Is life generally better after GE2011?

Bullterrier

to be honest, even though I am working for myself as a professional trader, I am thinking of moving to Msia.

For a job like trading, I can do it anywhere, but my earnings can stretch longer over there.

but then again

it is about lifestyle right

Question..... Are those living in Singapore are the only ones suffering? People tend to forget that Singapore is very exposed to external elements.

Question..... Does the knowledge that there are other people suffering change anything at all? Should the fact that there are "fellow sufferers" diminish our demand that life should improve?

I am not saying that.... I am just saying that the problem is not unique to us. Global economy is not doing well, so please manage expectation. If you think we are bad, there are other countries experiencing far worse....

Depending on which group of people you see..

The funny thing is i still see people driving SKE SKF cars, Saturday ERP still Jam, Orchard parking weekend always full house, eat at nice restuarants over the weekend, shopping at boutiques, Taxi all hired, gold class cinemas all full house, paying $500 for escorts, weekend all rental cars are out....

So who is struggling?

Edited by Ooosh

I am not saying that.... I am just saying that the problem is not unique to us. Global economy is not doing well, so please manage expectation. If you think we are bad, there are other countries experiencing far worse....

But how about those countries doing better then us? As the top paid policitian in the world, shouldnt they be better then those, thus, managed better then them?

See, that's the problem here.... People equate high salary minister to everything....

I do agree that ministers here are grossly overpaid. No arguing about it. However, it's becoming a pandemic disease in SG. Every damn thing boils down to, "if a million dollar minister can get get such high salary, go ask him to solve laa". This is fcuking sickening to me....

See, that's the problem here.... People equate high salary minister to everything....

I do agree that ministers here are grossly overpaid. No arguing about it. However, it's becoming a pandemic disease in SG. Every damn thing boils down to, "if a million dollar minister can get get such high salary, go ask him to solve laa". This is fcuking sickening to me....

Cant blame ppl for asking so too....isnt it? Who is expected to accept a bunch of grossly overpaid government who cant solve problems?

We dont expect them to do everything..just those issue that affected the majority of us, is that too much to ask for from them, being the government and with such pay? :mellow:

Edited by Ronleech

So you expect ALL problems solved by gahmen jsut because they are overly paid?

Bro, please...dun cut short my posting...

BTW, why they are voted in to represent the citizen? Just to sit there and enjoy their high pay? They are suppose to solve probelms for the nation and citizen, isnt it? :huh:

So you expect ALL problems solved by gahmen jsut because they are overly paid?

as sinkies livelihood are affected,these are considered as state affairs and should be solved by those multi millionaires with 20+ months bonus.if not why are they being PAID SO OUT OF THIS WORLD?

Bro, please...dun cut short my posting...

BTW, why they are voted in to represent the citizen? Just to sit there and enjoy their high pay? They are suppose to solve probelms for the nation and citizen, isnt it? :huh:

Sorry for the cut....

Anyway, you sure they just sit there cho bo lan?

Sorry for the cut....

Anyway, you sure they just sit there cho bo lan?

Hahaha.... Many said so too lor...but who care so long at the end of the day i can produce what other cho ka si can produce or even more then them... Working hard is not confirm effective, working smart might not be CBL either....look at the result at the end of the cycle....... that tells all.

Edited by Ronleech

I would say that life in Singapore was much better in the 70's to 80's when the govt was 100% PAP.

Even in the 90's life was still relatively good for Singaporeans.

- low inflation rate

- low unemployment

- less congested roads, no jams

- no COE/ERP in the 70-80's

- low cost of cars, HDB, private property and basic necessities ... food

- low FT count, by numbers

- many of our children got into local universities, based on 100% meritocracy (no quota to foreign scholars)

- more local food / coffee shops in Geylang and even food courts (now infested with chinanese!)

- even our prostitutes were locals or Malaysians (now got china, vietnamese, pinoy, thai, indon etc.)

But into the new millennia, with opposition parties and one-upmanship, it seem that our current woes started from then on!

Perhaps we should go back to a 100% PAP govt by GE2016?

Food for thought to the 39.9%!

as sinkies livelihood are affected,these are considered as state affairs and should be solved by those multi millionaires with 20+ months bonus.if not why are they being PAID SO OUT OF THIS WORLD?

Yes, I fully agree they are too overly paid.... However, what I am trying to say is that grossly pay is a separate issue altogether from the issue on hand. While I agree that some issues could be better handled, I am concerned with the idea that everyone just blindly blame gahmen for all sort of problems just because they are highly paid. I am not accusing Ronleach for being the same but this is the serious problem I see in SG nowadays. It has also robbed away the civic mindedness of the people as well.

I would say that life in Singapore was much better in the 70's to 80's when the govt was 100% PAP.

- low inflation rate

- low unemployment

- many of our children got into local universities, based on 100% meritocracy (no quota to foreign scholars)

- more local food / coffee shops in Geylang and even food courts (now infested with chinanese!)

- even our prostitutes were locals or Malaysians (now got china, vietnamese, pinoy, thai, indon etc.)

But into the new millennia, with opposition parties and one-upmanship, it seem that our current woes started from then on!

Good suggestion...but base on you points above, who implemented and allowed them? Opposition? Food for though to you??

- low inflation rate

- low unemployment

Well, a simple fact that population almost doubled from 3.6 billion in 70s to just over 7 billion now.

You may say that SG population didn't grow what. However, every thing you buy is from outside singapore and we have to vie for it.

Good suggestion...but base on you points above, who implemented and allowed them? Opposition? Food for though to you??

My thought is that the system had worked best without the opposition.

So we should go back to a 100% PAP govt to reset the system.

What has the opposition done for us thus far, in real terms?

No, wayang in parliament no count hor.

Punching into the air and shouting slogans during election rallies also no count.

What have they contributed materially, in their arguably-constrained role to help the man in the street?

You just name me 3, any 3, and I will enter into a decent and meaningful conversation with you.

Cut out the dramatics and theatrics please.

Edited by Jolie888