LTA to explore easing tight COE supply

Fsn3576

In fact just today in Parliament, Minister Lui in response to a MP question about COE, says "(car) buyers still preferred motor dealers to bid on their behalf for convenience and sometimes to take advantage of better package deals".. [rifle]

I don't know where he got that BS from. <_< [/color]

car dealers told him one [laugh]

That is why I mentioned COE need to be tweaked for "fairer play".

In fact just today in Parliament, Minister Lui in response to a MP question about COE, says "(car) buyers still preferred motor dealers to bid on their behalf for convenience and sometimes to take advantage of better package deals".. [rifle]

I don't know where he got that BS from. <_<

Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1201250/1/.html

Did he talk to any car buyers himself? Ask him to visit MCF or ask him go try to bid his own Coe and buy a car from dealer. A lot of dealer doesn't allow buyer to bid their own Coe.

Edited by X3mblack

Did he talk to any car buyers himself?

y would he bother?

when end of day, having low COE premiums benefits only car buyers, not the gahment...

waiting to see the outcome...

maybe after a long discussion, LTA will say something like:

our study has shown that the tight COE supply is due to the large number of buyers and increasing the number of coe wont solve the issue

Did he talk to any car buyers himself? Ask him to visit MCF or ask him go try to bid his own Coe and buy a car from dealer. A lot of dealer doesn't allow buyer to bid their own Coe.

even buying with cash also got problem.

dealers will tell you need to take a min loan to buy at this price. [knife]

y would he bother?

when end of day, having low COE premiums benefits only car buyers, not the gahment...

Precisely...who would wanna kill the Goose that lay Golden Eggs twice a month for 22 years?

COE is a dinosaur system that has out-live its original usefulness as an effective car-population controller.

Instead, it now serve to magnify the class divisions in Singapore's ever more complex society.

Simply put:

COE today serves only to inflate our cost of living while doing little to effectively address our growing transportation need.

LTA seems to be more focused on outsourcing traffic enforcement, running a faultless ERP system, collecting COE, tax and traffic summons, while as the same time, has little clue how bad our railway and bus system have become.

give them a little credit,

i'm sure they know,

but just couldn't care less coz they drive/get driven

Edited by Eyke

If building toilet got shower.....then all the homeless will go to these buildings to bath for free.

On a side note.

We should have more public toilets outside of buildings, so people after midnight can have a place to relieve. For a first world countries, the MSCP & some building stairs always smell of urine.

I think standard of public toilets in places like hawker centres & kopi shops are still one of the embarrassment in Singapore.

give them a little credit,

i'm sure they know,

but just couldn't care less coz they drive/get driven

I don't get you. [dizzy]

Why give credit to LTA when you suspect that they can't be bothered with this COE scams and MRT decade old mismanagement?

Wah, this Minister's reply was jawdropping. He is not plugged in man. His lackeys are too scared to correct him too.

Car dealers bid up the COE because they have deeper pockets, and their aim is to sell more cars. They wrap the COE into a car loan and we buyers have to take a large quantum loan. The car dealers make a comfortable commission from the banks for offering such a loan.

The car dealers never state the actual amount that will be bid on any contracts.

The car dealers charge higher prices if you insist on bidding your own COE.

The package deals give some convenience but never better prices. And we are charged from this little "convenience". We buyers get shafted by a large profit margin from the dealers, enlarged bank loan and high effective interest rate. And the dealers make the commission from the banks.

Minister, why are you so deaf to us folks on the ground? We want less price distortions and middlemen leakage and payoffs. We want more price transparency and more control over how much we pay.

[thumbsup]

Make COE entitlement to each Singapore Families, entitlement not allow to transfer or sell. Anyone one to have more, has to pocket out more.

find that base on some of the comments seen, people just want the system to suit and benefit them. Yes, everyone wants a car and pay it cheaply and yet want the roads to be jam free. Ideal situation which is unlikely to materialise in SG.

IMO, which alot might differ, the quota system ensure the number of cars on the roads. Bidding system to a certain extend, make those who can afford pay "taxes" in the form of coe. Pay if you can afford it. It works definitely to control the numbers.

HOWEVER, I strongly feel that the gov has failed in the way they implement it in the following ways:

1) Bad planning and management -over estimation resulting is over supply in certain years and limited supply in recent years

2) corrective measures to (1) is not thought thru carefully (clawback of oversupply, reduce growth) which makes matter worse

3) Losening of the Foreign supply "tap" by too much without taking any considerations to address the infrastructure support issue ( this is the cause of jump in housing prices as well)

4) Public infrastructure/transport should be improved substantially to keep the balance in check

Ministers have to have good long term vision and understand the implication of their policies. Many policy not only have an immediate impact, there have an influence on other things as well.

Suggestions to improve the COE bidding system and the surrounding eco-system will hurt the pocket of car buyers:

-Pay-as-you-bid. No car dealers.

-COE cats based on OMV, with smoothed number of COEs into each category.

-minimum deposit and no full term car loans for new and used cars.

-raise rush-hour ERP into the CBD.

These are good ideas, though not new. Hope our dear gahmen listens to the ground for once.

2x population but no 2x infrastructure.

Since car ownership is just a privilege n not entitlement here, temporarily suspend car purchasing for few months in a year for next 3 yrs until infrastructures more ready, while imposing back minimum 30% dp n max 7yrs loan old policy. Car dealers n lessors can apply for assistance funds for the suspended period.

I presume lta shouldve been lookin in infrastructure development n master plan few yrs back. Can consider rolling out more such development contracts where hdb oredi doin it. I mean roads n not mrt.

Next 3yrs the time to reap return fr bus n mrt.

Basically no solutions r infeasible, just need to strike a balance btw $ n minimal impact.

do your suggestions generate GROWTH [sly]

ie: how can i squeeze you more? if confuse, refer to rule 1 again

I think most thinking, working adults in these forums acknowledge that we do have to accept a COE bidding system to control number of new private passenger cars on the roads. No alternative. And extreme suggestions such as one-car-per-family or balloting or 'FTs can only buy used cars' won't be given any airing. To continue building roads is environmentally damaging.

Hurt the car buyer in the pocket is a simple neat system to make us stop and think carefully before purchase. We have to assess our finances and the car's affordability.

What we cannot accept is being played by car dealers and loans companies, and those who make the rules acting like they are complicit with these parties.

Suggestions to improve the COE bidding system and the surrounding eco-system will hurt the pocket of car buyers:

-Pay-as-you-bid. No car dealers.

-COE cats based on OMV, with smoothed number of COEs into each category.

-minimum deposit and no full term car loans for new and used cars.

-raise rush-hour ERP into the CBD.

We are even pushing govt to improve public transport and cycling to give us an alternative.

The suggestions will slow car buyers because they lose disposable income and cause a time penalty (eg. go to ATM to bid and transfer money). All hits on the pocket.

We are not asking to dismantle COE or ERP, but don't force us to take an interest-bearing loan to pay for it and be at the mercy of salesmen.

Scrap COE but keep ARF & PARF.

ERP during peak period should be calculated as follows:

If rolling 3 mths average speed falls below:

70km/h: $10

60km/h: $20

50km/h: $30

40km/h: $40

< 40km/h: $50

Confirm traffic smooth like butter.

Lolz, and "encourage" a faster driving habit, doubt gov will do that.

Most will drive 1km/hr faster on a standstill traffic just to save some $

At least I will :)