Is life generally better after GE2011?

Bullterrier

Uhh, what you mean by "opposition-majority govt" ? If the opposition forms the majority, and they are no longer the opposition, they are the ruling party. Like when PAP took over government from Labour Front in 1959 with 54% share of votes, they switched roles from opposition to ruling party.

Yes you are right. In today's context they are still deemed the opposition.

So we cannot let the opposition become the ruling party because of the exact reasons Ronleech has quoted! That I agree with him!

Edited by Jolie888

Yes you are right. In today's context they are still deemed the opposition.

So we cannot let the opposition become the ruling party because of the exact reasons Ronleech has quoted! That I agree with him!

Lol... why LKY can and others cannot? [:(]..thot you say they are not the opposition in your point of view earlier?

Edited by Ronleech

Lol......hmm...then why some minister claimed that the flood happened only once in 50 years when Singapore is only 47 as of now? And couple of weeks later flood again?....ok lah...you win and let all singaporean suffer for another 4 year to see if they repent.

We won't suffer lah - not with all the infrastructural improvements being made and to be made.

We will prosper together come 2016, vote them in for yet another 5-year round.

There may still be the 39.9% minority, but what can they do?

LLST perhaps?

Edited by Jolie888

We won't suffer lah - not with all the infrastructural improvements being made and to be made.

LLST perhaps?

Hope you are right....... [rolleyes]

My question is ....are you sure the current lot of MP dont have suh ppl in them? ...it is a yes or no question.....

I doubt so. Otherwise they cannot be there.

Perhaps you can name me one and we can discuss?

I doubt so. Otherwise they cannot be there.

Perhaps you can name me one and we can discuss?

Womaniser i donno infact...but incompetent there are a handful....just flip the paper and you will see, quite often....

Lol... why LKY can and others cannot? [:(]..thot you say they are not the opposition in your point of view earlier?

LKY is a different breed altogether. He felt for the country, for the peoples.

I have not seen anyone close to his calibre, charisma and leadership in the current lot in the opposition.

Womaniser i donno infact...but incompetent there are a handful....just flip the paper and you will see, quite often....

Name one lah, so we can discuss his/her incompetancies

LLST perhaps?

39.9% is here to make sure they pap do a good job.. I will dread the day of a 100% pap majority. Who is going to check on them. Please give credit to the opposition for their presence has kept the pap on their toes and the real beneficiary are the citizens.

I would say that life in Singapore was much better in the 70's to 80's when the govt was 100% PAP.

Even in the 90's life was still relatively good for Singaporeans.

- low inflation rate

- low unemployment

- less congested roads, no jams

- no COE/ERP in the 70-80's

- low cost of cars, HDB, private property and basic necessities ... food

- low FT count, by numbers

- many of our children got into local universities, based on 100% meritocracy (no quota to foreign scholars)

- more local food / coffee shops in Geylang and even food courts (now infested with chinanese!)

- even our prostitutes were locals or Malaysians (now got china, vietnamese, pinoy, thai, indon etc.)

But into the new millennia, with opposition parties and one-upmanship, it seem that our current woes started from then on!

Perhaps we should go back to a 100% PAP govt by GE2016?

Food for thought to the 39.9%!

Well all these woes as you mentioned was not started one year ago. They the pap formulate the policies so who is to blame.. .?

The world is moving so fast that no matter which side we choose, the policies can only be reactionary in nature lah. :D

Life is generally better in the 70s and 80s because the effects of globalisation has not reached critical mass yet, and the old guards are able to take their time to consider and properly put forth their policies. Economic cycles in those days are also longer and more predictable, whereas nowadays, cycles become shorter and unfathomable.

So what you're saying is the current team are not good enough ?

As I said, you dare name one?

Then we talk. Otherwise you are just noise to me

I dont dare leh..... how? [rolleyes]