HDB flat sizes not shrinking: Khaw Boon Wan [Take Poll]

CKP

HDB flats have been the same size for the past 15 years  

129 members have voted

1. 1. HDB flats have been the same size for the past 15 years

• Yes. Same for the past 15 years
    • No. Shrunk for the past 15 years

Yep..dats y i didnt demolish the room below & have a fully operational bath room toilet at 1st floor.

Most EM i see, chuck their washing machine inside & demolish the room below, encounter many times old folks wanna pee, after hearing toilet above, they go kopi tiam pee.. [laugh]

The Straits Times

www.straitstimes.com

Published on Nov 26, 2011

http://www.straitstimes.com/print/Breaking...ory_738271.html

Shrinking HDB flats due to need to maximise land and to adapt

But some say smaller apartments do not square with needs of a developed nation

By Jessica Cheam

The average HDB flat has shrunk over the years, but this is due to the need to maximise Singapore's limited land and to adapt to changing household sizes, the Housing Board said on Friday.

Responding to queries from The Straits Times, it said that these needs meant sizes of each flat type had to be made slightly smaller over time, and the agency's architects have compensated by increasing the use of internal space through better flat layouts.

It added that HDB regularly reviews flat sizes, taking into account factors such as changes in demographic trends and lifestyle habits.

HDB's comments come after a debate erupted over earlier remarks made by its chief executive Cheong Koon Hean that smaller flats do not have to mean a lower quality of living.

Copyright

  On 5/3/2012 at 9:29 AM, Without_a_car said:

The Straits Times

www.straitstimes.com

By Jessica Cheam

The average HDB flat has shrunk over the years, but this is due to the need to maximise Singapore's limited land and to adapt to changing household sizes, the Housing Board said on Friday.

Responding to queries from The Straits Times, it said that these needs meant sizes of each flat type had to be made slightly smaller over time, and the agency's architects have compensated by increasing the use of internal space through better flat layouts.

It added that HDB regularly reviews flat sizes, taking into account factors such as changes in demographic trends and lifestyle habits.

HDB's comments come after a debate erupted over earlier remarks made by its chief executive Cheong Koon Hean that smaller flats do not have to mean a lower quality of living.

Copyright

On 5/3/2012 at 9:37 AM, Joseph22 said:

got meh?? give us useless corridor in the house is not improve internal space layout lor.

so who lying now? Straits Times or KBW?

  On 5/3/2012 at 9:38 AM, Without_a_car said:

so who lying now? Straits Times or KBW?

which one?? internal layout or size getting smaller??

I hope they don't come out with funny excuses like : The house did not shrink, it is the people who had grown fatter.

  On 5/3/2012 at 9:29 AM, Without_a_car said:

The Straits Times

www.straitstimes.com

By Jessica Cheam

Copyright

Edited by Happily1986

  On 5/3/2012 at 9:52 AM, Without_a_car said:

flat getting smaller

flat getting smaller is definitely KBW playing with timeline. need to say more??

  On 5/2/2012 at 2:40 PM, CKP said:

Jessica Cheam, The Straits Times wrote:

National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan has assured Singaporeans that HDB flats are not shrinking, contrary to popular belief.

In fact, sizes of HDB flats have been the same for the past 15 years.

He was speaking at the annual REACH Contributors' Forum on Wednesday night, when a student from the National University of Singapore raised concerns about shrinking flat sizes.

Mr Khaw said Singapore will not go the way of Hong Kong, where flats are far smaller.

'I would consider that a deterioration of our quality of life and we should avoid that,' he told the audience.

But he said that homes built by private developers are getting smaller, citing the increase of 'shoebox' units on the market.

The Government is keeping an eye on this trend, and if the proportion of such units becomes too high in the market, 'we may have to step in,' he said.

Mr Khaw also acknowledged that Singaporeans were concerned about expensive property prices but assured them that this was a 'temporary imbalance' of demand and supply.

'In the past five years, the population was growing rapidly that infrastructure could not keep up so because of the temporary imbalance, prices shot up. HDB has been aggressively pumping units into the market and although Singapore is not in the steady stage yet... there is some stabilisation,' he said.

'We are seeking their understanding and patience... we are getting there. We will continue to work hard at it. In the next five-year term, I'm committed to build at least 100,000 HDB flats if necessary,' he said.

He was fielding questions, along with Acting Minister Chan Chun Sing, at the REACH dialogue held at Scape that attracted about 200 participants that raised issues ranging from social equality, ethnic enclaves and building communities

Wednesday, May 02, 2012

AsiaOne

HDB flat sizes not shrinking: Khaw Boon Wan

SINGAPORE - National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan said on Wednesday night that HDB flats have been the same size for the past 15 years, and are not shrinking, contrary to popular belief.

Mr Khaw was responding to a National University of Singapore (NUS) student's question on HDB flat sizes at the annual REACH Contributors' Forum.

He added that they will not be reduced to the size of Hong Kong flats, which are far smaller, reported The Straits Times.

He told the audience that he would "consider that a deterioration of our quality of life and we should avoid that".

But homes by private developers are another matter, he noted, citing the increase in "shoebox" units on the market.

He said the Government may have to step in if the proportion of such units becomes too high.

Mr Khaw also assured Singaporeans the the high property prices now is a "temporary imbalance" of demand and supply.

"In the past five years, the population was growing rapidly that infrastructure could not keep up so because of the temporary imbalance, prices shot up. HDB has been aggressively pumping units into the market and although Singapore is not in the steady stage yet... there is some stabilisation," he said.

"We are seeking their understanding and patience... we are getting there. We will continue to work hard at it. In the next five-year term, I'm committed to build at least 100,000 HDB flats if necessary," he said.

candicec@sph.com.sg

Please particpate in the poll.

So 16 years ago, people can still buy new and bigger flats of the same category.

And 15 years ago, they started to shrink the flat size (5 room flat in the past used to be 120+sqm, now only 110sqm), but instead of reducing the price, they increased it.

I can also play around with the phrasing and words. Why didn't he say 20 years ago?

I'm very amazed he feels that because family size had shrunk, people want smaller flats. They could have left the initial flat size untouched. If people finds a 5 room unit too big, they can always get a 4-room unit. The current kitchens are unbelievale small, I don't see why they should shrink the kitchen size just because "youngsters seldom cook". Is the minister so short sighted that parents cannot come over to stay with their kids and cook? Who had complained that their units/kitchens are too big? And on the other hand, I don't see HDB addressing to the other more valid complaints that many of us are complaining such as poor workmanship/spilling concrete...

Edited by Bystander50

  On 5/2/2012 at 11:42 PM, Without_a_car said:

area remain unchanged, the same can't be said for prices

HDB prices in 2004

3rm 90k

4rm 120k

5rm 160k

EM 280k

HDB prices in 2012

2rm 100k

3rm 160k

4rm 300k

5rm 380k

EC 750k

I think I understand why many people keep thinking HDB flat has shrink in size including me. I was puzzled when KBW said HDB flat has not shrink in last 15 years but why I keep thinking it has shrink in size.

The real reason is because of price keep increasing but size remains the same and that give illusion of me maybe others keep thinking HDB has shrink in size but is not as it is actually the price increase that make people think it has shrink in size. [laugh] [laugh]

HDB flats not shrinking. Just that you are getting old and your eyes are shrinking.

I thought I remember my nasi lemak egg was thicker and bigger last time.

But now it seemed to have shrunk as well.

Disappointed with KBW. He, together with Tharman, are 2 of the leaders I respect. He should try staying in a 4-bedroom unit in Punggol for a year before trying to convince us with that kind of statement.

On 5/3/2012 at 11:13 AM, Yewheng said:

I think I understand why many people keep thinking HDB flat has shrink in size including me. I was puzzled when KBW said HDB flat has not shrink in last 15 years but why I keep thinking it has shrink in size.

The real reason is because of price keep increasing but size remains the same and that give illusion of me maybe others keep thinking HDB has shrink in size but is not as it is actually the price increase that make people think it has shrink in size. [laugh] [laugh]

flat-size.jpg