LOL.Online battle between Tan Chuan-Jin and Bloggers begun!

Rongerald

" I don't need Swiss standard. I was pretty happy with Singapore standard in 2004. " Can't agree more with you. Take a good look around at what's happening, not just here in this corner of the world, but elsewhere too. We need to pause, reflect and see where we have gone so terribly wrong and whether we need to reset the clock back some time. Governments need to be open, receptive to opinions, act in good faith, be courageous to admit wrong when they are wrong, and not take everyone for fools. In Yahoo News, online forums, print media, everywhere, there is so much outpouring of anger and bitterness at the current state of affairs. In many respects, they are not wrong. But it is also important not to lose sight of the fact we can't take everything out on the foreigners. It wouldn't be fair. If we lose that, what would we be? In this time of anger is also a time to understand.

It's not the foreigners fault indeed. It's the fault of whoever let them in, in such quantities.

If the number of PRCs were manageable, I'm sure we could learn to love them [sly]

PAPies, please let us know if your policys are made in such a way that salary will be stagnant while prices of property and cars and other aspect will keep appreciating until there were no more poor people in singapore, in that case all poor will be replaced by foreigners that are more wealthier. Thanks. [rifle]

Seems that way, now that u mentioned [laugh]

But what if, what if you just gave them the idea????? [knife]

That minister didn't say when we will enjoy Swiss standard of living, ie open-ended promise...and wishy washy..... We just have to continue working hard and wait, and keep waiting....... Meanwhile, the goal poles keep moving, prices shooting up many times faster than incomes no matter how hard the person works

Correct me if he did give a date.

U are good. PAP will be contacting u shortly [laugh][thumbsup]

Those aren't rumours. Just shooting from the hip, I'll admit. But we have to admit that HDB is not too forgiving when $$ is concerned

they are more forgiving than your standard bank.

Edited by Joseph22

bro, 2 points I wanna make. My combined income was like wise during that time. my wife's CPF paid for a big chunk, so the loan amount was lowered. I just took the lowest period possible to pay. we are more comfortable now, but I still shy away from pte condos.

2nd point - 30 year loan is not wrong. but the smarter ones will accumulate savings of 20k to 30k and make 1 time payments to reduce the loan capital outstanding. I mention this becos it is incredible to me some folks dun even know how to calculate interest on their loans.

My gut feel is that Shull could probably afford 20 year loan, instead of 30. I just want to caution against the monthly payment as a means of affordability, which is what the Minister is trying to imply. By doing this, he sounds like every SE I have met in every show room.

I started with a 10-year loan (or maybe 15? can't remember). paid off in under 5 years, but mine special case. [sly]. No i don't earn a lot nor do I have inheritance or rich parents/spouse

not sure how banks work. but HDB will not penalise for 'early redemption'. or if they do, i was too gong to realise. But they did refund the interest that i would otherwise have paid.

So for Shull, possibly can afford 20 year loan, but take 30 to be safe, and when his income goes up, maybe paid off in 15 years, who knows?

Edited by Boyboy

I wonder whether those who reaped lots of profits from re-selling their HDB complaining [laugh] Imagine first owners who bought their HDB in the '80s @ less than 100k, now they resell it like 400k [laugh]

The PRs cashing out sure happy lah..

Sinkies who are happy about this need to get their head examined. sooner or later, they or their future generations will be buying another property, at a similar inflated price. good luck to them [laugh]

How to? my arrogance is second to yours. [laugh]

I dunno which of the two camps are right but u two are damn entertaining.

PLEASE enjoy the weekend u jokers [grouphug]

There are incentives for the bottom 10% to reproduce less (for their own good lah) but of course it is not so nice to widely publisize this..

Actually, living within ones means should (and in my book, does) extend to how many kids one should have.

Definitely I cannot maintain my current hobbies and lifestyle and still afford to have kids and be a responsible parent :D

But some will say that it's a right to have kids, so how?

I really dunno man... Thankfully I not scholar who will have this kind of problem sitting on my plate. not even for a few million dollars a year

that's why I always wonder...change chef for fcuk?

Only difference is 1 keep insisting chicken rice is still affordable (just take 30+ yr loan) and the other can blog.

Got improve lah..

Whether it's improved to "good enough", is another story. let the voters decide. I'm sure the new citizens will do the right thing [knife]

they are more forgiving than your standard bank.

Wow! That's something we shouldn't take for granted eh? The sheer benevolence of HDB!!!! :wub:[rolleyes]

from my experience, young couples are buying bto at between 320 to 350K and taking 80% loan for 30 years, their pay about 2.2K a month each, installment can be from their cpf since it's stretch 30 years...I really envy them, I wanna buy bto govt don't let me buy.

Uncle Vtim, join them lah..

My dad said to find a place with golf course n fishing nearby. so he got things to do when he come to visit in future. I think shouldn't be too hard.

my wife did consider of joining them, most likely will be with the daughter than any of the 3 boys :D

I dunno which of the two camps are right but u two are damn entertaining.

PLEASE enjoy the weekend u jokers [grouphug]

Hope you had fun, i did.

^_^

Its not able living within your means. At such a high price for property now, what is within your means. People are paying so much money for a roof over the head as compared to years ago. Salary on the other side is never on par with housing price. People are paying more and working more in order to purchase a home. My parents generation, money is well spent to purchase a 3rm flat, given the salary of workers now, its was a big big burden to purchase a 3 rm flat please. Many of us dont realised we are being rip off of all your CPF savings just to serivce housing loan with the current price of property. Salary must be increase in order for singaporean to reduce such stress.

I agree to some points made by TCJ, but I think it is how living within your means nowadays means getting less bang for your buck that is the cause of the unhappiness. If wages are keeping up with rising cost, the issue will not be so serious, but now I really feel poorer than 5 years ago because of escalating prices.

Will u buy a flat in jurong due to lower price, living within yr means, when u work in changi?

To make it worst u don drive? Meaning one will need to travel maybe 2 hrs to work and 2 hrs back home by public transport.

Its not able living within your means. At such a high price for property now, what is within your means. People are paying so much money for a roof over the head as compared to years ago. Salary on the other side is never on par with housing price. People are paying more and working more in order to purchase a home. My parents generation, money is well spent to purchase a 3rm flat, given the salary of workers now, its was a big big burden to purchase a 3 rm flat please. Many of us dont realised we are being rip off of all your CPF savings just to serivce housing loan with the current price of property. Salary must be increase in order for singaporean to reduce such stress.

thread digger!!!!! :excl::ph34r: