i only wonder, how come China immigrant talk become indian food talk? [laugh]

Because THIS...IS...SINGAPORE!!!!!

That should be in the "THIS IS SPARTA!!!" voice. [laugh]

What do you expect when we live in a makan haven? :D

  On 5/2/2012 at 2:40 AM, Turboflat4 said:

Raj has good thosai in general, various types - including a very nice Cheese Paper Masala.

If you want more traditional, got a place called Sarava Bhavan also in Syed Alwi Rd (a bit nearer Mustafa than Raj). Thosai there is damn shiok and the chutneys are the best also. Cheaper too.

Kotek, we can do MU there, you, me, MO. OK? Just leave out Porker. He'll want us to sit on his lap. [laugh]

Why Pundek? I thought you like to sit on my pole? So what's wrong with sitting on my lap? post-4638-1335931309.gif

  On 5/2/2012 at 4:01 AM, Porker said:

Why Pundek? I thought you like to sit on my pole? So what's wrong with sitting on my lap?

As far as I'm aware you're always sitting on pole. And I'm not talking about F1. [laugh]

  On 5/2/2012 at 3:49 AM, Turboflat4 said:

Because THIS...IS...SINGAPORE!!!!!

That should be in the "THIS IS SPARTA!!!" voice. [laugh]

What do you expect when we live in a makan haven? :D

okay lah. china and india are neighbour. [laugh]

  On 5/2/2012 at 3:09 AM, Zanter said:

This is culture. Many look to outside themselves for happiness, meaning often they do not know how to make themselves happy so they look for outside acceptance and respect from others to fill the empty happiness bowl. Worst they often mistaken pleasure of materialism for enduring happiness, hence the constant quest for money. Even then having money is not enough as envy sets in when others earn more money than them..

Other cultures look inside, meaning they internalise, THINK about what makes them happy and dare pursue those dreams irrespective of what other people think, as they do not require an outside permission to pursuit their happiness.

Totally agree.

In SG the reasons for all these materialism is because

read below...

  On 5/2/2012 at 4:57 AM, Tigerwoods said:

Totally agree.

In SG the reasons for all these materialism is because

read below...

I think:- Small island with no natural scenery or beauty may have something to do with this focus on material things. All the eyes can see are man-made concrete "beauties"!?

Lack of space resulting in serious competitions for the same also doesn't help. Paper chase, though not a direct link to materialism, addS to the preoccupation with it.

But it's not all gloom, there are some pple who choose not to be too seriously affected by all this. It's a personal choice to some degree. [:)]

Edited by KARTer

  On 5/1/2012 at 11:13 AM, Mllcg said:

no income how to have good education and health?

no money cannot get the best doc to treat u when sick

no money cannot go to the best schools.

number 1 is still income.

Today someone told me a story about a retired banker.....visited a fishing village.....catching up with a middle age fisherman......

"why don't you work somewhere else instead of fishing ur entire life in a village? You can be a millionaire like me now and need working no more" banker said

......and u know what the fisherman answered?

"I don't have to retire......I am already retired since I am 10"

:)

  On 5/2/2012 at 3:09 AM, Zanter said:

This is culture. Many look to outside themselves for happiness, meaning often they do not know how to make themselves happy so they look for outside acceptance and respect from others to fill the empty happiness bowl. Worst they often mistaken pleasure of materialism for enduring happiness, hence the constant quest for money. Even then having money is not enough as envy sets in when others earn more money than them..

Other cultures look inside, meaning they internalise, THINK about what makes them happy and dare pursue those dreams irrespective of what other people think, as they do not require an outside permission to pursuit their happiness.

This is very true.

  On 5/4/2012 at 4:57 PM, Donut said:

Today someone told me a story about a retired banker.....visited a fishing village.....catching up with a middle age fisherman......

"why don't you work somewhere else instead of fishing ur entire life in a village? You can be a millionaire like me now and need working no more" banker said

......and u know what the fisherman answered?

"I don't have to retire......I am already retired since I am 10"

:)

There are quite a number of versions of this story.

  On 5/2/2012 at 2:54 AM, Katz2282 said:

Taxes are dependent on how much you earn, I am only taxed about 23%. The more you earn, the more you are taxed. Majority of the population is not taxed anywhere near 40%.

If there's a big minus I can think of, its the high interest rate working against you when you take a loan to buy a property.

The last interest rate I saw was about 6-8%.

On 5/5/2012 at 2:48 AM, Yuan said:

Wah! Housing loans now so high at 6-8% hah?

I lost touch already.

And people still borrow to the hilt up buy new condos?

On 5/5/2012 at 2:48 AM, Yuan said:

Yup so almost no chance to own a property here [bigcry]

I believe a car loan is twice that at least.. A mate of mine took a car loan at 14%! [knife]

On 5/5/2012 at 2:58 AM, Katz2282 said:

Yup so almost no chance to own a property here [bigcry]

I believe a car loan is twice that at least.. A mate of mine took a car loan at 14%! [knife]

Most of the ppl i know just pay cash, $23k drive away for brand new Elantra. I would prefer to buy 2nd hand though, could be 30-40% off for a 3yr old model.

  On 5/1/2012 at 5:02 AM, Trex101 said:

If i'm so rich like you, stay in Singapore for what? sell everything bring 30-40mil over and can live like a king, 1 week go NT shoot kangaroo, next week fly to Cairns diving at Great Barrier reef, next week fly to Tasmania drink red wine at vineyard.

Don't say 3 car, you want to buy 30 car also can and build a warehouse to store it. Why would you want to stay in Spore?

Agree with you bro.....maybe he is bull [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed] tting....

Edited by I_RIDE_DEEP

all of my FT colleagues prefer our system of indirect taxes here vs the high direct taxation in their Europe, Australia

To them, you have money and purchasing power is in your hands versus only half back in their home countries.

However, what they cannot come to terms is if we all have more $ on our hands, why are there so many old people working ? they think more $ means more savings

On 5/2/2012 at 2:48 AM, Zanter said:

You forgot to mention taxes are very high>40% ? But then again health care is good & no COE required for cars heh.

On 5/5/2012 at 2:52 AM, Jolie888 said:

Wah! Housing loans now so high at 6-8% hah?

I lost touch already.

And people still borrow to the hilt up buy new condos?

Because many people see buying a property as an investment. If not, you think many will buy at such rates. Its people who wanted just a place to stay that is hard hitted.

On 5/5/2012 at 3:03 AM, Trex101 said:

Most of the ppl i know just pay cash, $23k drive away for brand new Elantra. I would prefer to buy 2nd hand though, could be 30-40% off for a 3yr old model.

Exactly, I paid cash for every car I bought here, don't understand why would anyone take out car loans. But then I find it ludicrous that a secured loan like a car loan is at such high interest rates.. really WTF

On 5/1/2012 at 4:04 AM, Jman888 said:

we also very nice to the tourist, but hostile to FT [rolleyes]

Really? I think all keyboard warriors only. Myself included. [laugh]