Ysc3 Twincharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 anyone kenah this scenario before ? my downstairs neighbor sold his flat abotu 2 months back and the new occupants just moved in. prior to moving in, the new occupants did some renovation works. last week, after the officially moved in for 3 weeks, a HDB officer came to my house and told us that the flat downstairs is complaining that water from our unit is leaking into their toilets from the ceilings !! the officer even told us she was given a VIDEO of the water seeping through the ceiling !! now the HDB officer "offer" us to settle the leaking issue based on the standard HDB absorb 50% and the two owners (upstairs and downstairs) split the balance 50% half/half. I managed to get in touch with the previous occupant and asked them if they ever had any leakage issues when they were staying there and they told me that for the past 20 years, no issue at all !! now the new occupant move in and did renovation works, the ceiling start to leak ?? I am saying that their renovation contractor did a lousy job and caused the ceiling to be compromised and now we, on the upper floor have to pay for their incompetency !! anyone encounter this and did not pay for the rectifications ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 if it is a structural wear, HDB usually will bear some of the charges, even the occupant downstair has to bear some too. i also complaint the water leak from occupant upstair, after complaining few time plus HDB check and seeing MP, finally they fixed the problem but we still bear about $100+ of the work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 2:41 PM, Ysc3 said: anyone kenah this scenario before ? my downstairs neighbor sold his flat abotu 2 months back and the new occupants just moved in. prior to moving in, the new occupants did some renovation works. last week, after the officially moved in for 3 weeks, a HDB officer came to my house and told us that the flat downstairs is complaining that water from our unit is leaking into their toilets from the ceilings !! the officer even told us she was given a VIDEO of the water seeping through the ceiling !! now the HDB officer "offer" us to settle the leaking issue based on the standard HDB absorb 50% and the two owners (upstairs and downstairs) split the balance 50% half/half. I managed to get in touch with the previous occupant and asked them if they ever had any leakage issues when they were staying there and they told me that for the past 20 years, no issue at all !! now the new occupant move in and did renovation works, the ceiling start to leak ?? I am saying that their renovation contractor did a lousy job and caused the ceiling to be compromised and now we, on the upper floor have to pay for their incompetency !! anyone encounter this and did not pay for the rectifications ? likely your renovator didnt do a good job at the beginning. previous neighbour probably didnt bother to complain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 2:48 PM, Jman888 said: if it is a structural wear, HDB usually will bear some of the charges, even the occupant downstair has to bear some too. i also complaint the water leak from occupant upstair, after complaining few time plus HDB check and seeing MP, finally they fixed the problem but we still bear about $100+ of the work. my one dont need to pay anything leh? the HDB look for the contractor directly and force them to change FOC for my neighbour on top. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 1, 2012 Author Share May 1, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 2:48 PM, Joseph22 said: likely your renovator didnt do a good job at the beginning. previous neighbour probably didnt bother to complain. why so negative ?? already said that i called up the previous occupant and asked them if they ever had any leaking issues and they said no. if they did not bother, then they wud have just shot me down when i called them since they no longer staying downstairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 1, 2012 Author Share May 1, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 2:49 PM, Joseph22 said: my one dont need to pay anything leh? the HDB look for the contractor directly and force them to change FOC for my neighbour on top. actually, have a colleague who had the same problem; new occupant downstairs did reno and then after move in, complain about water leakage. Ended up paying $5xx for the works. Was "threatened" that if dun do now, if anything serious happen in the future, he will have to pay 100% by himself. but another colleague's cousin simply refused to pay a single cent at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 3:06 PM, Ysc3 said: why so negative ?? already said that i called up the previous occupant and asked them if they ever had any leaking issues and they said no. if they did not bother, then they wud have just shot me down when i called them since they no longer staying downstairs. Then get the previous owner to be your witness lor. Call up the HDB officer and tell him that. IMO, at the end of the day, you will still end up having to foot the cost of repair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Previous owner "A" will not know water leak as previous owner "B" (living a floor below) did not complain. You call "A", he/she will not acknowledge this issue. New owner below notice this problem only when their contractor highlighted it... Pretty common, as old owner did not bother about the paint getting damp. When you try to re-paint, scrap the old paint, then problem starts to be more obvious, re-paint also no use as 1-2 years will re-occur like the above pic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 This 50~50 thing is the regulation if leakage found in a unit.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 3:06 PM, Ysc3 said: why so negative ?? already said that i called up the previous occupant and asked them if they ever had any leaking issues and they said no. if they did not bother, then they wud have just shot me down when i called them since they no longer staying downstairs. from my impression, the water proofing layer, sealant and gouting are mainly applied on the flooring of the unit above. i don't suppose such water anti seepage features are so rigorously applied on the ceiling of the unit below. i think it is natural for you to feel aggrieved due to the circumstantial nature of the incident but the fact is the incriminating layer is within your purview so you cannot discount this fact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 2:41 PM, Ysc3 said: anyone kenah this scenario before ? my downstairs neighbor sold his flat abotu 2 months back and the new occupants just moved in. prior to moving in, the new occupants did some renovation works. last week, after the officially moved in for 3 weeks, a HDB officer came to my house and told us that the flat downstairs is complaining that water from our unit is leaking into their toilets from the ceilings !! the officer even told us she was given a VIDEO of the water seeping through the ceiling !! now the HDB officer "offer" us to settle the leaking issue based on the standard HDB absorb 50% and the two owners (upstairs and downstairs) split the balance 50% half/half. I managed to get in touch with the previous occupant and asked them if they ever had any leakage issues when they were staying there and they told me that for the past 20 years, no issue at all !! now the new occupant move in and did renovation works, the ceiling start to leak ?? I am saying that their renovation contractor did a lousy job and caused the ceiling to be compromised and now we, on the upper floor have to pay for their incompetency !! anyone encounter this and did not pay for the rectifications ? Asked HDB a few years and until today still not able to reply: Water leaks intermitently with and without rain from beams and slabs at the void decks. How long can such buildings be safe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Frpm ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_794450.html Unequal repairs, shared costs... Published on May 2, 2012 FOR the past few years, I have had to put up with spalling concrete on the ceiling and walls of my flat, because the HDB and the previous town council each claimed the other was responsible. In 2010, I had concrete falling from the toilet of my master bedroom, because the person living above my flat did not maintain his unit. I was told that we had to split the cost of repairs. Sadly, the repairs were unequally distributed. The resident above got brand-new tiles for the floor, while I got only a paint job, excluding the plastering that left a gap on my ceiling which the HDB refused to fix. Last month, that is, less than two years after the repairs, my ceiling leaked again because of air-conditioning problems originating from the same resident's premises. Last week, I received a letter from the HDB saying: 'There is no more ceiling leak at your master bedroom, as such, the matter is treated as closed.' Who is going to pay for the plastering and painting now, since the HDB has stated that I and my upstairs neighbour have to split the cost? There has to be an independent body to mediate in such cases. For ground-floor residents like me to have to bear the cost of leakage originating elsewhere is unfair. Louis Francis Albert Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 1, 2012 Author Share May 1, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 10:54 PM, Vulcann said: Frpm ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_794450.html Unequal repairs, shared costs... Published on May 2, 2012 wah !! so zhun ar ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 from what i know, (heard b4, real case) if u play punk, there's nothing they can do about it. just slowly reply. the "downstairs" neighbour will be more gan cheong to get it fixed. p.s. the richer the person, the more neow, (when it comes to playing punk) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 3:06 PM, Ysc3 said: why so negative ?? already said that i called up the previous occupant and asked them if they ever had any leaking issues and they said no. if they did not bother, then they wud have just shot me down when i called them since they no longer staying downstairs. oh okay. but renovation dont touch the ceiling one leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 3:09 PM, Ysc3 said: actually, have a colleague who had the same problem; new occupant downstairs did reno and then after move in, complain about water leakage. Ended up paying $5xx for the works. Was "threatened" that if dun do now, if anything serious happen in the future, he will have to pay 100% by himself. but another colleague's cousin simply refused to pay a single cent at all. complain to town council and HDB. they will get to the renovator directly. they will settle, if not HDB will void their renovation license and black list them. at least that was what the renovator whom we complain tell us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/1/2012 at 10:16 PM, Good-Carbuyer said: Asked HDB a few years and until today still not able to reply: Water leaks intermitently with and without rain from beams and slabs at the void decks. How long can such buildings be safe? very long. all things got holes inside and water can seep through. that is why when we renovate toilet and kitchen, we need to apply anti leak sealant before laying the tiles mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear May 2, 2012 Share May 2, 2012 On 5/2/2012 at 12:47 AM, Joseph22 said: very long. all things got holes inside and water can seep through. that is why when we renovate toilet and kitchen, we need to apply anti leak sealant before laying the tiles mah. generally it's oxidation of the steel bars inside concrete that leads to gaps n leaking. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...