HDB flat sizes not shrinking: Khaw Boon Wan [Take Poll]

CKP

HDB flats have been the same size for the past 15 years  

129 members have voted

1. 1. HDB flats have been the same size for the past 15 years

• Yes. Same for the past 15 years
    • No. Shrunk for the past 15 years

On 5/2/2012 at 3:43 PM, Joseph22 said:

i dont mind them reverting to 70s size. but i only ask for them to bring back a proper 5 room and exec apartment.

now i if i upgrade from 4 room to 5 room is actually a downgrade in living space.

Upgrading from an old 5 room or exec apt to a 2 to 3 bedroom condo is not an upgrading. [:)]

More like downsize :wacko:

I love the space [:)]

  On 5/2/2012 at 3:59 PM, Without_a_car said:

you have top up buy EA or EM liao... if you want more space

you think those ppl will sell meh?? even yes, the COV is too high to consider one.

ppl are smart, they know. HDB no longer got EA or EM. they will make full use of it.

  On 5/2/2012 at 4:01 PM, GoodCar said:

Upgrading from an old 5 room or exec apt to a 2 to 3 bedroom condo is not an upgrading. [:)]

More like downsize :wacko:

I love the space [:)]

yap. we discuss this before [thumbsup]

On 5/2/2012 at 3:55 PM, Joseph22 said:

Ai yeah, he is not wrong technically, 15 years ago is 1998. after 1997 liao. so all flat become smaller liao. that time 5 room started to build around 110 sqm liao lor.

We all know he choose a convenient base year for comparison to skirt the issue in question. At some point in time, it becomes clear that both parties acknowledge the existence of the problem but the tussle has long degenerated into a deft play of words. For what? [rolleyes]

To avoid being caught with thy foot in mouth, heel, toe and toenail.

On 5/2/2012 at 4:02 PM, Joseph22 said:

you think those ppl will sell meh?? even yes, the COV is too high to consider one.

ppl are smart, they know. HDB no longer got EA or EM. they will make full use of it.

you ardent supporter, never feed back to your white friends, they need to bring back HDB EA/EM...

how can a minister tell a lie

i thought they were whiter than white

must complain to consumer council

cheated by FAB washing powder

this the first day, this khaw fellow cannot be t..................

  On 5/2/2012 at 4:07 PM, Happily1986 said:

We all know he choose a convenient base year for comparison to skirt the issue in question. At some point in time, it becomes clear that both parties acknowledge the existence of the problem but the tussle has long degenerated into a deft play of words. For what? [rolleyes]

actually he just say 10 years will be zhun zhun no problem. he also big mouth chose a year that begin building.. anyway, i have a feeling, after this, we will start to see bigger units liao.

  On 5/2/2012 at 4:07 PM, Without_a_car said:

you ardent supporter, never feed back to your white friends, they need to bring back HDB EA/EM...

who say i ardent supporter.

already say many time. the opposition in my area not good, why i want to vote for them when my MP was Amy khor.

Edited by Joseph22

On 5/2/2012 at 2:51 PM, Silver_blade said:

Strictly speaking, he is not wrong. Flat overall size is the same in the last 15yrs (don't compare those built in the 70's, 80's, early 90's, etc). How to fault him..... :angry: :wacko: :wacko: :wacko: But I really questioned the rationale behind larger aircon ledge, etc...

he's precise and done his homework..... 15 years ago there was a turning point, before that, flat sizes were larger, so instead of saying 16 yrs ago, or 20 yrs ago, he carefully chose 15.

3rd Gear
  On 5/2/2012 at 4:07 PM, Happily1986 said:

Nicely put...

[nod]

On 5/2/2012 at 4:13 PM, Joseph22 said:

who say i ardent supporter.

already say many time. the opposition in my area not good, why i want to vote for them when my MP was Amy khor.

people should use your reason for voting lightening party...

[thumbsup]

On 5/2/2012 at 4:09 PM, Scb11980 said:

how can a minister tell a lie

i thought they were whiter than white

must complain to consumer council

cheated by FAB washing powder

this the first day, this khaw fellow cannot be t..................

he's just a politian....

On 5/2/2012 at 4:02 PM, Joseph22 said:

So what did you get in the end? Condo?

Have lah, there are still ppl letting go EA and EM. Actually COV for 5 rm is quite close to EA, and it make more sense to get EA.

On 5/2/2012 at 4:16 PM, KARTer said:

he's precise and done his homework..... 15 years ago there was a turning point, before that, flat sizes were larger, so instead of saying 16 yrs ago, or 20 yrs ago, he carefully chose 15.

now housing is hot issue...

seeing how Mah kenna left right centre... until kick out out of CEC...

he must chose his words...

3rd Gear
  On 5/2/2012 at 4:11 PM, Joseph22 said:

actually he just say 10 years will be zhun zhun no problem. he also big mouth chose a year that begin building.. anyway, i have a feeling, after this, we will start to see bigger units liao.

Khaw's calibrated choice of base year is disingenious.

Material aspirations, which includes size of flats, are determined by experiences rooted in family background.

This is pretty well established.

Some one buying a flat today say in their 30s are born when flats were built in the 1975-1985 (perhaps a minority moved).

The HDB buyers of today are more likely to compare with their experiences of house sizes built in the above period,

as opposed to 1997/1998.

[cool]

Edited by CKP

10 yrs ago when i first apply for a flat 5rm already 110sqm, 4 rm already 90sqm. So actually KBW is right, HDB didn't shrink the size of HDB flat. Still the same size till today. Maybe the layout has changed over time and it look and feel smaller with balcony and such.

On 5/2/2012 at 4:11 PM, Joseph22 said:

bigger units possibly but prices also bigger if anything goes with this current lowest bidder win system, coupled to market valuation of state land.

Is this what we really want then? okay then the flat GFA will be increased. how about the overall purchase price of the flat? Are we really unsettled by the sizing itself? I think we are bothered by the fact that we are paying for increasingly expensive flats which are getting smaller progressively. I am worried by the way Khaw is playing this game. He seems to be shaping the whole issue to centre around the complaint that the flats are too small rather than the flats are too small and too expensive to be considered realistically affordable. That way, he will be able to get away with simply increasing the purchase price of the flats to compensate for the increased GFA we so called wanted.

On 5/2/2012 at 3:57 PM, Unidentified said:

he might say it's good for you can squeeze and enjoy family tight kinship in a 5 room pigeon hole with 7 pax,unlike him who lived in a few millions bungalow and feel empty even with 7 pax.

next he will say it's good for you that you can get squeeze like sardine on mrt and buses and get to enjoy the sinkie spirit of squeezing when on way to work,while he feels lonely sitting at the backseat of his e class or 5 series.

life is good isn't it.

our rulers have multiplied the island:- now we have two worlds on the island -----> one for the rich, the other for the not-rich [:)] maybe a third one coming up soon?