Soldier found hanging from rope at Changi Airbase

Picanto

Winning the race isn't everything, completing it, is. How you finish the race is never the same way with any one person.

The mentality is the main importance and is taught since birth, to fight on of just give up. I have lost good men to cancer,

not without a fight, bro. As far as we're concerned, the they never gave up, they just didn't want to see us suffer, watching them fight.

Severely depressed? Been there, and came out living and fighting. If one puts one's mind to it, nothing is impossible, the skies is never the limit either.

Use of mental condition as a excuse, bro is lame. Just like blaming the gov. for one's present predicament is even lamer.

And watch this thread switch to gov. bashing for this NSF's death. -_-

Well you can't but agree that our youths have much weaker mental strength.

I blame the parents though ............ Almost always because of wrong or lack of teaching, guidance etc.

Serious boh? I remember they don't cover suicide leh.

After one year they cover already. Heard that can increase the coverage to 600k. If not is 100k only.

4th Gear

You got free buffet not? If not then well....if you had full spread plus ala carte, then worth every cent lor. [laugh]

I gotten not enough...... [bigcry]

true true, but imagine he jump in front of train at peak hour and disrupt rail services. that tree sure become as legendary as charlie company 3 door bunk in a few years time.

Are you referring to Charlie Coy of the old Nee Soon camp 1?

After one year they cover already. Heard that can increase the coverage to 600k. If not is 100k only.

Something new. Last time you kill yourself, you're on your own.

Yep. Think its something new. Remember when I was in BMT last year the OC keep reminding us that if we commit suicide in first year no payout. lol.

Edited by Nzy

Be it wat u call him...he is dead n wont be able to know wat names u call him... Everyone has their way of resolving issues in life...one takes the way by ending it, others into prolong depression and some managed to overcome it and come to sense... Not everyone will choose the way you may think is the best way...the best way would ultimately be the executed decision no right or wrong...life is not about absolute...dun be too sure to concur that you have conquered the worst part of your life as there could be more coming your way.....and ending your life could b the only solution then....

Some are lucky to have love ones surrounding them in their darkest moment, they overcome it and emerge victorious....congratulation to these ppl for such an achievement in their life trials... those who didnt make it...may your soul rest in peace and that you will find the solution in the next life if there is any...

I believe in this, if you never understand the situation and could not comprehend it, let your heart takes over your mind...when your heart is able to let go of what you are holding on...then your mind will be changed and you will be able to walk out of what you are in.... the day you can claim your victory in your life is the day you completed this life in the fullest and most natural way....

God have mercy on the soldier's soul.....

Any person who kills him/herself is a loser.

Can't face up to the challengers of life, taking the easy way and leaving the

crap behind for the family to cleanup. I have seen soldiers hang themselves

over stupid issues, break up with girlfriend, jumping down from the building,

because of girlfriend issues.

This one, Airforce, how bad can it be there.

Why you looking down on Air Force? Even though there might not be physical stress there, there are lots of mental stresses..

I am from Air Force and I have been thru all kinds of mental stress s--t..especially from one of my OC. I dont know whether he was racist or what but he kept picking on me and day in day out I kena left, right center from him. Lived in fear for almost 4 months till he got transferred to another base...After that my NS life was much much better with the new OCs (very nice guys)..

So I guess it all depends on the people you work with..determines whether you will have to "live" in fear daily or otherwise [:)]

As for the soldier who hanged, RIP and who knows whether there was a "OC" behind his death

Be it wat u call him...he is dead n wont be able to know wat names u call him... Everyone has their way of resolving issues in life...one takes the way by ending it, others into prolong depression and some managed to overcome it and come to sense... Not everyone will choose the way you may think is the best way...the best way would ultimately be the executed decision no right or wrong...life is not about absolute...dun be too sure to concur that you have conquered the worst part of your life as there could be more coming your way.....and ending your life could b the only solution then....

Some are lucky to have love ones surrounding them in their darkest moment, they overcome it and emerge victorious....congratulation to these ppl for such an achievement in their life trials... those who didnt make it...may your soul rest in peace and that you will find the solution in the next life if there is any...

I believe in this, if you never understand the situation and could not comprehend it, let your heart takes over your mind...when your heart is able to let go of what you are holding on...then your mind will be changed and you will be able to walk out of what you are in.... the day you can claim your victory in your life is the day you completed this life in the fullest and most natural way....

well said... best post of the thread [thumbsup]

not many ppl will understand this though....

I am also an orphan. When the going gets tough, the tough get things going. I told everyone that, and it looks like some good stuff coming soon. [laugh]

Orphans who continue to live and overcome are [thumbsup] , no need to brag [:)]

Was told CGH = Can Go Haven/Hell

I heard those admitted usually to that hospital "Cannot Go Home!".

Elaborate which part of my reply did I LOOK DOWN on the airforce? Airforce

is jobs are stressful, mechs, techs, pilots, ground crew. Airforce is still

a better place to serve then the army. Let's face it.

Reference your experience, let me tell you this, such officers are a dime a dozen, and they

only know how to pull rank and make life miserable for those under their charge, even in the army.

1975 a case where a soldier shot a officer after he snapped for all the crap the office put him thru.

1987 a young Private was sent to detention for 14 days after being caught sleeping during duty,

where a simple fine would have suffice. And yes a OC was behind it, the boy died 3 weeks upon release

was a physically unfit guy, he died of pneumonia.

Hey, I spent 2 years in the airforce.

Why you looking down on Air Force? Even though there might not be physical stress there, there are lots of mental stresses..

I am from Air Force and I have been thru all kinds of mental stress s--t..especially from one of my OC. I dont know whether he was racist or what but he kept picking on me and day in day out I kena left, right center from him. Lived in fear for almost 4 months till he got transferred to another base...After that my NS life was much much better with the new OCs (very nice guys)..

So I guess it all depends on the people you work with..determines whether you will have to "live" in fear daily or otherwise [:)]

As for the soldier who hanged, RIP and who knows whether there was a "OC" behind his death

As I don't not know what exactly goes through a person who commits suicide, it's hard to pass judgmental comments to condemn him although I think the person should really try hard to overcome his situation and spare a thought for those who will be affected by his death.

In the extreme case where he has already been completely outcast or abandoned by those around him, ie he sees no care and love, and that his existence / death matters to no one else, maybe suicide is the way. But such cases are very rare.

Like you have said: Some are lucky to have loved ones, or at least one, surrounding them......