Kiadaw 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 He is somewhere in Germany. I always welcome a visits from fellow Singaporeans to my little apartment in my little village. No kidding, there is a field on my backyards, & my neighborhood have cows, horses, sheep, & chickens etc, & these are not delicated farms, but someone lawns. If you guys are interested, I have pictures of my neighborhood which I posted on FB to share with my friends. I can be host & bring you guys around, usually not an issue as I have tonnes of leaves & holidays. Just give me a PM when you are near Frankfurt Hessen area. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 I always welcome a visits from fellow Singaporeans to my little apartment in my little village. No kidding, there is a field on my backyards, & my neighborhood have cows, horses, sheep, & chickens etc, & these are not delicated farms, but someone lawns. If you guys are interested, I have pictures of my neighborhood which I posted on FB to share with my friends. I can be host & bring you guys around, usually not an issue as I have tonnes of leaves & holidays. Just give me a PM when you are near Frankfurt Hessen area. i wanna bring your car down autobahn u be my co driver? =x Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 This is the problem with a lot of Asian society, they can live many years in other country & never bother to really mixed with the locals, & prefer to be among themselves in their small little world. Shouldn't you be the one making cakes for your neighbors instead, you are the new neighbor! You are in English speaking country, no reason cannot intro yourself to them. I went to cake making class (conducted by my friend), to especially make cake as an ice breakers with my neighbors. guess you've a point. my sis lived in Adelaide for a few years among the whites and there wasn't any issue. even my parents were surprised how friendly they were. but that's in adelaide where there aren't that many asians Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 i wanna bring your car down autobahn u be my co driver? =x I also wanna try autobahn and visit the automobile factories there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Having dealt or interacted with Aussies and Americans on separate professional and personal basis including staying these countries, my preference would be the Americans who are more responsive (in a constructive manner) towards the Asians. +1 That has been my life's experience too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 The meaning of "quality of life" is relative. What u define is different from another person. There will never be a right or wrong answer. It's all in your perception. Some ppl define it as working the hardest and longest hours and earning the most money so that he can buy 10 houses, and he doesn't care about health, social life and free time. Some ppl define it as having the most work life balance, no need to have excessive money , one simple roof over head, and having alot of free time to spend with friends and loved ones. HK ppl see SG as having better quality of life compared to HK. SG ppl see Sweden or Aust as having better quality of life. All have different perceptions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 The meaning of "quality of life" is relative. What u define is different from another person. There will never be a right or wrong answer. It's all in your perception. Some ppl define it as working the hardest and longest hours and earning the most money so that he can buy 10 houses, and he doesn't care about health, social life and free time. Some ppl define it as having the most work life balance, no need to have excessive money , one simple roof over head, and having alot of free time to spend with friends and loved ones. HK ppl see SG as having better quality of life compared to HK. SG ppl see Sweden or Aust as having better quality of life. All have different perceptions. I agree. This is all but very subjective. At the end of the day, one has to ask himself or herself: Why is it that they are looking for? Quality of life? Money? Or some other objectives in life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 You see them everyday holiday, the ang moh see us also everyday holiday. Especially if they live in Northern Europe where it is cold, grey and rainy most time of the year, hardly see the sun for a few days a year. The grass is always greener on the other side. And because of that, in Northern Europe, there is such a thing called "winter depression". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 $10 you say? I am not sure if "Singapore Kopitiam" on Russell Street in Melbourne is still there, but back when they first opened, they were the closest to authentic hawker centre food. Or try the chicken rice in this tiny little alley (can't recall the name) off Bourke Street, directly opposite the entrance to Myer. These are the only ones I can think of which came close. In Perth, you can try Spencer Village for truly authentic S'porean food or try the odd ones in the city. Got uppama or rawa thosai? No lah ... I've searched high and low for it in Mel. I go there twice a year, cos one of my children studying there. Got a Malay shop at Nth Swanston ... nearer Rathdowne - he Singaporean, Malay food so so only. One more opened outside Mel city, at Clayton ... ex SAF officer. Got bak chor mee, wanton mee ... again so so lah. But uppama and rawa thosai - where? Cannot find! In Perth, the nearest I can get is murtabak in Nedlands (East Perth). Otherwise, most/all Indian restaurants in the city and outside are the northern Indian types ... you know, the naan, tikka, tandoori, paneer type. Not my kinda food leh. Only Indianian FTs relish these here. I want the fiery south Indian stuff, in Oz. Also prata, mee kuah, Indian rojak, mutton soup with french loaf, tulang ... Where, where in Oz can I find them? p.s. I am no Indian hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 i wanna bring your car down autobahn u be my co driver? =x you are Ah Long? LOL, Unfortunately, my insurance doesn't cover another driver. I am never a big fan of high speed, 7 I only goes 180km/h on very straight & wide part of autobahn, with all lanes by myself. My normal speed on on speed stretch is only 110-150km/h. Driving slower is less stressful, 7 allow me to see the scenery. Its nicer in the countryside, but some can be flash fantasy land (speed cameras), & you need to drive careful & not too fast (if not you can land at bottom of a hill or mountains) I think if you wanted to drive at high speed, Our Northern Neighbours also can right, though not officially legal. Only differences is the scenery & most people know the limit of their respective cars. You will not find beat up econ box driving in excess speed & overtaking lane most of the time. Most of the cars that drive at high speeds are the Merc, Audi & BMWs. Anyway, forget about the Autobahn, if you want, we can drive to the Ring (only 1.30hours from my place), & we can track on the world 2nd most famous race track, after Singapore racetrack (aka our roads) of course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 And because of that, in Northern Europe, there is such a thing called "winter depression". Yeah, as winter is cold & dark (in the far north, there can be even many days, or months without daylights). Suicide rates are highest in Winter. But this happen mostly in Nordic, Scandinavia countries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 The meaning of "quality of life" is relative. What u define is different from another person. There will never be a right or wrong answer. It's all in your perception. I disagree. Quality of life is not defined in perceptions. The evidence is the reality all around us: there exist 3 factors or dimensions which define and are associated with quality of life. The 3 dimensions are representative of what most people commonly strive for their real lives for a higher quality of life: 1. Income 2. Health 3. Education Perphaps some have taken them for granted and hence oblivious that access to the above leads to a higher quality of life. Governments meddles with the above the three dimensions not for nilly willy reasons but because they have been generally accepted as quality of life indicators. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 I disagree. Quality of life is not defined in perceptions. The evidence is the reality all around us: there exist 3 factors or dimensions which define and are associated with quality of life. The 3 dimensions are representative of what most people commonly strive for their real lives for a higher quality of life: 1. Income 2. Health 3. Education Perphaps some have taken them for granted and hence oblivious that access to the above leads to a higher quality of life. Governments meddles with the above the three dimensions not for nilly willy reasons but because they have been generally accepted as quality of life indicators. to get point 2 and 3, u need point 1. so yeah. money is #1 priority Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 you are Ah Long? LOL, Unfortunately, my insurance doesn't cover another driver. I am never a big fan of high speed, 7 I only goes 180km/h on very straight & wide part of autobahn, with all lanes by myself. My normal speed on on speed stretch is only 110-150km/h. Driving slower is less stressful, 7 allow me to see the scenery. Its nicer in the countryside, but some can be flash fantasy land (speed cameras), & you need to drive careful & not too fast (if not you can land at bottom of a hill or mountains) I think if you wanted to drive at high speed, Our Northern Neighbours also can right, though not officially legal. Only differences is the scenery & most people know the limit of their respective cars. You will not find beat up econ box driving in excess speed & overtaking lane most of the time. Most of the cars that drive at high speeds are the Merc, Audi & BMWs. Anyway, forget about the Autobahn, if you want, we can drive to the Ring (only 1.30hours from my place), & we can track on the world 2nd most famous race track, after Singapore racetrack (aka our roads) of course. nurburgring? i prefer straights leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Got a Sporean couple left for USA and moved house 3 times due to retrenchments and now in Wisconsin. Got their Green cards and children born there. Hubby got a Government job but barely making ends meet (as you know Garment job in USA low pay). Wife not working as got to look after 3 kids. We had ask him to come back SG as we believe he can get a nice job with his US experience. He declined as he said they have life there, more family time and can do lotsa things that living in SG would be impossible. Got another Sporean couple left for Aussie Brisbane with 3 kids. doing OK and got PR there. Also say there is Quality LIFE there that SG cannot give. I guess those who left actually love to have more time in their hands - Sporean ideals. Wisconsin is a nice big state to live in. Next to the Great Lakes. Nice outdoors. Milwaukee, WI is just next to Chicago, Ill. There is a top public university at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Suka suka cross over to Canada. Can travel around the big vast "bread-basket" heartlands of the USA. Can go hunting in the coniferous forests and hills. But the Midwest is not recommended for those who cannot tahan -20 degree winters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 I disagree. Quality of life is not defined in perceptions. The evidence is the reality all around us: there exist 3 factors or dimensions which define and are associated with quality of life. The 3 dimensions are representative of what most people commonly strive for their real lives for a higher quality of life: 1. Income 2. Health 3. Education Perphaps some have taken them for granted and hence oblivious that access to the above leads to a higher quality of life. Governments meddles with the above the three dimensions not for nilly willy reasons but because they have been generally accepted as quality of life indicators. Yeah u just said it; income. Some ppl'see income as top priority. They wan to get as much money as possible. Conclusion is diff ppl has diff perception of quality of life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Yeah u just said it; income. Some ppl'see income as top priority. They wan to get as much money as possible. Conclusion is diff ppl has diff perception of quality of life. no income how to have good education and health? no money cannot get the best doc to treat u when sick no money cannot go to the best schools. number 1 is still income. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 no income how to have good education and health? no money cannot get the best doc to treat u when sick no money cannot go to the best schools. number 1 is still income. U see, you are using yr logic based in SG context. In other countries, u dint need alot money to get these things. That's why ppl run away from SG! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...