want is that the authority to fix the domestic issues.

why make things so complicated?

show us that our leaders can solve the domestic problems and yet continue with the influx of population. simple, right?

what do you think?

I was referring more to the ideal state of society that the opposition would like to have, not just on the topic of immigration.

We cannot afford to slow down. If we do that, we will sink. We are addicted to the high GDP, the high immigration which drives the economy. Once you cut it off, you will see lots of businesses going up in smoke. Unemployment will be high. This is not bull.

Anyway, signing off now, thank you for tonight's discussion. Got to wake up early to contribute to our economy tomorrow.

Jialat lah, our country machiam addicted to heroin like that. Needs new influx of "heroin" every now and then... [laugh]

If you are a drug addict, either you go cold turkey or you become even more hardcore. We all know the outcome of a hardcore drug addict. -_-

Whatever it is, one wrong step taken in the governing of our country will see us become a banana republic.

I am in sync with you on this.

The anti-govt, selfish egocentrics just don't know what they don't know!

All they want are lower COEs, cheaper cars, higher salaries, own private property ... everything material.

All it takes is one wrong move, one freak election result.

What we have achieved over the last 45+ years may just vaporize.

Sorry if I sound blunt, so is that why you intend to migrate to resource rich Australia? No matter what, I still love Singapore and will stay to fight on

How come all major banking and financial institutions replaced their CEOs who made loses during the 2008 financial meltdown and we didn't?

House affordability. Car affordability.

Do you see how trivial your concerns are as compared to real serious economic problems. Don't even talk about young couples affording a high floor flat with good view and prime location, near parents and near good schools. Dont even talk about car. When that time comes, it will be a question of living on the street or living under a roof - any roof. As for transport, a basic bicycle will be considered luxurious. Hey don't think that all this is far-fetched. We can crash and burn in a matter of years if something goes wrong.

You are right. The end is near. Must groom alternative parties to take over as government.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../268475/1/.html

"So for the average family earning S$1,500-S$3,000, we are talking of astronomical figures but for people like me in government, to deal with the money which we have accumulated by the sweat of our brow over the last 40 years, you have to pay the market rate or the man will up stakes and join Morgan Stanley, Lehman Brothers or Goldman Sachs and you would have an incompetent man and you would have lost money by the billions," said Mr Lee.

Temasek Portfolio Lost $39.91 Billion

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB124350003544761935.html

May 29, 2009

By SE YOUNG LEE and COSTAS PARIS

SINGAPORE -- Singapore's state-owned investment company Temasek Holdings Pte. Ltd. lost 58 billion Singapore dollars (US$39.91 billion) from the end of March 2008 to November 2008, or a little over than half of its portfolio-value gains from the previous five years, the city-state's finance minister said.

Fact is if singapore becomes a closed society like Japan's, with a declining birthrate, we will die a much faster death than Japan's economy because we do not even have any truly global native companies to speak of. Besides Keppel and SIA, we are pretty much confined to the region.

The reason Singapore has grown thus far is solely because of our openness to foreigners, FDI, immigration and the willingness to absorb foreign influences.

Once we become closed off, we shrivel and die.

there's a need to strike a balance though. its up to the millionaire ministers to find that balance. at the moment, it's not quite balanced.

Jolie888: exactly.

Even if we retrench all those bankers and executives that the local disgruntled middle class think are taking away their jobs, can these jobs really be filled by locals?

Looking at the standards of fresh grads and even middle executives nowadays, I think not. Most of our local white collar middle management types are at best, technicians, robots of the straightforward thinking logical type who do certain actions when you program them a certain way. I blame our over-emphasis on narrow, technical education for this. Undergrads are specialized too early in their educational careers. They lack a breadth of thought that the FTs have.

Most local grads can't even speak for nuts, much less THINK.

I am in sync with you on this.

The anti-govt, selfish egocentrics just don't know what they don't know!

All they want are lower COEs, cheaper cars, higher salaries, own private property ... everything material.

All it takes is one wrong move, one freak election result.

What we have achieved over the last 45+ years may just vaporize.

the govt does not run the country. the civil svc does. at the moment, i agree no opposition is able to form a govt. even WP recognises that. WP does not stand for getting rid of the present govt, but to have democratic reforms so as to prevent tyrannical rule.

also, even if WP won all their contested GRC last GE, it would still not be enough to form a govt. But what's needed is a step towards greater numbers so that policies cannot be implemented by one party without checks and balance. Our democracy is far from healthy and history only shows what happens when dynastic, autocratic regimes continue to rule.

Even if we retrench all those bankers and executives that the local disgruntled middle class think are taking away their jobs, can these jobs really be filled by locals?

Looking at the standards of fresh grads and even middle executives nowadays, I think not. Most of our local white collar middle management types are at best, technicians, robots of the straightforward thinking logical type who do certain actions when you program them a certain way. I blame our over-emphasis on narrow, technical education for this. Undergrads are specialized too early in their educational careers. They lack a breadth of thought that the FTs have.

Jim Rogers resides on our shores... Since government so big on foreign talent, why was he never consulted on the Temasek investments?

Edited by Without_a_car

i don't have the stats but the articles i read suggest it's not the white collar jobs going to highly skilled foreigners that are the problem. S'poreans are upset that they are losing jobs in certain sectors to lower skilled, but cheaper workers. Or worse, have that technical job u mentioned but not having the means to combat inflation.

Jim Rogers resides on our shores... Since government so big on foreign talent, why was he never consulted on the Temasek investments?

I dare say Mdm Ho's investment acumen is second to none.

Sorry if I sound blunt, so is that why you intend to migrate to resource rich Australia? No matter what, I still love Singapore and will stay to fight on

i really like the way you wrote.

the People raise concerns because the People love the Country and want to voice out (to stay on and to fight on).

think on the other way round, the foreigners are laughing at us now and yet our leaders are not siding their own People.

it is like, a bunch of soldiers fighting a war without a leader....a Great leader.

I dare say Mdm Ho's investment acumen is second to none.

aside from the discussion, can you remember how much are the losses? [laugh]

i only can remember that we can even use those monies to feed the stray cats. :D

aside from the discussion, can you remember how much are the losses? [laugh]

i only can remember that we can even use those monies to feed the stray cats. :D

how would I know... it's enigmatic as our country's reserves

precisely the point.

it's like asking a plumber to fix a car, a carpenter to do the electrical wiring and a electrician to make furnitures.

how on Earth can we entrust our monies from someone who is not financially sound to invest using our BIG monies.

oh well... it's over. we are broke again and now, we need to bring in more natural resources and that's Human. :D

Edited by Ladykillerz