Bullterrier Clutched May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 (edited) I see people all around me struggling more than usual to make ends meet. Costs of basic commodities and essentials in life has gone up such as electricity, gas and water. These increases are usually in excess of the raw materials costs increase as well. Having a simple meal nowadays in the hawker centre cost easily more than 30-50% as compared to a few years back and if you are a family of 4-5 this means a fair amount of increment in your monthly expenses for which your income has not risen to meet. Someone wrote that most of these increases are, aside from the price increase of raw ingredients and materials, more that of rent and operation costs. The person went on to argue that more than 60% of rented properties belong to HDB, URA and other government linked organisations, can the authorities take a closer look at the state of affairs on the ground to see the hardships that are being caused as a result of this trickle down effect all these high overheads and yearly good-pat-in-the-back profit reports? The irony of it all is that we can clearly see all this profits are derived at the expense of a brutal drive for profits at every level of the game including cutbacks in key operations and maintenance of public conveniences such as transports and for example public waterworks and drainage. I think in the years to come, more native Singaporeans will have to seriously consider finding another place to call their home and live out their golden years. How else can your pittance savings last you especially if you have been displaced by FTs who are being brought in indiscriminately by the truckloads and also the high elder healthcare and other related living expenses? Ministers who make more than $120K a month not inclusive their fat bonuses cannot understand this and at most do lip service solving of problems without the drive or competency to get down to the root of the problem to better the lives of the people. Someone said it very aptly when he commented that if you make more than $1 million a year, you are disconnected with the people and the problems the man in the street faces. The rich only take care of themselves while the poor struggles to just put bread on the table, such is the disparity of life. Quite sad and make it sickening really to watch ceremonies when they come on stage to give useless thesis quality speeches and awards to each other for a job allegedly well done. Edited May 8, 2012 by Bullterrier ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 (edited) May 11 to May 12 only 1 year only leh ... nothing much la Edited May 8, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 The dark side won. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 but thambi said low and low middle income should not feel the inflationary pressure I see people all around me struggling more than usual to make ends meet. Costs of basic commodities and essentials in life has gone up such as electricity, gas and water. These increases are usually in excess of the raw materials costs increase as well. Having a simple meal nowadays in the hawker centre cost easily more than 30-50% as compared to a few years back and if you are a family of 4-5 this means a fair amount of increment in your monthly expenses for which your income has not risen to meet. Someone wrote that most of these increases are, aside from the price increase of raw ingredients and materials, more that of rent and operation costs. The person went on to argue that more than 60% of rented properties belong to HDB, URA and other government linked organisations, can the authorities take a closer look at the state of affairs on the ground to see the hardships that are being caused as a result of this trickle down effect all these high overheads and yearly good-pat-in-the-back profit reports? The irony of it all is that we can clearly see all this profits are derived at the expense of a brutal drive for profits at every level of the game including cutbacks in key operations and maintenance of public conveniences such as transports and for example public waterworks and drainage. I think in the years to come, more native Singaporeans will have to seriously consider finding another place to call their home and live out their golden years. How else can your pittance savings last you especially if you have been displaced by FTs who are being brought in indiscriminately by the truckloads and also the high elder healthcare and other related living expenses? Ministers who make more than $120K a month not inclusive their fat bonuses cannot understand this and at most do lip service solving of problems without the drive or competency to get down to the root of the problem to better the lives of the people. Someone said it very aptly when he commented that if you make more than $1 million a year, you are disconnected with the people and the problems the man in the street faces. The rich only take care of themselves while the poor struggles to just put bread on the table, such is the disparity of life. Quite sad and make it sickening really to watch ceremonies when they come on stage to give useless thesis quality speeches and awards to each other for a job allegedly well done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 one word... NO!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 migrate! or if got means, at least work overseas as expat. life is not better. transport sucks, public or private car. everything still expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 I feel it's the same. Just that the world has changed. Nothing to blame the local gov. They are doing their best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 At times like this I wish Gearoil is around. I'm like thinking, whether theads such as this are posted by "fair weather" individuals? When times are good they never praise or say anything but when things turn for the worse they seem to be everywhere. Even when inflation is happening globally they will blame it on the gahment. Blah blah blah... Is it becoz we have enjoyed too many years of prosperity? When we are faced with certain obstacles ppl start to cry father cry mother? Even ugly words by foreigners can easily bruised their ego? Can't ppl tighten their belts and tide over the storm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 I feel it's the same. Just that the world has changed. Nothing to blame the local gov. They are doing their best. governments are always to be blamed. be it pap, or wp even tho they are opposition. once in parliament, all cannot shirk blame. that's politics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 One statement....suck thumb till 2016... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 60.1% think is better, the rest are repenting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 (edited) Look at the property market ppl are snapping up BTOs and premium flats which only locals can buy. How to explain that? Are these the same ppl who comprain the same thing? Are these the ppl who dun have $100 but spending $200 dan cry no money? Whose fault? Edited May 8, 2012 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 Waiting for next GE again... i wonder how much 'surplus' we shall get.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 to be honest, even though I am working for myself as a professional trader, I am thinking of moving to Msia. For a job like trading, I can do it anywhere, but my earnings can stretch longer over there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 I see people all around me struggling more than usual to make ends meet. Costs of basic commodities and essentials in life has gone up such as electricity, gas and water. These increases are usually in excess of the raw materials costs increase as well. Having a simple meal nowadays in the hawker centre cost easily more than 30-50% as compared to a few years back and if you are a family of 4-5 this means a fair amount of increment in your monthly expenses for which your income has not risen to meet. Someone wrote that most of these increases are, aside from the price increase of raw ingredients and materials, more that of rent and operation costs. The person went on to argue that more than 60% of rented properties belong to HDB, URA and other government linked organisations, can the authorities take a closer look at the state of affairs on the ground to see the hardships that are being caused as a result of this trickle down effect all these high overheads and yearly good-pat-in-the-back profit reports? The irony of it all is that we can clearly see all this profits are derived at the expense of a brutal drive for profits at every level of the game including cutbacks in key operations and maintenance of public conveniences such as transports and for example public waterworks and drainage. I think in the years to come, more native Singaporeans will have to seriously consider finding another place to call their home and live out their golden years. How else can your pittance savings last you especially if you have been displaced by FTs who are being brought in indiscriminately by the truckloads and also the high elder healthcare and other related living expenses? Ministers who make more than $120K a month not inclusive their fat bonuses cannot understand this and at most do lip service solving of problems without the drive or competency to get down to the root of the problem to better the lives of the people. Someone said it very aptly when he commented that if you make more than $1 million a year, you are disconnected with the people and the problems the man in the street faces. The rich only take care of themselves while the poor struggles to just put bread on the table, such is the disparity of life. Quite sad and make it sickening really to watch ceremonies when they come on stage to give useless thesis quality speeches and awards to each other for a job allegedly well done. Question..... Are those living in Singapore are the only ones suffering? People tend to forget that Singapore is very exposed to external elements. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 Next GE? the same ppl that kpkb now will go vote PAP... then when ask them why, they will say, "my opposition not good enough"... so how liddat? ko themselves Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 The new elites and their promises did not come as expected..... We are expecting them to doing something to improve but instead they cant even maintain at the level as of last year, not to talk about improvement of life for their citizen when come to some expenses issue. If cant walk, why fly first? And they are expecting all of us to takeoff together with them in their own believe that we can!!!! But can everyone do it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 (edited) To me, life itself has not been different pre and post GE2011. However, the costs of living has undoubtedly increased for everyone regardless the affordability of the individuals as the value of $$$ has inevitably shrunk as a result of inflation. Perhaps, it's worse for those (with dependents) whose wages had been overcome by inflation. This problem (based on recent news) apparently seems obvious even to the powers that be, who seemed to be at a loss to find a quick solution, for being in denial to the reality; in the past. Insofar as HDB prices and CPF Minimum Sum are concerned, I can only hope that the Ministers in charge take a HARD look at how these two issues affect the young of today and sincerely do something about it for the sake of those who are expected to retire in 20/30/40 years time. Unless there is correction to the flawed policies, those in their 20s-40s today will have greater difficulties to retire comfortably than their predecessors. Have a nice day folks! Edited May 8, 2012 by Neutralsg ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...