Karebu 1st Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 (edited) Paiseh no pic, but last night I saw a police car that had some sort of laser/camera system (white rectangular module) beside its blinkers on the roof. i cannot remember what make it was but definitely not a subaru WRX/TS. bukit timah area. what the hell was that? i know for sure its active coz i was staring at it for a while and i saw red 'light' for just a split second. sorry no pics. i don't know if they are scanning for car plates or faces or speeding or what. better not whip out phone. Edited May 2, 2012 by Karebu ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redshirt Neutral Newbie May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 I have seen it on a patrol car in punggol too. maybe to get live video updates. or part-time for google maps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syaheerbmw 3rd Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 (edited) This one is a new technology I saw in one Govt exhibition not long ago.. It's a camera that scans and reads license plates to identify if it is related to crime or is stolen.. That's also why LTA very anal about correct plate font, so that their OCR can read without error.. Edited May 2, 2012 by Syaheerbmw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poker Neutral Newbie May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 3:06 AM, Redshirt said: I have seen it on a patrol car in punggol too. maybe to get live video updates. or part-time for google maps. there's always one at the TPE entrance park by the side of the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 i saw it once along TPE... if not wrong it was on a subaru impreza patrol car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 4:24 AM, Syaheerbmw said: This one is a new technology I saw in one Govt exhibition not long ago.. It's a camera that scans and reads license plates to identify if it is related to crime or is stolen.. That's also why LTA very anal about correct plate font, so that their OCR can read without error.. Its not new technology anymore lah.... its new to us, but they been using this in US for so long that even their parking wardens are using it to scan outstanding parking tickets. If you watch the "The Parking Wars" on cable, you will see it in action, mounted on the parking wardens' vans. the van will slowly drive along the row of parked cars, and the camera will scan the number plates and the system will run through them for any outstanding parking tickets. It's old technology liao...... SG really very "swa koo" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 6:46 AM, Donut said: Its not new technology anymore lah.... its new to us, but they been using this in US for so long that even their parking wardens are using it to scan outstanding parking tickets. If you watch the "The Parking Wars" on cable, you will see it in action, mounted on the parking wardens' vans. the van will slowly drive along the row of parked cars, and the camera will scan the number plates and the system will run through them for any outstanding parking tickets. It's old technology liao...... SG really very "swa koo" Bro you also watch Parking Wars? Very entertaining series Local wardens should be glad we are not like the ang mos when kena summons. D*mn bloody violent over there and sometimes they had to call the cops to help them out of sticky situations [sweatdrop] But they are quite hiong when booting or wheel-clamping in local context when car owners owed big sum of parking fines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 7:02 AM, Vulcann said: Bro you also watch Parking Wars? Very entertaining series Local wardens should be glad we are not like the ang mos when kena summons. D*mn bloody violent over there and sometimes they had to call the cops to help them out of sticky situations [sweatdrop] But they are quite hiong when booting or wheel-clamping in local context when car owners owed big sum of parking fines. they wheel clamp like nobody business..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 7:27 AM, Donut said: they wheel clamp like nobody business..... They actually enjoyed the booting/clamping process that's the thing. [laugh] Not so funny when angry owners came charging at and verbally abusing them though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ddca Neutral Newbie May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 2:25 AM, Karebu said: Paiseh no pic, but last night I saw a police car that had some sort of laser/camera system (white rectangular module) beside its blinkers on the roof. i cannot remember what make it was but definitely not a subaru WRX/TS. bukit timah area. what the hell was that? i know for sure its active coz i was staring at it for a while and i saw red 'light' for just a split second. sorry no pics. i don't know if they are scanning for car plates or faces or speeding or what. better not whip out phone. Saw such a car at Bukit Gombak on 29 Apr (Sun). I have uploaded a clip to YouTube and you can see it here at 0:50 : Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syaheerbmw 3rd Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 6:46 AM, Donut said: Its not new technology anymore lah.... its new to us, but they been using this in US for so long that even their parking wardens are using it to scan outstanding parking tickets. If you watch the "The Parking Wars" on cable, you will see it in action, mounted on the parking wardens' vans. the van will slowly drive along the row of parked cars, and the camera will scan the number plates and the system will run through them for any outstanding parking tickets. It's old technology liao...... SG really very "swa koo" I said new because Gov PS21 exhibition say new ma.... I know, I watch Parking Wars also.. Hahaha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 It is actually a very good device for tracking down stolen vehicles or vehicles used in a crime quickly. Its like a radar. If only they can add two TOW missiles on it too.. On 5/2/2012 at 4:24 AM, Syaheerbmw said: This one is a new technology I saw in one Govt exhibition not long ago.. It's a camera that scans and reads license plates to identify if it is related to crime or is stolen.. That's also why LTA very anal about correct plate font, so that their OCR can read without error.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear May 2, 2012 Author Share May 2, 2012 (edited) Do they have this technology fixed somewhere or at customs etc? should have right? next i wonder if car stolen what's the fastest way to get your number uploaded into their system Edited May 2, 2012 by Karebu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 2:25 AM, Karebu said: Paiseh no pic, but last night I saw a police car that had some sort of laser/camera system (white rectangular module) beside its blinkers on the roof. i cannot remember what make it was but definitely not a subaru WRX/TS. bukit timah area. what the hell was that? i know for sure its active coz i was staring at it for a while and i saw red 'light' for just a split second. sorry no pics. i don't know if they are scanning for car plates or faces or speeding or what. better not whip out phone. nvr come across such a vehicle.. but the red light is likely to be from infra red camera... illuminating the license plate... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear May 2, 2012 Author Share May 2, 2012 you're such a gadget guy. solar ionizer and camera. btw your camera clear enough to see car plates? or is it just too compressed on youtube? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 6:46 AM, Donut said: Its not new technology anymore lah.... its new to us, but they been using this in US for so long that even their parking wardens are using it to scan outstanding parking tickets. If you watch the "The Parking Wars" on cable, you will see it in action, mounted on the parking wardens' vans. the van will slowly drive along the row of parked cars, and the camera will scan the number plates and the system will run through them for any outstanding parking tickets. It's old technology liao...... SG really very "swa koo" think we hv it long ago at the check points.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear May 2, 2012 Author Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 4:24 AM, Syaheerbmw said: This one is a new technology I saw in one Govt exhibition not long ago.. It's a camera that scans and reads license plates to identify if it is related to crime or is stolen.. That's also why LTA very anal about correct plate font, so that their OCR can read without error.. I think camera optics these days and OCR tech shouldn't be so backwards today so ok la. The cheapest way to defeat the system is to put cardboard over and write in the ugliest but legible handwriting you can, saying plate dropped out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 12:42 PM, Roadrunner2029 said: Yes, each time you drive through CIQ where they check your passport, they have a camera pointing at your license plate. One of my previous cars had license plate at one side, outside the view of the camera and the immigrant officer had to walk out to look at my license plate. tat is using a a webcam... the power one is before u reach the immigration booth.. where u will see a red flash... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...