LOL.Online battle between Tan Chuan-Jin and Bloggers begun!

Rongerald

in order to please the majority and gain support

let look at these angles

in the next election if too many citizen wants to buy housing but could not afford due to upward spiral cost and less than majority have already own one

can you guess

will the price go up or down for housing

you cant please everyone

but most importantly

you please the majority

and that whats all it take

best way to sort this out is to remove the "mature estates" or not thing.

charge ALL HDBs 1 standard price based on number of square feet.

so a 100 square feet at tpy will cost the same as 1 in cck.

of course set a median price between both locations so price so it wont overshoot beyond control.

Pitching up a tent at East coast and camping out may soon be "living within means" if HDB prices keep spiraling up at this rate.

I just felt that the term "living within means" has been loosely used and exploited to brush off social issues.

There is a great difference for instance, cannot afford condo then go for a HDB (I do not mean to say hdb is reasonably affordable here, just an example), and cannot afford HDB go pitch a tent in the park.

It's issues that PAP appears to turn a blind eye to and playing around with words.

If in the first place they do not claim to be world class blah blah blah and together with mainstream media conjure up b-------ts statistics then perhaps there would not be so much mumblings on the ground.

It's really animal farm here in sunny Singapore.

Allow me to share my experience... I just booked a 5-room at CCK around 3 weeks ago. Flat cost me 351k for a mid-floor unit.

Since me and gf graduated not too long ago (and even while studying, she has been working with prudential for a good 2yrs), our combined income is slightly shy of 4k, we qualify for about 30-35k of additional grant. Therefore, the 10% downpayment has been taken care of.

The monthly installment for the flat over 30yrs will be around 1.2k, of which, around 70% will be paid from CPF. The rest is cash topup.

What i don't understand is why HDB don't sell flats at cost (or slightly above cost) rather than taking market rate and taking about 50k off the price? Is it purely to prevent buyers to make a handsome profit after the 5yr MOP is up?

Cpf - nothing - maybe 20/30k max

Monthly income - $4k combined

Firstly, HLE approve your loan?

Secondly, y not buy somewhere cheaper?

No wonder the property price never go down because many youngest took so much loans.

I guess that every $1 growth in GDP = $4 borrowing.

yeah they are hitted very hard now a day. their only bet is getting new from hdb they arent exactly cheap and waiting time is long.

But, the situation for HDB now is catch 22 liao. All because of one horse [mad]

Not just one, many many. Look at it, the immigrant policy has hit not only housing, also public and private transport, education, hospitals, etc. Look around, what issues have we now not caused by that?

Since everywhere in the world is more or less facing issues, so actually terms like first world, first class, developed nation, world class are simply meaningless.

The world is ruled by elite, politicians and businessmen. The so-called leaders are few and far between. In fact I can't even think of one in power now. How about Bhutan?

Just read my signature on earth sufficiency on basic needs and greed.

Edited by Phluvcat

In 1973,

a 4 room flat (92 sq m) is $15.5K

a plate of chicken rice is 70 cents.

a fresh poly grad pay is $400 pm.

a minister pay is 3-4k pm, about 40K per year.

In 2012

same flat is $300K. (19x)

chicken rice $3.00 (4x)

salary poly grad $1.4 to $1.8K pm (4.5x)

minister pay say $1 m per year (25x)

The increase in multiple of salary is insufficient compared to increase in everything else. Just take HDB price, together with interest will negate the other positives.

I just felt that the term "living within means" has been loosely used and exploited to brush off social issues.

There is a great difference for instance, cannot afford condo then go for a HDB (I do not mean to say hdb is reasonably affordable here, just an example), and cannot afford HDB go pitch a tent in the park.

It's issues that PAP appears to turn a blind eye to and playing around with words.

If in the first place they do not claim to be world class blah blah blah and together with mainstream media conjure up b-------ts statistics then perhaps there would not be so much mumblings on the ground.

It's really animal farm here in sunny Singapore.

When a public housing body sells flats based excessively on private housing prices, and tells its customers to "live within their means", it's like a public hospital charging it's patients close to private hospitals rates and tells them "you die, your business".

We know land cost in both public and private housing developments is a major cost component, when the public housing body uses private land values to price it's flats, at least a factor for reduction should be applied to the values to fulfill the "public" mission.

The increase in multiple of salary is insufficient compared to increase in everything else. Just take HDB price, together with interest will negate the other positives.

The biggest-ticket item a person/family faces ie buying a home has the biggest increase, a staggering 19 times!! We love you, mr horse!

Someone shld just nudge PM and get him to read this thread since hes now into social media. This is what the population is talking about, not what his Ministars n PR guys are telling him.

while you guys live within your mean, this guy has a $39 million WEEKEND HOUSE in sentosa cove :D:D

I don't understand why on one hand govt ask pple to live within their means but media keeps glorifying lifestyle of the elite and rich...

what is the objective? create envy? make pple discontented and not live within their means? put spurs into the citizens? entertainment (if you can call that)?

they wana tell why others can do it,we cant..

instead keep posting online comprain

extra time if wana lead comfortable life,can create more income etc etc

well..as usual,we want gahment provide us :D

as mentioned, raise the freaking rates and see everything fall back into place.

Many in the herd that bought in the past couple of years will suffer but more imptly to the govt, banks facing high rate of default... not acceptable for them I believe

they wana tell why others can do it,we cant..

instead keep posting online comprain

extra time if wana lead comfortable life,can create more income etc etc

well..as usual,we want gahment provide us :D

imho the gap is too wide now. glorifying these people will only encourage certain pple to take shortcuts to attain the unattainable e.g. more teenage prostitutes, corruption cases with amounts getting higher and higher while demoralizing others and making them cynical about life.

I believe that even many SME bosses also cannot afford a $36 million house and that is with the wealth they accumulated and worked hard for their whole lives. what hope for the working masses to afford such lifestyles of such elites?

Like what peter lim said if I remember correctly, first $10million is possible to attain through hard work, but to have $100 million is fate or luck or life whatever you want to call it.

Edited by Enye

so how 10million come about first?at least SME bosses tried and work for it ? instead salary workers keep saying $ not enuff?

in first place,how many forgo the risk of current pay to try?

thats how i view it

Edited by Freestylers09