Chewbacca 1st Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 I've been having beancurd and soyabean products and I've no problem with them. Biggest problem is with peanuts (I don't like beer, so that one is ok for me...). There has been study that plant based purine causes gout less. But it don't seem to have gotten wide acceptance yet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Yup. colchicine is better. However, tends to induce diarrhoea, cos it detoxifies the body That's the problem with it. I always go LS after taking it so doc ask me to stop and just take allo..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Actually Indomethacine or in a more serious flare up, Colchicine is what you should take. Allopurinol is a slow acting drug that reduces the production of uric acid and needs to be taken long term. During a flare up, allopurinol could actually aggravate the symptoms. In a more serious case (so far only twice), I'll go for jab. Else just allo for me 'cos colc makes my tummy 'rumbles'..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 what friend? what consistent? This is Lite & Ez, he is asking something serious. what the f--k is a dentist thread doing in Feedback & Suggestions? cars got gout? And you got a f--king problem. what C78? C250 I am driving one. oh i see sorri my bad i did not notice i you are right pai seh pai seh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 If this is about your post on the dentist, alright I'll jump in as the dispassionate observer. The forum has a topic structure. You posted the dentist story under Singapore No. 1 Car Forum & Car Club - MyCarForum > MCF Forum Related > Feedback & Suggestions Hence the question about what that has to do with a car forum. This story is under Singapore No. 1 Car Forum & Car Club - MyCarForum > Others > Lite & EZ thanks for pointing out i did not realise it appreciate your post thanks have to be careful next time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 I have gout since 25 and though it's more like you get it after 40 years old. Discover it gene related and run in the family. You have to look at your family tree and if either the father side or mother side have it , you may inherit it. It's quite painful and as some one put it , you may take colchicine but that's more a preventative medication and if Gout flare out , cochichine may not be useful and you have to go for anti-inflammatory medication. I used to take Indomethachine but nowadays not easy to find . Btw , if cant tahan the pain, you can drop by any clinic for a painkiller jab. This is very effective and the pain can be gone almost immediately However, you may get resistance to the painkiller , meaning that it's get less and less effective . Other than the common food like red meat and nuts and beans related food to avoid , I find 100 plus to be a real trigger for me. I used to do lots of sports and takes lots of 100 plus and my gout trigger almost every week. I realize once I stop taking 100 plus and just take plain water , my frequency of attack drop to almost nil.. However , that's my experience and your mileage or trigger could e different. Btw one interesting aspect of Gout is that it's always happens at or after midnight. I later found out that because our stomach stopped working in the night and thats when the Gout flare up. The gout crystal would travel through our blood stream and would deposit at the lowest part of our body due to gravity ie normally the right or left toe. Gout happens becoz our pancrea could not process the Purin in the food and this would leads to a high production of Uris acid. Purin are mostly find in the skin of nuts and beans etc..hopes that's help for any new gout sufferer. So means it is inherited? If family no history can develop gout? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 depending on the area of pain, stretching the muscle there helps as the "needle" don rest on your nerve that much. Its what physio does. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panerex77 1st Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 heard taking celery pills or eating celery help to reduce uric acid level...is that true? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 heard taking celery pills or eating celery help to reduce uric acid level...is that true? this i dont know as i am fortunate not to have gout..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taosaopao Neutral Newbie May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 So means it is inherited? If family no history can develop gout? Hard to say. My father and mother don't have it, but my mum's bro and sis have it and so me and my bro have it but my sis don't have it. You would probably know after you hit 40 as this seems to be the time it would start to act up. On a brighter note, it does force you to be healthier as you are restricted to many different type of food or to eat in moderation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Be it have inherit or not, if you are over 35, better have an full body check-up yearly so as to know your condition. If found your uric acid is beginning to increase...take measures to curb it by changing eating habits and lifestyle. Same goes for high blood, cholestrol, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicfoo Turbocharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 oh i see sorri my bad i did not notice i you are right pai seh pai seh Don't OT. people talking about a real issue here, take your nonsense back to your Dentist thread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Don't OT. people talking about a real issue here, take your nonsense back to your Dentist thread. apologise to you also kena whack alamak really i am having a bad hair day ok you want serious for gout it is quite a common problem this has to be our affluence as a society eating less meat is one major way to prevent recurrence and reduce the need for medication Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 Eh you two, please bring your bickering elsewhere orite? This thread people are discussing about gout. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 My gout problems never happened again for the past 6 months and without medication. 1) What food to avoid? Peanuts, Seafood and Beer 2) What alternative cure, beside western medicine, that you seek to prevent it? Every morning, I squeeze half a lemon into a cup of warm water. Drink it with empty stomach and 30 min before breakfast. In the evening, I squeeze the other half lemon and drink it after my dinner. At the same time, I eat fruits everyday. Mostly strawberry, dragon fruits, apple. So far, it works for me without any side effect for the past 6 months. Drinking lemon water is good for health. Keep it up. Lemon make water alkaline which helps in gout issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Author Share May 1, 2012 (edited) Don't OT can? Edited May 1, 2012 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 1, 2012 Author Share May 1, 2012 depending on the area of pain, stretching the muscle there helps as the "needle" don rest on your nerve that much. Its what physio does. I realise that stretching the affected area actually move the pain to a nearby area...guess the "needle" travel with the blood ...I had a swollen wrist year back without any sprain or any impact...never knew it was gout... I went to some tcm for treatment and treat it as a sprain....at the end...the swollen part goes on for 2 month till I try taking gout medication...it actually went away.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 To me, I take arcoxia 120 mg once a day and colchicine twice a day if it flares up. My doctor says, always act on it ASAP when it happens. This is to avoid the crystal deposit becomes permanently there otherwise it can be a problem in the long term, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...