RadX Moderator June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Thank God I'm well. I was however devastated when my wife go around telling our friends and relatives that her husband was a freak. We were at a wedding dinner when she did that and I could see the disgust in their faces when they looked at me thereafter. I could not bring myself to tell them that was only my 3rd time finishing food with dead cockroach inside... not like they gonna kiss you anyway ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Thank God I'm well. I was however devastated when my wife go around telling our friends and relatives that her husband was a freak. We were at a wedding dinner when she did that and I could see the disgust in their faces when they looked at me thereafter. I could not bring myself to tell them that was only my 3rd time finishing food with dead cockroach inside... You ARE a freak!! You should have eaten the cockroach as well. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 You ARE a freak!! You should have eaten the cockroach as well. i oso say @weez911 dun waste food...whatever it is...hahahahahah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 i oso say @weez911 dun waste food...whatever it is...hahahahahah @porker would love his CIM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 i oso say @weez911 dun waste food...whatever it is...hahahahahah Yes, why waste good protein. And anyway, how bad can cockroach be? It must taste like chicken since *everything* is supposed to taste like chicken, and this was chicken curry noodle so the flavour will blend right in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 I just killed a flying roach last night, daiso fly swatter was the best $2 spent ever Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 (edited) i oso say @weez911 dun waste food...whatever it is...hahahahahah Between my favourite food and cockroach, I will choose my favourite food lah . My religion teaches me not to waste food Luckily the roach was not a grown one, so I didn't need to deal with the feelers. I am usually more scat of their moving feelers than anything else in the insect kingdom. Must be childhood fears of some sort. Yes, why waste good protein. And anyway, how bad can cockroach be? It must taste like chicken since *everything* is supposed to taste like chicken, and this was chicken curry noodle so the flavour will blend right in. I swear I could not tell the difference in the soup haha! The soup was as divine as usual! [laugh] I just killed a flying roach last night, daiso fly swatter was the best $2 spent ever Strangely, I could not find a single cockroach at Rod's place. His place is cleaner than my usual favourite food store! Edited June 29, 2016 by Weez911 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Last week I ate my favourite chicken curry noodle (name censored) and saw a dead cockroach in the soup after chomping 1/4 of the noodle. I stopped for 5 seconds, then decided to go ahead and finished the rest of the 3/4 (except for the roach) because I don't want to waste the noodle. It was an irrational decision and behavior because I hate cockroach, but since I can only eat chicken curry noodle once a week due to health issues, I dutifully completed the feat. My family could not bear to see what I did and left the table before I finished my feast. I doubt they will go back to the same store with me now. I will just do it alone going forward. U r very brave Not scare of food poisoining ah 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 U r very brave Not scare of food poisoining ah at that temp, germs all die lah..summoe curry kokroach all will blend in lah...more tasty Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 U r very brave Not scare of food poisoining ah I think I was more greedy than brave The soup was boiling hot when it was scooped to my bowl, so I was not particularly concern with bacteria (I may be wrong!). I took the risk and ate it. Luckily it did not turn out too badly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 (edited) at that temp, germs all die lah.. Not entirely guaranteed. If the roach crawled into the dish and drowned after the soup had cooled a bit, then more hazardous. Also, most of the bacteria are sequestered in the gut of the cockroach. The heat may not have good penetration into that area to kill all the bacteria. Not trying to scare our friend, just offering a scientific view. Edited June 29, 2016 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Not entirely guaranteed. If the roach crawled into the dish and drowned after the soup had cooled a bit, then more hazardous. yup... then again, once enter tummy....will be acidified shd be those small ones lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Cockroaches are not scary. Lizards are more scary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Cockroaches are not scary. Lizards are more scary. Lizards are our friends lah. Eat all the mozzies and baby roaches. But they are also dirty in terms of germs. Their bodies are often factories for Salmonella. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Lizards are our friends lah. Eat all the mozzies and baby roaches. But they are also dirty in terms of germs. Their bodies are often factories for Salmonella. totally agree w this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 I think I was more greedy than brave The soup was boiling hot when it was scooped to my bowl, so I was not particularly concern with bacteria (I may be wrong!). I took the risk and ate it. Luckily it did not turn out too badly. I don't think i would be as brave as you, think i will freak out and die of panic attack first then food poisoning. Lol. Lizards are our friends lah. Eat all the mozzies and baby roaches. But they are also dirty in terms of germs. Their bodies are often factories for Salmonella. Lizards are our friends? Think there is one liazard inside my house who goes around pangsai! Have seen its shits on the floor and on top of basin! Usually the shits are found at the same usual place! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 You missed out on the heat-stable toxins. It is not purely bacteria per se causing the gastroenteritis symptoms, the toxins they produced prior to ingestion are a major contribution to their pathogenecity. Enterotoxigenic E. coli (ETEC)ETEC is an important cause of diarrhea in infants and travelers in underdeveloped countries or regions of poor sanitation. In the U.S., it has been implicated in sporadic waterborne outbreaks, as well as due to the consumption of soft cheeses, Mexican-style foods and raw vegetables. The diseases vary from minor discomfort to a severe cholera-like syndrome. ETEC are acquired by ingestion of contaminated food and water, and adults in endemic areas evidently develop immunity. The disease requires colonization and elaboration of one or more enterotoxins. Both traits are plasmid-encoded.ETEC may produce a heat-labile enterotoxin (LT) that is similar in molecular size, sequence, antigenicity, and function to the cholera toxin (Ctx). It is an 86kDa protein composed of an enzymatically active (A) subunit surrounded by 5 identical binding (B) subunits. It binds to the same identical ganglioside receptors that are recognized by the cholera toxin (i.e., GM1), and its enzymatic activity is identical to that of the cholera toxin. ETEC may also produce a heat stable toxin (ST) that is of low molecular size and resistant to boiling for 30 minutes. There are several variants of ST, of which ST1a or STp is found in E. coli isolated from both humans and animals, while ST1b or STh is predominant in human isolates only. The ST enterotoxins are peptides of molecular weight about 4,000 daltons. Their small size explains why they are not inactivated by heat. ST causes an increase in cyclic GMP in host cell cytoplasm leading to the same effects as an increase in cAMP. ST1a is known to act by binding to a guanylate cyclase that is located on the apical membranes of host cells, thereby activating the enzyme. This leads to secretion of fluid and electrolytes resulting in diarrhea.The infective dose of ETEC for adults has been estimated to be at least 108 cells; but the young, the elderly and the infirm may be susceptible to lower numbers. ETEC adhesins are fimbriae which are species-specific. For example, the K-88 fimbrial Ag is found on strains from piglets; K-99 Ag is found on strains from calves and lambs; CFA I, and CFA II, are found on strains from humans. These fimbrial adhesins adhere to specific receptors on enterocytes of the proximal small intestine. Symptoms ETEC infections include diarrhea without fever. The bacteria colonize the GI tract by means of a fimbrial adhesin, e.g. CFA I and CFA II, and arenoninvasive, but produce either the LT or ST toxin. <> Not entirely guaranteed. If the roach crawled into the dish and drowned after the soup had cooled a bit, then more hazardous. Also, most of the bacteria are sequestered in the gut of the cockroach. The heat may not have good penetration into that area to kill all the bacteria. Not trying to scare our friend, just offering a scientific view. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 (edited) Okok thanks to the advices of our fellow kind-hearted forummers, I will not eat anything with cockroach in it anymore Edited June 29, 2016 by Weez911 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...