Is life generally better after GE2011?

Bullterrier

LOL. [laugh]

yeah.. indeed an interesting topic to discuss and in a healthy manner. :D

Agreed. Good intellectual stimulus. But hey wait, it's still ongoing....I best return to the back bench....

Last batch of 1/2 room flats built in the 70s...

Low cost HDB housing help uplifted Singaporeans from poor to middle income...

2006 they started building 2 room flats/studio apartment, you know the lower middle income have slipped back to being poor again

new 2 room flats also cost $100k...

Edited by Without_a_car

Thank you for the cut outs. One of the policies which adversely affect young Singaporeans at the expense of their CPF retirement fund is the flawed housing policy of current market subsidy as opposed to cost subsidy of the past.

Hence, it would be good if statistics indicating the percentages of wages vis a vis mortgage and loan tenure can be made available.

Iirc, in the past, mortgage loan didn't cost more than 15% of the average monthly wage to complete a 20-25 year loan tenure for a HDB flat. Today, I think it's no less than 30% of the average monthly wage for probably a 30 year loan.

Having such statistics can give a better picture of why the gahmen can do something about the situation for the sake of today's young.

To those who are curious about Jolie888, this link - Post 19 of 22 millions wanting to migrate... may provide some insight. Hence, little wonder why PAP 100% control means much to her.

Just my 2 cents. [wave]

Edited by Neutralsg

my exact sentiments. this is how I always feel as well whenever pro pap supporters say the usual things like "be grateful with what you have, look at living standards and conditions of people in nearby countries, such as Indonesia, Malaysia and etc etc". I mean, for heaven sake, we are already passed that phase. instead of comparing ourselves to countries like Switerland, Japan, UK and etc etc, this very group of people still want to use countries like Indonesia as examples to gauge the performance of our leaders.

Its like, if your kids consistently score 80 out of 100 in their work and one day consistently slipped to just 70 out of 100, shouldn't you use the yardstick of 80 out of 100 and above to judge if he/she did well? Does it make logical sense to still compare with other kids who usually flunk their papers and are thought to have done ok if they can score 55 out of 100? Aka "oh my son although grades deproved but have scored consistently higher than other children I know who is always getting 50-55 out of 100, and so I think its ok". Who would actually think that way??

i remember many years ago someone did say we'd attain Swiss standard of living. But of course, he might not have said when we'd achieve that. :D

this happens everywhere la. in my ward, Tanjong Pagar GRC, headed by the almighty and the PM-to-be, rats and loads of rubbish near the lifts are a frequent sight at the block which I stay...

we must understand he has very important national issues to attend to, rats and rubbish are not urgent / important.... [:)]

Ok guys, I had my fun here.

Thanks for the sparring session.

I am outta here. Bye.

Too free lah.I did not say what I mean and did not mean what

I say. Cheers!

No diff even though hammer won over my GRC, however do notice the tissue paper outside my corridoor been laying round for 1+ week.

Think I will clear it myself tmr.

maybe someone is using the tissue pack to chop his smoking spot? :o

User:Vsion/Ngiam Tong Dow - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Land Policy

Housing 85 per cent of the population in 900,000 flats is no mean achievement by the HDB. Few know that the cornerstone of our vast low-cost housing programmes is the Land Acquisition Act. The Act allows the State to acquire private land for public purpose at pre-development prices. Dr Goh asked me, then a young officer, to draft the Cabinet memorandum proposing that the compensation to be paid for land acquired exclude its potential value.

We saw no reason why landlords should benefit from public infrastructural investment in roads, drainage, sewerage, power and water pipelines, etc. We would pay only the market value of raw land before public development. Our policy discouraged land speculation. The development charge imposed for change of use falls within the same concept. In effect, the State creamed off about half the potential value.

Sadly, the clarity of thought shown by Dr Goh in pricing land was lacking in more recent years. Relying on the concept of opportunity cost, the Chief Valuer, at the behest of either the Ministry of National Development or the MTI (I am not sure which), valued land with Raffles Place land as the benchmark. The assumption is that every square metre of land in any part of Singapore has the potential to be Raffles Place.

The deviation from the principle on land value used by one of our founders, the late Dr Goh has something to do with high HDB prices, at the expense of affordability of public housing.

Old guard's low cost housing lifted Singaporeans from being poor to middle income. Current "affordable" housing will doomed our future generations to mortgage slavery.

Ho Kwon Ping's take on PAP leaders for using 'scare tactics' to discredit Prof Lim's 'wage shock therapy' proposal

Executive Chairman of Banyan Tree Holdings Ho Kwon Ping has taken a potshot at PAP leaders for using their usual 'scare tactics' to discredit Professor Lim Chong Yah's 'wage shock therapy'.

Professor Lim's proposal to forcefully raise the salaries of those earning $1,500 and below has been criticized and ridiculed heavily by PAP ministers such as Lim Swee Say and Lee Yi-Shyan who warned of 'dire consequences' if pay hike is not accompanied by increase in productivity.

Without giving names, Mr Ho wrote in the Straits Times today that it is 'disingenuous' of Prof Lim's detractors to use such warped logic to dismiss his proposal:

"But I also think it is somewhat disingenuous of Prof Lim's detractors to simply use scare tactics like 'investors will flee' or 'we will have a drastic economic decline' to reject his proposals out of hand. Critics of the plan – many of whom have access to economic modelling capabilities – should run their models and share with everyone their findings."

He added rather sarcastically that the critics are doing a great disservice to the government:

"In fact, those critics who invoke the foreign investor scare tactic are doing a great disservice to all Singaporeans, and particularly our own Government. Singapore is not a cheap-labour attraction. Singapore's investment climate is stellar because we have achieved that rare combination of clean, pragmatic and efficient government, a hard-working and problem-solving population, and a good society to live in."

Though Mr Ho is not in favor of Prof Lim's proposals, he felt there should be a constructive debate on them:

"I am personally not in favour of Prof Lim's proposals, but I admire him for having the gumption to make radical proposals. If we are to have a thoughtful society, we should debate the merits of his proposals with equally coherent arguments, grounded in data and reason."

When MPs of MIW focus their debate on their opponents rather than the issue at hand, do you think there can be any chance of; quote "...debate the merits of his proposals with equally coherent arguments, grounded in data and reason" unquote ???

Besides the comments by LSS & LYS, the recent parliament debate is a sample of what can be expected.

Therefore, we still need to wait and see what issues had been properly addressed over the next 4 years.

Edited by Neutralsg

To those who are curious about Jolie888, this link - Post 19 of 22 millions wanting to migrate... may provide some insight. Hence, little wonder why PAP 100% control means much to her.

Yup, below is cut and pasted from the link you have provided.

She's a smart cookie alright (and rich too) - probably an elite, upper class.

She belongs to the top 5% that will benefit much from Singapore's current policies tuned for rapid GDP growth and globalization.

I am contented in SG.

Living in prime CCR landed, fully paid up.

A couple of D9 investment properties.

Earning >$500K p.a.

Own >3 cars.

Support the PAP govt 100%.

Become Aussie for what?

Seek quality of life?

My quality of life: R&R in Oz for a few months in a year (to meet my PR requirements)

Put a significant part of my cash savings there, earning 5+% interest in savings, or up to 6% for FD with ZERO risk and a guaranteed spending channel there (i.e. no forex exposure for me).

Thank you for the cut outs. One of the policies which adversely affect young Singaporeans at the expense of their CPF retirement fund is the flawed housing policy of current market subsidy as opposed to cost subsidy of the past.

Hence, it would be good if statistics indicating the percentages of wages vis a vis mortgage and loan tenure can be made available.

Iirc, in the past, mortgage loan didn't cost more than 15% of the average monthly wage to complete a 20-25 year loan tenure for a HDB flat. Today, I think it's no less than 30% of the average monthly wage for probably a 30 year loan.

Having such statistics can give a better picture of why the gahmen can do something about the situation for the sake of today's young.

Just my 2 cents. [wave]

Its sad to see there are so many out there who will continue to support a system that benefits only them.

If putting alternate parties shake their pole position, they will do what they do best - TALK DOWN ON YOU instead of trying to convince us or convert us.

When MPs of MIW focus their debate on their opponents rather than the issue at hand, do you think there can be any chance of; quote "...debate the merits of his proposals with equally coherent arguments, grounded in data and reason" unquote ???

Besides the comments by LSS & LYS, the recent parliament debate is a sample of what can be expected.

Therefore, we still need to wait and see what issues had been properly addressed over the next 4 years.

Can't solve the problem themselves created, so silence the critics?