CNA:2 NSFs Injured In Vehicle Accident

Vulcann

Use our lives to remind those morons? Including garments? No thanks. To the hell with hem.

Us army got high ranking officer in safety appointment with dedicated safety centre to look into safety issues.

I believe saf safety is too dependent on talking, and talking after incident. Not proactive safety culture. [laugh]

We got GSI (General Staff Inspector)

Oh. Never knew they exist for that. Means I see near-miss event, can call them? Blame free or anonymous?

Let this be a reminder to those people who look down on others who are serving or had served their country.

reminder?

they'll just laugh, call us morons and say: "better u than me"...

siao lah!

driver and vch commander sure go DB

what if the vch commander is a regular?

also kena?

how to change my son's status from CITIZEN to PR, to avoid NS?

its easier to keng for PES F than to surrender citizenship/PR

what if the vch commander is a regular?

also kena?

If his fault then might be lo. Since this one quite serious accident. Normally if minor accident sometimes just get extra and go for some refresher course only. Last time my superior was the IO for one of the accidents. The guy only got minor injury so end up he just recommend the guy to go for the refresher only.

Let this be a reminder to those people who look down on others who are serving or had served their country.

We practically use our lives to do that.

Hmm do you seriously thing that these ppl who look down on nsmen of all the ppl will give a damn? [confused]

I think they will be busy earning money and making babies while the nsmen are serving ns.

Edited by Pain

how to change my son's status from CITIZEN to PR, to avoid NS?

Is it really that bad to be a sporean male in this country? [smallcry]

Us army got high ranking officer in safety appointment with dedicated safety centre to look into safety issues.

I believe saf safety is too dependent on talking, and talking after incident. Not proactive safety culture. [laugh]

Err.... I believe you never serve army before?

There is a audit branch in G5 army that does safety audit. SAF takes all safety breaches very seriously. Army these days are not the same as before. The only good thing about Teo Chee Hean is that he became defense minister and revamp the way Army runs. Army has become more transparent with every incident reported and published. That is the reason why these days you get to read such incident report (unfortunately).

There are officers making spots checks on all camps everyday to ensure that safety procedures and doctrine strictly adhere. Any breaches will be reported and action will be taken against the camp.

I'm not speaking for any the Army. It is just what I have seen.

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_798859.html

Ways to make jeep transport safer

Published on May 15, 2012

AS A former full-time national serviceman and now an operationally ready national serviceman, I have used army jeeps regularly ('Time-out after NSF dies in crash'; last Saturday).

Nine years ago, we were on a training course when a jeep overturned. Thankfully, the commander who was supposed to be in the seat that suffered the most damage reported sick that day.

Drivers may not be able to meet the challenges posed by the local terrain, especially the hilly regions, leading to incidents like the one we experienced.

Admittedly, we cannot reduce or eliminate the essentials of military training, but we can minimise the possibility of death or serious injury. Certain aspects, like lowering the centre of gravity of the jeeps, fitting them with hard steel covers or even making hilly roads out of bounds to jeeps during training, unless in emergency cases, could be considered.

Military training is a rite of passage for Singaporean adult males. And we need to keep this proud tradition, while bearing in mind that what parents want is to have their sons back home safe.

Tan Liyang

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_798863.html

Concerns of a mum with three sons

I HAVE three sons, aged 23, 20 and 17 ('Time-out after NSF dies in crash'; last Saturday). My two older sons are serving national service, while the youngest will start serving after he completes his International Baccalaureate programme.

Every national serviceman is someone's son. We can fix the faulty brakes of a vehicle, suspend training or declare a safety time-out, but a son is irreplaceable. We can assist families in their time of grief and investigate the causes of accidents, but mothers of lost sons carry a lifelong burden of mourning.

Mimi Cheong (Mrs)

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_798861.html

A more robust NS safety system needed

THE death of Third Sergeant Tan Mou Sheng - the fifth Singapore Armed Forces serviceman to die in five months - raises the question of whether the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) has in place a robust safety system that will prevent all avoidable injuries and deaths ('Time-out after NSF dies in crash'; last Saturday).

The fact that it takes a time-out, following the death of a serviceman, 'to remind commanders, trainers and instructors on the safety system to ensure safety measures are in place' suggests the need for a better and more effective review.

The safety time-out does nothing to reassure parents whose sons are serving national service that safety is the No. 1 priority.

Mindef must view our sons the way we do: They are not merely statistics, but people in whom we have invested our lives.

Helen Kang (Ms)

Edited by Vulcann

Err.... I believe you never serve army before?

There is a audit branch in G5 army that does safety audit. SAF takes all safety breaches very seriously. Army these days are not the same as before. The only good thing about Teo Chee Hean is that he became defense minister and revamp the way Army runs. Army has become more transparent with every incident reported and published. That is the reason why these days you get to read such incident report (unfortunately).

There are officers making spots checks on all camps everyday to ensure that safety procedures and doctrine strictly adhere. Any breaches will be reported and action will be taken against the camp.

I'm not speaking for any the Army. It is just what I have seen.

you must be blind