Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 SEE LAH.... you have a $1 million flat, can downgrade to $500K flat in ulu places mah, still comprain Downgrade to 2-room flat arh ? with 3 kids, 1 maid, 2 wives where go place to procreate ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 At the state of our public transport nowadays... It actually seemed quite normal to stay as close to your working place as possible.. I'm rather lucky because my 90% of the industry i work in is found in the west side. And CCK is one of the cheapest around. Even Punggol waterways is more expensive.. I know lot of ppl working in the west died died want to live mature estate near the city. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 In some cases, due to specific conditions relating to some individuals, they may be in a situation where moving up the salary scale may bring more pain than gain. I know of ppl who refuse to move up to get grant for buying a brand new lcd tv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 Downgrade to 2-room flat arh ? with 3 kids, 1 maid, 2 wives where go place to procreate ? $500K can buy 5-room flat ok !! then another $300K for a 3-room in opposit block for the 2nd wife wait... 3 kids from same wife? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 (edited) Edited April 27, 2012 by Cars08 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 cck area mansionette 500-600 the most Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 I know lot of ppl working in the west died died want to live mature estate near the city. nbz.. the further away from city i am, the happier i'll be.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 i stay in west work in west i avoid working at town at all cost from all my past jobs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 When you said " ........ I am probably somewhere in the middle 50%, and choose not to have kids partly because I think an average person has a bleak future in Singapore. " it sent a shiver down my spine. You will never know the joy I have experienced being a father of two wonderful sons. This is very sad indeed. The general perception everywhere seems to be that this goverment has a great penchant and talent to hijack everything and anything and turn them into fat, cash cows, and that they would stop at nothing to milk or bilk everyone for all they are worth. The frustration and anger is palpable. ( To Heartlander - this is the crux of the issue in the blog. Understand? Still blur?) Anyway, don't stop believing and hoping. Wish you well. When I read his post I what like "huh?" He and wife are DINKS - probably have enough money to enjoy themselves and say : Chose not to have Kids as SG future is Bleak ? I guess not rich enough to emigrate ? unless the other countries also Bleak future... These people - Garment Lurve and Hate them at the same time. Good Cows to Milk. But No calves to milk later.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 The Gahmen is trying to make the bottom 25% stop reproducing. I think it should go one step further and provide free sterilisation/contraception for those below certain income level. can always import 35k a year instead of 25k Having said that, before people consider me elitist, I am probably somewhere in the middle 50%, and choose not to have kids partly because I think an average person has a bleak future in Singapore. Having more than one kid in SG, unless household income approaches 5 figures, is really quite a stretch. This assumes that the parents don't shirk their duties and spend what is required on their kids, and finance their kids through at least a local university education. Having been fortunate enough to have a father who slogged to bring us on holidays, I think holidays are a necessity too, though not necessarily lavish holidays to exotic locales. And all these that I have mentioned, I don't think it's too much to ask, especially since we have been promised by a certain minister that we would enjoy the "Swiss standard of living" Actually, things only went out of control from 2005 onwards. The '97 crisis gave my generation to catch up bec housing went back to a much saner level relative to income. I really feel sorry for those who grad in the last few years or were preparing to get hitched and had already laid out plans were just going to act on it and got caught out big time. I don't need Swiss standard. I was pretty happy with Singapore standard in 2004. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 as mentioned, raise the freaking rates and see everything fall back into place. Agreed wholeheartedly. A lot of reckless speculation. When the time comes, hope not too much blood spilled and dead bodies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 $500K can buy 5-room flat ok !! then another $300K for a 3-room in opposit block for the 2nd wife wait... 3 kids from same wife? Sori sori 1 wife and 2 maids... sori sori... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 i stay in west work in west i avoid working at town at all cost from all my past jobs After taking trains and buses to town on Mon and Tues... i told me gf.. "I rather kena thrown to the most ulu corner in Tuas to work than city area"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 Sori sori 1 wife and 2 maids... sori sori... the 2 maids are also part-time mistress right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 really headache...*pop panadol pills* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 Sori sori 1 wife and 2 maids... sori sori... Freudian slip say Freudian slip lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 i stay in west work in west i avoid working at town at all cost from all my past jobs Same here, west or north. No where else Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 27, 2012 Share April 27, 2012 Allow me to share my experience... I just booked a 5-room at CCK around 3 weeks ago. Flat cost me 351k for a mid-floor unit. Since me and gf graduated not too long ago (and even while studying, she has been working with prudential for a good 2yrs), our combined income is slightly shy of 4k, we qualify for about 30-35k of additional grant. Therefore, the 10% downpayment has been taken care of. The monthly installment for the flat over 30yrs will be around 1.2k, of which, around 70% will be paid from CPF. The rest is cash topup. What i don't understand is why HDB don't sell flats at cost (or slightly above cost) rather than taking market rate and taking about 50k off the price? Is it purely to prevent buyers to make a handsome profit after the 5yr MOP is up? When you're doing business, you want to push the retail price as high as possible. Then you give a discount (which can be taken away any time) which makes your price look good. You don't want to "spoil the market" by selling at a low price in the first place. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...