Is life generally better after GE2011?

Bullterrier

I am not saying that.... I am just saying that the problem is not unique to us. Global economy is not doing well, so please manage expectation. If you think we are bad, there are other countries experiencing far worse....

The problem is: there are plenty in Singapore that is not so great and they have nothing to do with global economy.

e.g.

- Electricity prices that is pegged to oil price although we power our power stations with natural gas

- Rocketing property price due to policies issues

- COE that is rising despite the gloomy economy

- Public train fare got a hike but train breakdown is so frequent

- Public bailout of public transport operators.

Ok...normally out of two sch holiday i will go at least once. Enjoy the long road drive....life is tough in Singapore

For us to climb up the GH peak to enjoys "cool humid climate" and visiting 清水庤 for 拜拜平安 [thumbsup]

you having school holidays also??

Ya those cool air and gohtong Jaya yummy BKT and fried pig's tail... [bounce2] ...yum yum...

This morning submitted MC to school office and now I'm abit bore lor........sorry uncle [:p]

You don't study hard hor you will end up become roadsweeper or Table wiper !

Gol and study and stop playing with your bird also ! [laugh]

I would say that life in Singapore was much better in the 70's to 80's when the govt was 100% PAP.

Even in the 90's life was still relatively good for Singaporeans.

- low inflation rate

- low unemployment

- less congested roads, no jams

- no COE/ERP in the 70-80's

- low cost of cars, HDB, private property and basic necessities ... food

- low FT count, by numbers

- many of our children got into local universities, based on 100% meritocracy (no quota to foreign scholars)

- more local food / coffee shops in Geylang and even food courts (now infested with chinanese!)

- even our prostitutes were locals or Malaysians (now got china, vietnamese, pinoy, thai, indon etc.)

But into the new millennia, with opposition parties and one-upmanship, it seem that our current woes started from then on!

Perhaps we should go back to a 100% PAP govt by GE2016?

Food for thought to the 39.9%!

it has been argued that problems in the world nowadays can be attributed to the decrease of pirates at sea too

but another more sound theory:

70s to 80s it was LKY and GHK

in the 00s its LSL

Yes,,,,Sir ! No more next time or again liao [sweatdrop]

Almost the same when i speak to my kids but dont have the bird potion...... additioanl... maybe sweeper and cleaner also dont have all taken by FW...

Yes,,,,Sir ! No more next time or again liao [sweatdrop]

Uncle Fong, when can we taste your BBQ chicken wing and sing Karaoke in JB ?

Almost the same when i speak to my kids but dont have the bird potion...... additioanl... maybe sweeper and cleaner also dont have all taken by FW...

Ya I also sometimes carry this same warning my parents gave me to my kids...

I think need to innovate abit :

If you don't study hard, you will end up as Sales Asst in Metro, BHG or Isetan ? not this one no good

End up grow your hair long and be hippie and take drugs ? not this one also as it can be cursing them already...

I think we should not even say anything and LLST ?

Ya those cool air and gohtong Jaya yummy BKT and fried pig's tail... [bounce2] ...yum yum...

Ya, it's always fixed schedule at Goh Tong Jaya up-hill & down hill lunch, have you ever try 清水庤 and 磨菇园 food taste ?

清水庤 vegie nice...mushroom farm no go yet...heard it is noce too....

My thought is that the system had worked best without the opposition.

So we should go back to a 100% PAP govt to reset the system.

What has the opposition done for us thus far, in real terms?

No, wayang in parliament no count hor.

Punching into the air and shouting slogans during election rallies also no count.

What have they contributed materially, in their arguably-constrained role to help the man in the street?

You just name me 3, any 3, and I will enter into a decent and meaningful conversation with you.

Cut out the dramatics and theatrics please.

this far how many seats do the opposition have in parliament?

if every decision, no matter good or bad opposed by the opposition parties; the outcome will still be the same because the opposition don't even have 20% seats in parliament

so how can you blame them?

its like blaming your company's toilet cleaner for the company's failure without realizing that the toilet cleaner does not pull the strings in your company

Uncle Fong, when can we taste your BBQ chicken wing and sing Karaoke in JB ?

You decides the date, I'll decide the full course menu for your approval [nod]

A few external factors that helped create the golden years in the 70s and 80s for Singapore, and perhaps even the other 3 small dragons of Asia -- Cold War, Economic Boom in Japan, Vietnam War, Cultural Revolution in China, Downfall of Marcos in the Philippines, amongst others. Japan, US, Germany and other European investors needed low-cost manufacturing like they do now, they came to Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Korea. Traders needed to export their goods to 3rd World Asia, Middle East and the Communist World, they came to Singapore and Hong Kong. There wasn't the Internet, IDD and trunk calls were ridiculously expensive and before we had fax in the 90's, there was only telex and snail mail. Therefore, customer service and call centres are always local staff.

Since the 2000's, the options are many, they can go to China, they can go to India, they can also go to Vietnam and Indonesia. They can even go to Brazil and Russia. Likewise, these countries are also driving changes to the global economy and creating new markets. Only mindsets need to change to adapt to the new order, or else we will never progress out of the 1980's. If you are a Singapore business owner, you will also want to take advantage of the new markets, both in terms of selling them stuff and also tapping into their talent pool. Philippines is already becoming the next India as an IT and call centre hub, and India will need to move on to greater things, expanding their domestic market. Vietnam and Indonesia are slowly taking away manufacturing orders from China, and China will need to move on to greater things, expanding their domestic market. Where will Singapore be positioned ?

One internal factor help make life for wage earners more difficult

HDB new flat prices in 2004

3rm 90k

4rm 120k

5rm 160k

EM 280k

HDB new flats prices in 2012

2rm 100k

3rm 160k

4rm 300k

5rm 380k

EC 750k

I doubt starting pay doubled during the last 8 years

By Ansley Ng, TODAY | Posted: 09 February 2009 0818 hrs

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/407689/1/.html

When he first raised this in Parliament on Friday, Dr Lim gave the example of flat prices in the 1970s: S$15,000 and S$20,000 for a three-room and four-room flat respectively. A graduate with a starting salary of S$1,000 could pay off his apartment with 15 to 25 months of his pay, he said.

But today, though their starting salaries are three to five times higher, the prices of new flats have shot up

You decides the date, I'll decide the full course menu for your approval [nod]

Sorry bro, you are a singaporean living in JB???

清水庤 vegie nice...mushroom farm no go yet...heard it is noce too....

If you've no problem eating at 清水庤 vegetarian foods, I'm very sure your taste bug will accept 磨菇园 stir fried dishes, there are free shuttle tpt. service from casino hotel, you may ask the hotel staff there for pick-up timing.

Cheers.

As if stagnant wages, increase HDB flat prices not challenging enough, CPF contribution ceiling/cap has been cut/reduced when HDB new flat prices are the highest.

In 1992, CPF contribution was 40% capped at $6000.

HDB prices in 1992

4rm 70k

5rm 110k

EM 160k

Now CPF contribution 36% capped at $5000

HDB prices in 2012

4rm 300k

5rm 380k

EC 750k

Price of housing increased by almost 4 times.

Yet CPF contribution has been reduced by 25%.