Heartlander Turbocharged April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 I have been reading the forum with great interest as it seems there are many many caring people still living on this planet. They have very strong views when it come to topics like spiralling housing cost, car prices, generally anything and eveything that cost money here. BUT, to me all these are cheap talk and mostly to serve some ulterior motives from what we can feel here. Why not we channel all this energy to doing something good that you can do now instead of waiting for the govetnment to step in to lead, which many will be quick to term as hypocisy. There might be things that are out of our control but there are also certain things that we can do within our means to improve the life here. Simple things like giving free tuition to helping out in old folks home or orphanages to donating cash and kind generously, etc. It should not be too difficult to do since most of people here seems to earn alot or are very free to be able to surf tbe forum the whole day. This is givingback to society if you like. And it need not be a publicise event, just need to pop into any needy organisation near your housing estate and ask how you can help. You can do it in your free time. Or our forum could adopt some needy home or have some annual charity events that can even serve to give free publicity to this forum. Everybody just give $50 only will be able to bring in a sizeable amount given the number of active members and their affluence level. I will definitely gladly make the donation if there is one. If we value this place as home, this is the least we can do to make it a better place instead of just comprain, comprain, and even more comprain which make the whiners look like old grandmothers and still not leading to anything as there are many variables and take a long time to achieve even if posdible. Mods, or anybody, want to start the ball rolling? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 Thanks. Yes, we have had som every good inputs, and I will add OmOm's reply here from one of the troll threads. We all love this country, but seems like our views are getting nought reception. The authorities are watching this site, but no action seems to be taken. Perhaps, we can, in our little ways help one another thru this platform with suggestions, etc? For the record, once ppl in this thread get out of line, the post will be deleted. Keep this thread clean, please! thank you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 I jioed before No one bothers...in the thread help poor Juz few hours donation Clinic free for oldies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 you are good!! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 if money is the issue, many of us has our limit. Will look at other issues that they have. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberpad April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 Thanks. Yes, we have had som every good inputs, and I will add OmOm's reply here from one of the troll threads. We all love this country, but seems like our views are getting nought reception. The authorities are watching this site, but no action seems to be taken. Perhaps, we can, in our little ways help one another thru this platform with suggestions, etc? For the record, once ppl in this thread get out of line, the post will be deleted. Keep this thread clean, please! thank you i honestly love my country too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 i honestly love my country too DIAM LAH PUNDEK :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberpad April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 I have been reading the forum with great interest as it seems there are many many caring people still living on this planet. They have very strong views when it come to topics like spiralling housing cost, car prices, generally anything and eveything that cost money here. BUT, to me all these are cheap talk and mostly to serve some ulterior motives from what we can feel here. Why not we channel all this energy to doing something good that you can do now instead of waiting for the govetnment to step in to lead, which many will be quick to term as hypocisy. There might be things that are out of our control but there are also certain things that we can do within our means to improve the life here. Simple things like giving free tuition to helping out in old folks home or orphanages to donating cash and kind generously, etc. It should not be too difficult to do since most of people here seems to earn alot or are very free to be able to surf tbe forum the whole day. This is givingback to society if you like. And it need not be a publicise event, just need to pop into any needy organisation near your housing estate and ask how you can help. You can do it in your free time. Or our forum could adopt some needy home or have some annual charity events that can even serve to give free publicity to this forum. Everybody just give $50 only will be able to bring in a sizeable amount given the number of active members and their affluence level. I will definitely gladly make the donation if there is one. If we value this place as home, this is the least we can do to make it a better place instead of just comprain, comprain, and even more comprain which make the whiners look like old grandmothers and still not leading to anything as there are many variables and take a long time to achieve even if posdible. Mods, or anybody, want to start the ball rolling? your intentions may be good but it will all come to nothing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberpad April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 DIAM LAH PUNDEK :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: why dont have that gif? i thought u store to use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 A good post from Omom: Singapore is facing a catch-22 situation. Our natives are not producing enough off-spring to replenish the local population. To compensate for this, present-day policies have been tuned to allow the replenishment to take place through naturalisation of foreigners who are interested in making Singapore their home. These foreigners come from competitive environments and/or have competitive mind-sets. As a result they demonstrate a competitive streak which makes the natives uncomfortable and unhappy. Much of the unhappiness arises from the competition in the following: i. housing ii. jobs iii. amenities iv. transportation The stiff competition in the above areas has led to higher housing prices, a perceived preference by companies for foreigners over natives, higher cost of commodities and daily-living as well as lower-quality commuting experience. The cumulative effect of all these is a vicious cycle in which young Singaporean couples are unable to or are reluctant to start families: i. they work long hours to appear competitive ii. the long hours exert a toll on their health and energy levels iii. there is an underlying fear that their offspring may not be able to live well in the present-day environment Should this vicious cycle be allowed to perpetuate, the end-result is on the wall - the number of children born of native Singaporeans will diminish rapidly and the need for the replenishment of the population through naturalisation of foreign imports will increase just as rapidly, causing even more unhappiness overall. As with all vicious cycles, the resolution is to break it somewhere along the chain. Amidst the angst, frustration and anger that have been vocalised by the young via social media, it would be idealistic to assume that the break in the vicious cycle can come from the natives. The only other entity in the equation who can take on the part of breaking the vicious cycle would be the government. Frankly, I personally believe the government is trying to break that cycle, albeit not very successfully. Through the close shave in the last General Elections, they have felt first-hand the repercussions of an unhappy populace. Had it not been the "cleverly" designed GRC system, they would have probably lost their majority seating in parliament. If things remain as they are, the situation would likely become even less favourable for them in the next GE. Recent measures such as the tweaking the hospitalisation subsidies (so that citizens have greater advantage over PRs in this area) by MOH as well as the school balloting and priority mechanisms by MOE are testament to their current inclination and desire to make changes. Sadly, while I think these target areas close to the hearts of Singaporeans, they do not have much impact in breaking the vicious cycle where improving the TFR is concerned. The recent trend of Xenophobia is not something that I am personally for - much as I think the huge influx of foreigners has played a large part in the increase of perceived unhappiness in the population, drastically reducing the numbers too rapidly will have a negative effect on the economy in general. It is akin to trying to remove a bullet lodged in one's flesh. It is important to extract it but if it is done incorrectly, it will rip open the flesh and cause more problems. Instead of ad-hoc and knee-jerk reactions in the form of sudden policy changes and reversals, it may be more viable to take a holistic approach in tackling the vicious cycle. What would constitute a holistic approach in this case? If I were the government, these would be the steps that I would take: a. apologise for the unhappiness to placate and calm down the population - however, do not just apologise in general, it is important to explain why the apology is being made. Identify the mistakes that have been made, spell out the details, chart out the steps that will be taken to resolve these mistakes, draw on the board the projected timeline for the resolutions to be made. b. come down from the ivory tower. Engage the population not just in name but in action. Extending on point a above: i. get active feedback from the population and not just through the grassroots (which has become a misnomer after all these years) ii. conduct polls with objectives, results and follow-up actions that are announced iii. tell people openly that their feedback, no matter how negative, as long as it is based on fact, will not subject them to reprisal iv. interview people from various walks of life to get their real views v. pool together volunteer experts in various areas who are willing to put in time, energy and resources to come up with the blueprint for Revamping Singapore. c. cut down on the "wayang" and work hard on what matters. Reduce the frequency of superficial events that do not have much bearing on real pressing issues. Ministers who have to function as MPs for their own constituencies are also human beings and their time and energy each day is finite. Take them out of such events and let them focus on what truly matters - solving the problems that people are facing. d. increase the emphasis on moral values, ethics and spirituality, especially for the young. Do not just focus on the academics. Without these as the foundation, any edifice, no matter how impressive looking it may be, will eventually crumble and fall. It is especially important that these are re-focused on for our young since they will grow up to become the next generation of leaders and people of Singapore. e. Trying to develop graciousness in the population without having the corresponding development of Compassion is just putting the cart before the horse. Also, Compassion is not something that can be taught; it can only be inculcated through sharing. When Compassion sets in, graciousness automatically follows. It is an important pillar of any society, past, present or future. I am neither a politician nor am I an elite. However, I do know that Singapore is going through the biggest set of challenges since Independence in 1965. Born and bred in Singapore, I wish for the country to continue to grow and thrive, and at the same time, help her people grow and thrive - not just materially and physically but also emotionally and spiritually. And these are my two cents worth of observations and suggestions. QUOTE (Rubberpad @ Apr 27 2012, 10:12 AM) My name is Rubber. And this is my plea to you. Love your country. I am a Singaporean male. I was neither blessed with a silver spoon nor cursed with a empty life at birth. My parents came from humbler beginning and have taught me everything good parents should impart to their children. I went on to school, made friends, fell in love, fell out love and eventually got married. My parents grew old as time went by and i soon will become a parent myself. Here i am now, reading in utter dismay and with a tinge of disgust on how my fellow singaporeans feel such strong distaste for the government. And so I questioned myself. I sat my wife down and asked "Are you happy living here?" I pleaded for her honesty. She drew close to me and with an impish smile, she whispered "Yes, we are Singaporeans". No doubt we have problems with transportation, rising housing prices, too many FT... But we are blessed with no wars, no riots, low unemployment, low crime rate, low taxes, low food prices etc.. So let me put this question to you, would you rather be born elsewhere? As for me, there is no other country but Singapore. And i have to thank the PAP who has steered Singapore to where she is now. Please spread this to your friends Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberpad April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 Thanks i owe you a kopi (while discussing my promotion to a Mod) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 Thanks i owe you a kopi (while discussing my promotion to a Mod) u lucky u will be alive by today Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberpad April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 u lucky u will be alive by today sure will one....i am going expo soon. so no chance to post liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleknown Clutched April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 What if I put in time and effort to help those in need...then I reflect on why those in need need help..I realise it is because government did not do more .. and then I realise I can help a few people for a few hours but so what, if the top management got mandate then no worry... and the worst part is.. The people I talk about is not the very poor.. but the lower middle class.. I can't do much but no choice so jusz raise concerns online.. about how this country has become a company.. Maybe heartlander can help me untie knot in my heart.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 u lucky u will be alive by today now now, saturday is non working day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberpad April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 this thread deserves better discussion, TS, you should facilitate this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 Thanks. Yes, we have had som every good inputs, and I will add OmOm's reply here from one of the troll threads. We all love this country, but seems like our views are getting nought reception. The authorities are watching this site, but no action seems to be taken. Perhaps, we can, in our little ways help one another thru this platform with suggestions, etc? For the record, once ppl in this thread get out of line, the post will be deleted. Keep this thread clean, please! thank you Thanks for your positive comments. And it need not be expensive. An example would be a Christmas party for orphans. If some people are willing to do the logistic works of organising one, i am sure many will be more than happy to donate say $100 to buy presents which the orphans could specify. It will make the kids very happy. And it could lead to free tuitions for the kids or monthly activities to do bonding while doing meaningful works. And it will be easier if the mod team is to start the ball rolling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 Thanks for your positive comments. And it need not be expensive. An example would be a Christmas party for orphans. If some people are willing to do the logistic works of organising one, i am sure many will be more than happy to donate say $100 to buy presents which the orphans could specify. It will make the kids very happy. And it could lead to free tuitions for the kids or monthly activities to do bonding while doing meaningful works. And it will be easier if the mod team is to start the ball rolling. may well be one of those corporate social thingies......and MCF /sgcarmart represent as an entity. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...