Elmo 4th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 The invention of aircon has been perceived as the greatest of all time, helping tropic countries work within comfortable environment and achieved greater productivity. Especially for Singapore. Cable ties should be a close 2nd. From propping up highly stressed structures to identifying ownership of utensils. The humble plastic had contributed greatly to our nation's progress. The one who suggested to use cable ties for holding the claws probably had been commended for helping the company saved lots of money ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 those metal ones are clamps liao la. not ties. removable. and one piece about 10 bucks There are stainless steel cable ties. I'm not talking about hose clamps, or u-bolts etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KVR666 Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 There are indeed special cable ties available. More commonly used in marine industry. These cable ties are high heat resistant, able to withstand freezing temperatures and are resistant to breakdown by oils & solvents. However, these cable ties don't come cheap. Hundreds of $ for just 1 pack of 100 pcs. No surprise as to why they chose to use the cheaper variety for the track claws. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 The invention of aircon has been perceived as the greatest of all time, helping tropic countries work within comfortable environment and achieved greater productivity. Especially for Singapore. Cable ties should be a close 2nd. From propping up highly stressed structures to identifying ownership of utensils. The humble plastic had contributed greatly to our nation's progress. The one who suggested to use cable ties for holding the claws probably had been commended for helping the company saved lots of money Cable ties are also used when Anti-Vice raid those pubs with viet and china ladies. Can see them being tied together on the hand to each other by cable tie. Cable tie rocks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Mustafa Center jialat liao.... Apparently the cable tie is supplied by them and they got a lousy batch.... hehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Mustafa Center jialat liao.... Apparently the cable tie is supplied by them and they got a lousy batch.... hehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Mustafa Center jialat liao.... Apparently the cable tie is supplied by them and they got a lousy batch.... hehe... must have gotten those from those factory outlets where they sell rejects or QA FAILED items! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 (edited) The invention of aircon has been perceived as the greatest of all time, helping tropic countries work within comfortable environment and achieved greater productivity. Especially for Singapore. Cable ties should be a close 2nd. From propping up highly stressed structures to identifying ownership of utensils. The humble plastic had contributed greatly to our nation's progress. The one who suggested to use cable ties for holding the claws probably had been commended for helping the company saved lots of money You reminded me of this clip by Mr. Brown (cable tie mentioned too)... Edited May 4, 2012 by Carbon82 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Yeah, and please use some of karung guni's raffia string for added rigidity as well. So much for "Tried & Tested", "Recommended by OEM" and "International Experts"... whoa!!! Phua Kang Tao!!!! no wonder citigroup people say smrt share jiatlat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 CABLE TIES. Cable + tie. It's name already says it all. Its use to tie cables. They should have slotted some cables in between then the cable ties won't come loose. :D What were they thinking. [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Personally I feel that duct tape is the most peerless of quick fix adhesives: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Cable ties are also used when Anti-Vice raid those pubs with viet and china ladies. Can see them being tied together on the hand to each other by cable tie. Cable tie rocks! Yes. I have never been the same since I saw how they used the cable-ties on those ladies. It was like seeing the light after trying to source for hand-cuffs for my gf (then) for so long. Since then I always pack cable-ties together with the condoms Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 You reminded me of this clip by Mr. Brown (cable tie mentioned too)... I already started laughing when I saw his face. That guy is a one-man satire crusade! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Personally I feel that duct tape is the most peerless of quick fix adhesives: Which reminds me the local movie where gurmit and Fann wong switch body. Use duct tape can get sward leh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Cable ties are also used when Anti-Vice raid those pubs with viet and china ladies. Can see them being tied together on the hand to each other by cable tie. Cable tie rocks! If u watched Border Patrol on NGC, the US border patrol also use cable tie to handcuff those illegal immigrants they caught in the desert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Allow me to offer my say. i think being a critical support structure which lends mechanical strength, you wouldn't want elasticity to be a big feature of the material used. I wouldn't want to use Young Modulus as a critical parameter to evaluate possible materials. In our context, cyclical stress is highly pronounced and metal fatigue will be highly exacerbated. You need forged rather than cast metals in this instance. Like Shull, i am in favour of welding. Specifically line welding over spot welding. In the absence of credible calculations, i am actually still doubtful whether welding in itself is sufficient to withstand for a turnover period of say realistically 10 years. I dont think welding is allowed as this claw is attached to the third rail. The third rail is not 100% straight, it varies due to rail structure or expansion n contraction of rail(rain n hot sun). So u must allow for some elasticity in the claw. They should instead design a bracket clamp to secure the claw. We have WITS in SAF, SMRT should learn from SAF. It is the ppl who work on the job knows what improvement is required. Rather than some expert from nowhere. Remember US invented the pen that can write in zero-gravity??? The russian just use a pencil in space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 No matter how it's done the claw will still give way due to vibration. That's what will happen when they buy a cheap product with a flawed design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 I dont think welding is allowed as this claw is attached to the third rail. The third rail is not 100% straight, it varies due to rail structure or expansion n contraction of rail(rain n hot sun). So u must allow for some elasticity in the claw. They should instead design a bracket clamp to secure the claw. We have WITS in SAF, SMRT should learn from SAF. It is the ppl who work on the job knows what improvement is required. Rather than some expert from nowhere. Remember US invented the pen that can write in zero-gravity??? The russian just use a pencil in space. Whaha i like the pen and pencil part. [thumbsup] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...