Watwheels Supersonic December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 23 minutes ago, Wind30 said: My uric acid is always high in my health screening. So getting worried. Had a few attacks over the years on the ankle but nothing really serious and recovers very fast. Exercise I think is the BEST thing one can do for health. I have started jogging daily for 30 mins 4km in the morning. I also eat psyllium husk which is soluble fiber. It is REALLY cheap. The polyclinic dietician recommends this and I realise eating fiber helps you to absorb less saturated fat and lowers cholesterol. To me it is a god send as whatever sinful food you eat get absorb less. You also tend to feel less hungry. It is much better than trying to stop yourself from eating the food you like.... for me. I just eat more of this fiber. I still eat some desserts and stuff, just less not because of dieting but I just feel less hungry. No side effect as it is just fiber but it is REALLY useful for me. The ideal recommended intake for fiber is 25 grams which is like impossible for me. But eat too much psyllium will laosai leh. Haha... how does it taste like? You add with water and down it, right? For me I feel that gut health is key to good health. So it's probiotics for me. But also cannot take too much. Will laosai also. Haha... Diet whether it's bodybuilding or sliming it is 70% of what you eat is key to your goals. Exercise is small percentage. For bodybuilding you try to eat more proteins, for sliming you eat less carbo or white rice. From my own experience intermittent fasting and exercising once it becomes routine your body get used to it, it will no longer be effective. You will have to change your routine to not let your body get used to routine. Not easy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 13 minutes ago, Watwheels said: But eat too much psyllium will laosai leh. Haha... how does it taste like? You add with water and down it, right? For me I feel that gut health is key to good health. So it's probiotics for me. But also cannot take too much. Will laosai also. Haha... Diet whether it's bodybuilding or sliming it is 70% of what you eat is key to your goals. Exercise is small percentage. For bodybuilding you try to eat more proteins, for sliming you eat less carbo or white rice. From my own experience intermittent fasting and exercising once it becomes routine your body get used to it, it will no longer be effective. You will have to change your routine to not let your body get used to routine. Not easy. I won’t laosai with psyllium husk. Around half table spoon a day with water. It taste like nothing. It is actually just fiber. Of course must control diet but the fiber helps for me or so I believe. it is free as it takes zero effort or will power. Just a cup wash down with water. Takes 30 seconds. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 5 hours ago, Blueray said: my personal experience and observation is that the trigger factor varies from individual to individual. for my friend, its quite straightforward, he gets it in his feet once he overeats red meats and innards. in my case, it creeps up on me in my right wrist which I initially thought was just RSI. my diet is way more moderate than my friend's. so just have to identify one's own trigger factor. fortunately for us, 2 days of colchicine usually solves the problem. I will agree with you on this, mainly for many it's sugar. I know of someone in MCF, who had gout for many years and his trigger up to know is still unknown to him, except that it could be weak kidneys due to too many "night missions" and "stand TWO". No joking. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 5 hours ago, Kb27 said: I had gout once. I followed "foods to avoid", then it disappeared by itself and hasn't recur since. I didn't take any medicine either. I guess, my long time diet was to reduce consumption of meat. As a diabetic, I still indulge in sugary drinks, although I shouldn't, Wah Lau, you still take sweet stuff! Eyh don't lah. I haven't had a single soft drink in god knows how long! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 5 hours ago, Blueray said: my personal experience and observation is that the trigger factor varies from individual to individual. for my friend, its quite straightforward, he gets it in his feet once he overeats red meats and innards. in my case, it creeps up on me in my right wrist which I initially thought was just RSI. my diet is way more moderate than my friend's. so just have to identify one's own trigger factor. fortunately for us, 2 days of colchicine usually solves the problem. I'm having some pain in the foot and heel, plus knees, bearable for me, drinking the tea I mentioned, worse comes to worse, colchicine will have to be administered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 5 hours ago, Watwheels said: Hawthorn is more effective on high blood pressure/sugar. For those ppl who have gout I have seen them go thru significant change in their diet and lifestyle. They stop drinking, massive weight loss, they totally lost their beer gut. Can tell they dont exercise a lot cos cant see any muscle gain so I think a lot of it is diet and intermittent fasting. Probably did more walking. Try taking a walk after dinner, do it daily. Painful to walk also must try. For diet Goggle for food that is low in purine but also see what food is high in purine to avoid them...totally. Take a table spoon of apple cider vinegar in the morning daily. I think a lot can help as long as you can adjust to your daily diet and lifestyle. I guess I've been laying off the gym and activities far too long, have to bite the bullet and start everything again and bear the pain. Apple cider bought 2 bottles, haven't touch yet. No blame, too damn tired after work to initiate anything. Wife says kidney weak. She's actually right, plus I started smoking again after a very long haul off the sticks, 15 years to be exact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 4 hours ago, Ody_2004 said: Wow I din know sugar can trigger gout attack. Generally I try not to take sweet things but as you said it is those hidden sugar we consumed.. Having gout can be frustrated at times.. sleep oso cannot sleep ah.. but through the years i learn to live with it.. from Big toes, to ankle to knee, left right all i kenna before. during NS I am excuse carry load and even brisk walking! 😂 Gout seem like to attack those injured parts.. worse part is I got meniscus torn not once but twice on my right knee.. the symptom very similar to gout attack on the knee or could be a combination.. i din know meniscus torn till I went to see specialist and done MRI.. thought just another case of gout attack.. Exercise i feel still a must to sweat it out.. I used to jog but ankle pain.. understand your frustration.. tried swimming instead which I did for few years.. then now i do cycling.. been 10 years riding oredi.. choose low impact exercise.. weight is a no no for me.. gout is controllable but need discipline and some lifestyle change. All the best and Merry Christmas! stay away from turkey too! 😂 It is mainly sugar for many. Unlike what the doctors say. Recently a old army friend of mine, told me to sleep with socks on to keep the feet warm,I went further to also use knee guards along with the socks, as I have always been used to sleep in shorts and no blanket. He even asked a Anglo doctor who specialise in artiritiesand he said yes, gout attacks cold joints, so no wonder my knees and feet get it. After wearing socks and knee guards, the pain isn't so bad, it's been 2 weeks now. I need to get out of my deep dark hole again and get my act together before Mazdaowner is featured in the obituary page. *CHOY* 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 4 hours ago, Kangadrool said: Probably he meant 山楂。 I don't even know what it is! Wonder if it really helps gout. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 4 hours ago, Kangadrool said: Lim pure Arabica Kopi Kosong 2 cups a day. LOL And you slim down in no time. KNS lah you. 😂 I drink and roast arabica no difference also. Espresso leh. Boh eng one, only keep me awake when driving nah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 2 hours ago, Watwheels said: I think the first step is to lose weight. Overweight leads to many health issues. Once you have the discipline to do that the rest will be easy. Eat less. Haha...Not easy. We are surround by so much food and temptations. 2 weeks on low carbs, on and off, I wonder if it's the Sio bah chili that has sugar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 (edited) 2 hours ago, Wind30 said: My uric acid is always high in my health screening. So getting worried. Had a few attacks over the years on the ankle but nothing really serious and recovers very fast. Exercise I think is the BEST thing one can do for health. I have started jogging daily for 30 mins 4km in the morning. I also eat psyllium husk which is soluble fiber. It is REALLY cheap. The polyclinic dietician recommends this and I realise eating fiber helps you to absorb less saturated fat and lowers cholesterol. To me it is a god send as whatever sinful food you eat get absorb less. You also tend to feel less hungry. It is much better than trying to stop yourself from eating the food you like.... for me. I just eat more of this fiber. I still eat some desserts and stuff, just less not because of dieting but I just feel less hungry. No side effect as it is just fiber but it is REALLY useful for me. The ideal recommended intake for fiber is 25 grams which is like impossible for me. Hmm...if laosai also never mind so long it helps, consider as detox. Edited December 24, 2020 by Mazdaowner spell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 2 hours ago, inlinesix said: Sometime, weight may not be the issue. My BMI is 26.5. No health issue at all. If you above 40, better consult a cardiologist before pursue any endurance sports. Consult doctors is already an endurance sport, how long you can ensure paying the consultation fees! I went NUH 4 years ago because of knee pain, the Prof didn't even check me and immediately said it was gout. My GP said it was inflammation, put a needle in and sucked out all the fluid - Joint aspiration, $60, NUH $450 to see a bloody quack! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, Watwheels said: But eat too much psyllium will laosai leh. Haha... how does it taste like? You add with water and down it, right? For me I feel that gut health is key to good health. So it's probiotics for me. But also cannot take too much. Will laosai also. Haha... Diet whether it's bodybuilding or sliming it is 70% of what you eat is key to your goals. Exercise is small percentage. For bodybuilding you try to eat more proteins, for sliming you eat less carbo or white rice. From my own experience intermittent fasting and exercising once it becomes routine your body get used to it, it will no longer be effective. You will have to change your routine to not let your body get used to routine. Not easy. Taste like Nestum lor, if you're old enough to know what Nestum is. Edited December 24, 2020 by Mazdaowner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 Guys this is some what frighting, Having left MCF for many years now, I'm kind of worried I'll have to do a permanent relocation back into MCF which I'm not prepared to do. There are many friends here who have known me thru to the years and sent me PM to return of which either I didn't reply or said I wouldn't want to. Sometimes I try to put the past behind me, coming back here is like an exhumation of sorts. So I don't know, new job, no place, I mostly don't have the time to surf off here, lately it's been quiet due to the festive season, after no one is sure what will happen. I'll carry on with this thread till work beckons. Still need to work to make my keep, even with all my boys fully grown and 2 married. How time passes, we all age and shit hits the fan with our health in tow. Can be depressing, I've adopted the "have to die sooner or later" that said, pain free while alive is still the best. Thanks everyone for coming back to this thread with your experiences, let's carry on the discussion. There was a old Indonesian method of using white radish, ginger and buakrus to puree into a smoothie to drink. I did that, don't know if it worked, but I kind of had cold blue balls after drinking. Really COLD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 Don't really understand why are u developing gout in your 50s when u never had much problem in the past. This age group seldom have gout that just happened. Gout is by far most prevalent for those in their late 20s/30s and 40s (for those people who haven't learnt to lead a healthier lifestyle). At your age, the pple who complain of gout troubling their day to day are already having lots of other health problems. Unless your joints are badly damaged from primary or secondary osteoarthritis. If u really feel gout is so bad, >= 2 attacks per year, then strongly consider allopurinol lor. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 19 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Don't really understand why are u developing gout in your 50s when u never had much problem in the past. This age group seldom have gout that just happened. Gout is by far most prevalent for those in their late 20s/30s and 40s (for those people who haven't learnt to lead a healthier lifestyle). At your age, the pple who complain of gout troubling their day to day are already having lots of other health problems. Unless your joints are badly damaged from primary or secondary osteoarthritis. If u really feel gout is so bad, >= 2 attacks per year, then strongly consider allopurinol lor. Every drug has a side effect. I’m already pushing 60, gout isn’t only to that specific age group. If I can do it naturally without drugs, I will go the long and hard way. The easy way is not always the best way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 (edited) 31 minutes ago, Mazdaowner said: Every drug has a side effect. I’m already pushing 60, gout isn’t only to that specific age group. If I can do it naturally without drugs, I will go the long and hard way. The easy way is not always the best way. If u are doing it naturally and working, then sure. If u are doing it naturally and not working, then with each gout inflammation, the more irreversible damage is done to your joints. Edited December 24, 2020 by Lala81 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 24, 2020 Share December 24, 2020 59 minutes ago, Mazdaowner said: Consult doctors is already an endurance sport, how long you can ensure paying the consultation fees! I went NUH 4 years ago because of knee pain, the Prof didn't even check me and immediately said it was gout. My GP said it was inflammation, put a needle in and sucked out all the fluid - Joint aspiration, $60, NUH $450 to see a bloody quack! Made an appointment with NUH Heart Centre. Walk into consultant room and tell him I need to do Cardiopulmonary exercise testing. After checking why I want to do CPET, he advised me to do a blood test (cholesterol), echocardiogram and ECG Threadmill Test. I accepted his advice. After all the test, I was given clean bill of health to continue with endurance sport. Next appointment is 2 years later for a cholesterol blood test. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...