LTA to explore easing tight COE supply

Fsn3576

hopefully next round COE still shoot up high, let me get my COE first before dropping.

5th Gear

hopefully next round COE still shoot up high, let me get my COE first before dropping.

no worry, for sure you will get your COE, but at a lower price [;)]

why would you wana get at higher coe??

New definition of petrolheads is dieselheads [whip]

which head [sly]???

Edited by Poker

Seriously, COE is a fair system. Or at least, the quota that is released every month by the LTA.

Some other people have tried to reason making the COE amount based on the OMV of the vehicle, but that's just not gonna work. The rich people will buy more B&B cars (OMV less than $20k), on top of their luxury cars, thus making the roads more populated with cars.

Taxi COE should change to CAT E instead. They should NOT have their own Taxi category, since there're only 6-7 taxi companies (hence bidders), and they'll all bid the minimum bid of $1. Afterall, their taxis can wait for registration till the next bidding, no hurries for them.

If our government is capable, they can let in 20 million foreigners also no problem - and still roads and people jam will not occur. HDB will all be 100 storeys high wherever possible, with 20 lifts servicing each block, they can build train tracks over train tracks, train stations over train stations, roads over roads that run on top and parallel.

Orchard shopping belt over Orchard shopping belt, etc....

But then, that's only if they're capable.... Which today, they have still yet to prove themselves with all their 50:50 policy making decisions - one moment, it's A-policy, the other is B.

But kudos to them taking over a thankless job. Especially the transport ministry =D Just remember, don't work for the million $$ salary, work to serve Singaporeans ok???

Oh. For those really in need of car, they'll just head for 2nd hand buys.... There're still plenty of sub $30k 2nd hand buys in the market, that're still good for 3-4yrs till their 10yrs COE is up.

Those who have the time to complain about high COE's and needing a car, having to fetch around their family members, blah blah blah.... Obviously, they're not in need of a car.

They're in need of attention.

Oh. For those really in need of car, they'll just head for 2nd hand buys.... There're still plenty of sub $30k 2nd hand buys in the market, that're still good for 3-4yrs till their 10yrs COE is up.

Those who have the time to complain about high COE's and needing a car, having to fetch around their family members, blah blah blah.... Obviously, they're not in need of a car.

They're in need of attention.

wah fierce :D

anw they may be thinking about the servicing, maintenance blablabla??

I prefer 2nd hand btw, weird me [pirate]

Edited by Poker

I wonder if we will evolved to less cars, but lots of scooters, bicycles and other 2 wheel transport in Singapore...? Not sure if this is related, but when I was in HsinChu, the number of scooters on road is way times more than cars on road. Could it be due to vehicle control..? Just a guess..

They even have separate lane for scooter/bicycle. If they implement this in Singapore, I will also ride scooter or cycle.

If a human head as wide as shoulders, that would be [:p]

but not as cute as this head

dickhead.jpg

Edited by Poker

It's a wrong move - taking one step forward and two steps back.

What's the point of having lower COE prices when the jams are gonna be even worse off?

Can own car, but everyday stuck in jams?

For what?

The LTA should continue to progressively reduce vehicular growth, down to 0% p.a. and thereafter, target to negative growth (shrinkage) to say -1% to -3% p.a. for x years, until our expressways are back to free flowing (acceptable = 60-70 km/h, uninterrupted) during peak hour rush.

Then, I say, we have a workable plan

Of course gotta improve MRT/buses significantly, to handle all the ex-drivers falling out from the road system, as well as catering to the expected foreign influx growth.

ERMM...

Based on wat u said then might as well close down all car dealership now lor, so in 10 yrs time there will be no private cars on the road lor.

Since all taking public transport, u may get a chance to take the same bus or train with ur favorite celebrity or prime minister lo.

Also occasions like weddings and funeral all chartered taxi and bus la.

Since no more passenger cars then petrol kiosk jus sell diesel will do lo, dun need to import petrol lo

Car insurance company and car accessories shops can also close down Liao la

Since all depend on public transport u think they won't raise the fare for all train, bus n taxi meh? Think by then ur boarding fare for taxi will start from $10 lor!!

In summary, in order to reduce jam (which only happen in peak hrs) many businesses have to close down and many pple will lose their jobs. Justifiable???

I may be wrong, but that's wat I'll speculate if wat u recommended is gonna be true. Cheers [rolleyes]

Edited by Notxer

Govt should make the financing difficult. Current low interest rates are encouraging people to take on crazy loans.

End up paying more than they can afford.

Should discourage such people from buying by increasing down payment to around 40% and only 5 yrs financing.

I think coe is a good system if managed properly. If the coe yoyo between 5k to 100k then it is definitely poorly managed. For example, controlling coe at 100,000 a year around 2009 and controlling at 25,000 now is really a poor management. Why such a big swing?

Does high coe really benefit the garment? Maybe but looking at adifferent perspective, It causes inflation to go up and every month they hv to report that high coe caused inflation to go up. Let's say 5 yrs from now, if more people scrap their cars or for some reason, the economy is doing poorly, coe prices drop back to low level. What will happen? Those car owners with 90-100k coe will start scrapping their car and get back paper refund. That will be a bad situation for LTA having to start coughing out those money.

Weak lei cannot take pressure ....... Now prata-ing ...... Bo chi .... Now twist story .... More coe more jam ..... Wtf

What is there to study ????? Dare not reduce the growth rate.... Can forget about cut in coe ... To reduce jam. Traffic jams are here to stay .......

Well said! Which country no jam? Send him to Thailand then he know wat is jam. [rifle][bigcry]