Tanahseng Clutched May 16, 2012 Author Share May 16, 2012 Why do u go e him $2 when u realise he is fake? Anyone who ask $ from you, you will give? Just wonder Bro, read the thread properly lar. Did I mention I gave him $2? there are 3 of us, 2 of them gave but not me. I know he's fake so as my friends, but they just gave him for the sake of chasing him away. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanahseng Clutched May 16, 2012 Author Share May 16, 2012 I also encounter this bloke at my office..he is standing infront of the traffic light outside DBS tower connecting SGX centre..very desperate sia. Whoever walk past, he will knock the bowl to create awareness and alas no one bother to give him money/food. The time is around 7pm. Yes, I think you are refering to the one i met too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanahseng Clutched May 16, 2012 Author Share May 16, 2012 but got real monk who climb building and stand in ice for charity, but get chauffeured around Oh this monk I never liked and respect him. Before his incident, i realized his face very "gan" Sly type. At last prove me right, he's a "bad" one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poker Neutral Newbie May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 he faced wall a few mths never thought of new stunts to perform for all singaporeans to see? think he repent liao.. either that or new 'Buddha jump over the wall' stunt awaits Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poker Neutral Newbie May 16, 2012 Share May 16, 2012 Oh this monk I never liked and respect him. Before his incident, i realized his face very "gan" Sly type. At last prove me right, he's a "bad" one. haha got like that one ah !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanahseng Clutched May 23, 2012 Author Share May 23, 2012 haha got like that one ah !! Yes loh, this is how I find loh...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged December 18, 2012 Share December 18, 2012 Just encountered another just now at UE2. Asked him where's he from, he said from Taiwan. I believe cos accent really Taiwan, definitely not China, can tell. Then told him off nicely in Thailand, monks don't ask for cash, only food. Then I waved him away. Now I scared he may cast some spell on me for not giving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear December 18, 2012 Share December 18, 2012 but got real monk who climb building and stand in ice for charity, but get chauffeured around Those are not monk lah, they are slaves Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 18, 2012 Share December 18, 2012 Just encountered another just now at UE2. Asked him where's he from, he said from Taiwan. I believe cos accent really Taiwan, definitely not China, can tell. Then told him off nicely in Thailand, monks don't ask for cash, only food. Then I waved him away. Now I scared he may cast some spell on me for not giving. if you had given him a $2/- note, you won't be worring now..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simon29 Neutral Newbie December 18, 2012 Share December 18, 2012 Monks are practical in this modern days. Don't expect them to celibate, eat veggie, have no modern luxuries (like iPhone, cars, nice shoes, branded bags, etc). Time has change....monks also have to adapt mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged December 19, 2012 Share December 19, 2012 are there places monks are forbidden from? i saw one hanging around outside entrance of universal studios. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 19, 2012 Share December 19, 2012 Monk or not I think it's prohibited to beg in sgp. In sgp everything is proved using certs. Hence unless the monk can produce a cert stating he represent whatever temple and is approved by the local Buddhist association to collect donation dan I will donate. Otherwise I would just go to the temple and donate I do not donate to individual monks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged December 19, 2012 Share December 19, 2012 the Buddhist Association of Singapore 新加坡佛教总会 already clarified that Buddhist monks are not allowed to go around asking for money from the public Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear December 19, 2012 Share December 19, 2012 Monks are practical in this modern days. Don't expect them to celibate, eat veggie, have no modern luxuries (like iPhone, cars, nice shoes, branded bags, etc). Time has change....monks also have to adapt mah. Yeah lor....Also can own race horse in Downunder.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 19, 2012 Share December 19, 2012 are there places monks are forbidden from? i saw one hanging around outside entrance of universal studios. i saw 2 in a lingerie shop :o Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EricTeh Neutral Newbie December 19, 2012 Share December 19, 2012 i wonder how these fake people feel that they are cheating innocent people dont they have a heart the less well off are generally more generous and more trusting the rich more salty and less trusting hence the poor will nearly always be poor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged December 19, 2012 Share December 19, 2012 and dont forget those nuns wearing white robe going around hawker centre begging for lui lui lui. i rather use it to buy from the tissue man/auntie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear December 19, 2012 Share December 19, 2012 Monks are practical in this modern days. Don't expect them to celibate, eat veggie, have no modern luxuries (like iPhone, cars, nice shoes, branded bags, etc). Time has change....monks also have to adapt mah. Yes, I've seen monks having iPad. They are wearing yellow and black robe.... I think they are lamas? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...