22 millions wanting to migrate.

KARTer

  On 5/1/2012 at 7:47 AM, Kiadaw said:

If OZ so bad as mention, why so many Singaporeans like to move there? Because close proximity to Singapore, & similar weather, although they do have 4 seasons, but not as distinctive like North of USA, Europe or China.

It's all relative my friend.

What you already have (or not have) here, the quality of life you are already enjoying (or not enjoying) here vs what you can get there.

I have two ex-NSF mates with ITE certs who are leading comfortable lives there.

One's a mechanic and the other, a fork lift driver.

They live in cozy bungalows in the far suburbs and own cars.

They tell me that if they had remained in SG, doing the same jobs, they'd still be stuck in HDB flats and BMW.

So it's all relative - that will be what's pushing SGeans to emigrate to Oz, or elsewhere!

For me? There is no real urgent push factor.

Perhaps when I retire ...

Edited by Jolie888

On 5/1/2012 at 7:59 AM, Jolie888 said:

Thanks mate, for articulating the subtle racism there to some of the non believers here.

Also the relatively high savings interest rate there, which beats most financial investment instruments available here (with risks somemore!).

Yup, once the Aussie neighbors find out that you speak good English, they will mossy up to you.

When we moved in, it took 6 months before a neighbor came with the first cake. As more in the neighborhood get to know, their guards were let down.

"Oh we didn't know that you are from Singapore!"

Dig deeper, slowly, and you will realize that they abhor the Vietnamese.

One family gets into a neighborhood, and more will come. Soon, the Aussies will slowly move out, one by one, and then, it will become a Vietnamese community! Now this 'fear' or call it concern was actually told to me, after we became beer buddies.

This is the problem with a lot of Asian society, they can live many years in other country & never bother to really mixed with the locals, & prefer to be among themselves in their small little world.

Shouldn't you be the one making cakes for your neighbors instead, you are the new neighbor! You are in English speaking country, no reason cannot intro yourself to them.

I went to cake making class (conducted by my friend), to especially make cake as an ice breakers with my neighbors. [:)]

  On 5/1/2012 at 8:13 AM, Kiadaw said:

This is the problem with a lot of Asian society, they can live many years in other country & never bother to really mixed with the locals, & prefer to be among themselves in their small little world.

Shouldn't you be the one making cakes for your neighbors instead, you are the new neighbor! You are in English speaking country, no reason cannot intro yourself to them.

I went to cake making class (conducted by my friend), to especially make cake as an ice breakers with my neighbors. [:)]

mm... I moved in to my new place in Singapore two years back and I still have not baked a cake or recieved a cake....

Is this a problem?

On 5/1/2012 at 8:36 AM, Wind30 said:

mm... I moved in to my new place in Singapore two years back and I still have not baked a cake or recieved a cake....

Is this a problem?

constipation??post-68235-1335861493.gif

  On 5/1/2012 at 3:53 AM, Deckbuild said:

If you are there long enough, you will see a lot... Especially the younger gen.

We are a perfect reflection image when we look ourselves in the mirror.

  On 5/1/2012 at 3:45 AM, JackRabbit said:

out of curiosity ... is this something you have experienced personally.. or something related through friends and acquaintances?

I have been to Australia only a few times, and never to USA. But I have never encountered any form of racism myself during my visits (both business and leisure trips) to Australia. So far all my encounters with the Aussies have been very pleasant - they have been very courteous. Even in the streets - strangers greet g'day when I walk around. Not to say I think there is no racism in AU or USA - but I have not personally experienced yet.

Having dealt or interacted with Aussies and Americans on separate professional and personal basis including staying these countries, my preference would be the Americans who are more responsive (in a constructive manner) towards the Asians.

Edited by Yuan

On 5/1/2012 at 8:36 AM, Wind30 said:

Is this a problem?

The idea is to break the ice, the cake is just the catalyst. Its easier than making fried food or something, as almost everyone like & can eat a cake.

Knock on door, I am your new neighbour, I justed moved here from XXXX. Here is a cake, I hope you like it.

See simple isn't it.

I do realize that most Singaporeans especially younger gen like us do not know much about making pantries & cake. But you will be surprise that making cake, like simple pound cake or muffins are not that difficult. It isn't even time consuming. 10 mins work is enough, the oven will do the rest.

  On 5/1/2012 at 8:13 AM, Kiadaw said:

Why must be cake? Cannot be Roti Prata, or kuay, mee siam maihum?

On 5/1/2012 at 9:09 AM, Tigerwoods said:

Can, sure why not, but like I mention, its good to have simple food that most people can accept. Not everyone like spicy food for instant, & they may just have their meal. Cake or small pantries, like egg tarts, they can keep to eat later.

Talking about that, I think I have new idea for a chocolate muffin (with creamy heart), & I will make some for my neighbors this week.

  On 5/1/2012 at 9:07 AM, Kiadaw said:

The idea is to break the ice, the cake is just the catalyst. Its easier than making fried food or something, as almost everyone like & can eat a cake.

Knock on door, I am your new neighbour, I justed moved here from XXXX. Here is a cake, I hope you like it.

See simple isn't it.

I do realize that most Singaporeans especially younger gen like us do not know much about making pantries & cake. But you will be surprise that making cake, like simple pound cake or muffins are not that difficult. It isn't even time consuming. 10 mins work is enough, the oven will do the rest.

Next MU I will chio you :wub:

On 5/1/2012 at 9:05 AM, Yuan said:

Having dealt or interacted with Aussies and Americans on separate professional and personal basis including staying these countries, my preference would be the Americans who are more responsive (in a constructive manner) towards the Asians.

Sometimes, we also cannot blame people as many Asian (not necessary from Singapore) go there & set up 'colonies', & situation not unlike what we have in Singapore now with the FTs & FWs. They usually do not interact with the locals, & form big group occupying the popular spots.

How do you feel that Orchard road has now become little Manila? So how to blame people.

  On 5/1/2012 at 9:13 AM, Tigerwoods said:

Next MU I will chio you :wub:

He is somewhere in Germany. [laugh]

  On 5/1/2012 at 9:09 AM, Tigerwoods said:

The locals probably will not be able to appreciate.

Start with something that they are comfortable and easy with.

  On 5/1/2012 at 9:17 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Not generally Asian problem. But its common in Singapore and partly to do with urbanization and capitalism. You go to Manhattan and try to bake a cake for your stranger neighbour. You go to a Chinese or Thai village and they are also very friendly, only many Singaporeans will act like big shots and look down on non-white or non-English speaking races.

I agree with you on the part of Singaporeans acting like some big shots..... [laugh]

I myself find a bit "sia suay" especially with our kiasu and "lording over" attitude or social behaviour.

On 5/1/2012 at 9:17 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Not generally Asian problem. But its common in Singapore and partly to do with urbanization and capitalism. You go to Manhattan and try to bake a cake for your stranger neighbour. You go to a Chinese or Thai village and they are also very friendly, only many Singaporeans will act like big shots and look down on non-white or non-English speaking races.

Singaporeans also act like big shot & look down also on FWs, other FTs from neighboring countries, calling them name (although mostly secretly), treated service stuff, construction sit workers, cleaners like 2nd class people ( but the same people complain why many Singaporeans do not wanted to be in F&B), all this in Singapore itself.

I seen acts on regular basis in Sunny Singapore that make be feel ashamed to be Singaporeans at times. When we complain other countries folks are racist, we only compare the treatment to us, many are blinded by how we treat others within Singapore alone.

On 5/1/2012 at 7:49 AM, Jolie888 said:

Not in the suburbs my friend.

Maybe in the city, but even then, it's very substandard.

If you are referring to the Singapore food shops along Swanston, that's truly BS. Doesn't even taste anything like the real thingy.

There was a so-called Peranakan restaurant at Lygon St.

For several months, I passed by and saw almost no one inside.

Within a year, it closed down.

The only 'authethic' Chinese cuisine are the HK-run restaurants. But you certainly won't get your chui kuay or chye tow kuay there!

Certainly no uppama, or rawa thosai (not thosai hor) in Oz. Tell me where - I will wager $10 with you!

$10 you say? [:p]

I am not sure if "Singapore Kopitiam" on Russell Street in Melbourne is still there, but back when they first opened, they were the closest to authentic hawker centre food. Or try the chicken rice in this tiny little alley (can't recall the name) off Bourke Street, directly opposite the entrance to Myer. These are the only ones I can think of which came close.

In Perth, you can try Spencer Village for truly authentic S'porean food or try the odd ones in the city.

3rd Gear
  On 5/1/2012 at 2:56 AM, Tigerwoods said:

Got a Sporean couple left for USA and moved house 3 times due to retrenchments and now in Wisconsin. Got their Green cards and children born there.

Hubby got a Government job but barely making ends meet (as you know Garment job in USA low pay). Wife not working as got to look after 3 kids.

We had ask him to come back SG as we believe he can get a nice job with his US experience. He declined as he said they have life there, more family time and can do lotsa things that living in SG would be impossible.

Got another Sporean couple left for Aussie Brisbane with 3 kids. doing OK and got PR there. Also say there is Quality LIFE there that SG cannot give.

I guess those who left actually love to have more time in their hands - Sporean ideals.

my friend in europe too.... spouse pr... KNN see their facebook... everyday like holiday like that....

and they are not extremely well off too...

On 5/1/2012 at 7:49 AM, Kiadaw said:

I heard Japan is more xenophobic than many Western countries. Even if you can speak perfect Japanese & mix with the people, they will still treat you like an outsider. That's what I heard anyway.

but they are "opening" up now.

not as bad as last time la. lol