Chee SJ's speech Oslo Freedom Forum

Relacklabrudder

  On 5/10/2012 at 1:05 AM, Felipe said:

Inflation this year is 5%? Cpf gives 2.5%. If things stay the same, wun b enuf.

5% is for house and car. house already have liao dont need to worry. car?? if price too high dont buy.

its that simple. house price will drop when economic crisis hit. this will in turn push down lots of other things too.

On 5/10/2012 at 1:10 AM, Vid said:

Perhaps you are right. He does like to focus only on the bad things around. His behaviour is too erractic and his actions often crazy.

he did tok abt the gd things in Singapore beginning of speech

  On 5/10/2012 at 1:38 AM, Mllcg said:

what if its truth?

The usual reply applies - "Let's move on", "It's a one-off incident" <_<

On 5/10/2012 at 1:28 AM, Felipe said:

If what he say is rubbish, govt can sue?

Sue for what? Get his underpants? [laugh]

On 5/10/2012 at 1:47 AM, Zanter said:

Sue for what? Get his underpants? [laugh]

las time they keep suing him. seems different these days.

On 5/10/2012 at 2:08 AM, Felipe said:

las time they keep suing him. seems different these days.

There is no point suing him. It is like giving validity to a mad dog and what would you get from mad dog besides rabies?

On 5/10/2012 at 1:01 AM, Parkwalker said:

Three scenario will make a balanced picture:

1. Giving 50% of your current pay

- We are now giving 20% of our pay out anyway (that is almost half of your argument).

- The accumulated funds from the CPF is given out conditionally. Heavy subsidised healthcare and welfare dole are given out unconditionally.

- CPF depends on your earning capacity. For the rich, the fund will go far and wide (BTW, they will have excess money to do other things as well: such as investing in properties, shares etc). What about the poor, and even the middle class? What happens when you do not have enough? suck thumb and be a burden to your children. Paying 50% now avoids this trap. Question: do you want to enjoy now and then be a burden to your children; even sue them for maintenance?

2. We have got nothing , no natural resources

- We have nothing but money here. Thats why IR are here, mutlinational banks are here. They are indication of our wealth. We have the fastest growing rate of millionaires.

- Pls look at how we spend on other things beyond welfare, its a big show hand.

- This argument purely negates your ability to look at the books. Try looking.

3. We have to depend on ourselves

- Why do we have governments? To depend on ourselves? What is the difference from that and living in an island?

- We live together for solidarity and common help. We (hopefully) believe that collective effort could make a difference beyond what we as individuals could do.

- What is our society's values? To depend on yourself only? Then we don't have to talk about charity and helping others. Because the same will not be done to you?Is that the society you want to live in?

- KPKB is the start of raising awareness, a precursor to desired changes. We KPKB for independence for several years before the British took notice of us. This is just a process of change. Keeping mum keep the status quo. Do you desire that?

fully agreed. i mean CPF contribution is kinda suck dry by the property price. then they say CPF is for retirement. but it is muutally exclusive, it's either ur property or retirement fund in CPF with ever increasing HDB prices.

also CPF can also be seen as a loan to the garhmen. will u charge 2.5% interest if u r lending ppl $ for 30 odd yrs? nope, prevailing bonds issue by garhmen or private companies even for 10-15 yrs is ~ 4-6%. but cpf is paying only 2.5%.

and with all the increase in withdraw age, min sum of at present 131k. most can bid gd bye to their cpf if they buy a hdb. so if u cannot get back ur cpf , it can be seen as tax. A tax of 33%!!!!

On 5/10/2012 at 12:58 AM, KARTer said:

He serves as a warning light on the dashboard but linked to a faulty sensor which can be reading wrongly sometimes, plus the bulb is too bright n glaring

Wah Chim man ! [laugh]

On 5/10/2012 at 6:17 AM, Tigerwoods said:

Wah Chim man ! [laugh]

LOL, or you prefer him as a hazard light gone haywired!! :o