Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/26/2012 at 5:10 PM, Neutralsg said: I used to enjoy good Indian mee goreng which used to be very tasty back in the 60s and 70s. However, I find it difficult to find similar tasty mee goreng today which at the same time tend to be more oily. The earlier mee goreng had simple ingredients such as: a) big onion b) chye sim c) potatoe d) taukwa (yellow beancurd) e) fresh tomato f) green chilli g) Cucumber as topping with tomato sauce over it fried together with tomato, red chilli sauce, BLACK SOYA SAUCE and with or without egg. Missed out this important sauce which enhances the flavour. How on earth can I forget this. Overlooked again - Cucumber as topping with tomato sauce over it. However, today's mee goreng ingredients tend to consist of: a) big onion b) cabbage c) corn d) fish cake e) prawn (yes and no) f) potatoe g) fresh green or red chilli fried together with tomato and red chilli sauce and with or without egg h) Cucumber as topping with tomato sauce over it Apparently, the additional ingredients tend to have an adverse affect on the taste of today's mee goreng as opposed to what I used to have. Therefore, can anyone recommend where good mee goreng can currently be found within Singapore as I've yet to find one to date? Cheers! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 7:30 AM, Raymondism said: like this? but he added some cuttlefish the "chef" will rotate the wok from time to time to let the heat be evenly spread... btw he is squeezing lime can look for it if u visit penang... its just before u reach khoo kongsi might be abit too ecofriendly though No. That's too oily. Also not dry / 'chiak' enough. When I have a chance to make a good recommendation, I will definitely share with folks here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 7:51 AM, Forgot2bme said: Anybody tried the indian stall at tampines prime foodcourt S11.. Always long queue! Bro, you advertising your lighting for mee goreng sellers or what? Anyway, been there but cannot remember if tried the mee goreng except their rojak which is what most customers are queuing for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 7:58 AM, Nightkids said: Let me contribute also..... Bukit Batok Blk 373, there is a coffeeshop beside Prime Supermarket. The mee goreng is Other than mee goreng merah, his bee hoon goreng merah, nasi goreng merah or putih all very tasty ask for ikan bilis......EVEN MORE SHIOK !!!!! Oh ya......the kopi / kopi O is nice as well...... Thanks Nightkids! for the recommendation. Will add this when I update the list and will certainly make an effort to try. Thanks again and have a great weekend! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/26/2012 at 9:55 PM, Snowblind said: Good luck trying to match food taste from older days. I'm still comparing and complaining a lot of dishes. Especially Malay food like mee Siam, mee rebus, mee soto and lontong. Can't seem to even find a decent nasi lemak nowadays. Either bland or too famous=expensive yet not up to expectation. You can try reading thru ieatishoot blog, they got quite a number of recommendations. A few of my friends were saying the similar thing just last week. We were eating roti prata and all of us find the 'standard' curry of today is spicier but a lot less flavorsome and lack texture compared to those served in the 70's/80's or even mid 90's. Those 'standard' curry of old used to potato, chicken bits and probably a wider variety of spices. Maybe local taste has changed....all people want know is the hotter the better. Doesn't matter so much if the hotter chilli almost completely overpowered the flavour of the food. I find a lot of our hawker food (except some of those old-timer hawkers) is very 'one-dimensional'. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 7:03 AM, Raymondism said: see liao hungry right.... I'm cooking tomorrow. [sunny] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 7:08 AM, Neutralsg said: 1) The cups are always done by wife. We avoid buying outside and yes, we do more and keep for own consumption. For info, if the cups are somewhat soft because it's container is not airtight, you can revive its crispiness by heating them up them in a toaster. 2) What picture is that? Didn't come across one before 3) Grater - Not the same and we used to have. Can you post a pic of yours? Perhaps, I can recognise if it is similar to the one I have in mind. Btw, do you still use grengseng to make agar agar, sesagoon etc..? Thanks! Bro. cups kept in the fridge, will stay dry and crispy, reheat when needed in oven. 30 degrees, 10mins, preheat. That is a old coconut grater, I have a similar one as well, inside my store room lah. What's grengseng? I don't make agar agar. If you look at the picture, its a seat where you sit on, and grate the coconut with the metal part. These were used in household many years ago. The other site is selling this sort of stuff. Unless you're talking about the "knuckle buster" which looks like this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 8:15 AM, Neutralsg said: Thanks Nightkids! for the recommendation. Will add this when I update the list and will certainly make an effort to try. Thanks again and have a great weekend! No Problem Bro Neutralsg......good things must share mah.... Heard that the roti prata also very nice but never tried before..... Try liao let me know..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 You, my Mee Goreng friend, is going to have a very very difficult time, finding the ideal and perfect mee goreng. Cook your own lah. You're as anal as i'am when it comes to food. Wahahaha! Join the "Picky about my food" club. And yes, I agree fish cakes seafood, kumbeng scraps (eeeewww) CORN, cabbage are no no in mee goreng. The shredded chicken which I wrote is optional, but it does soak up and give the mee goreng flavor. eggs to be added last mixed into the mee goreng, sticks to the noodle. YUM! Tomato ketchu use Delmont. Oldest brand! Pork lard! On 4/28/2012 at 7:16 AM, Neutralsg said: Usually, I don't want following in my mee goreng: a) meat b) corn c) cabbage d) sunny side up e) any form of seafood meat - fishcake, prawns etc.. Green chillies must be well fried together with the mee goreng instead of using it as a topping. I will also ask for dry rather than wet mee goreng. Some will understand while other may not. Those who understand will also ensure that it's not too oily. Problem is often the quality of ingredients they use. For e.g., some chilli sauce are too salty and not spicy. Should be spicy, yet not salty. Different grades of tomato sauce too. Some too sweet while some are just not sweet which is good for the mee goreng. Just sharing based on my experience with good and not good mee goreng. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 The red coloring is from the tomato sauce, nothing else. On 4/28/2012 at 7:24 AM, Kiadaw said: Long thread, but since you have the list of ingredients that make a good Mee Goreng, maybe you can try also making the mee goreng yourself. Then you can put whatever ingredients you desired. I am guessing the red sause is a little more tricky, but I am sure you can find an Indian friend to show you how it is made. Then the rest will be experimenting I guess. Now that you listed the ingredient, I may try it myself. 60-70 is not my era, so I can't comment on the taste, but I see how I can do it. I did a search & there are quite many links to cooking the Indian style Mee goreng. Like this video. Ok liao, I will buy noodles & ingredients & try to make it over the weekend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 I ate at this place, not bad. On 4/28/2012 at 7:30 AM, Raymondism said: like this? but he added some cuttlefish the "chef" will rotate the wok from time to time to let the heat be evenly spread... btw he is squeezing lime can look for it if u visit penang... its just before u reach khoo kongsi might be abit too ecofriendly though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 7:51 AM, Forgot2bme said: Anybody tried the indian stall at tampines prime foodcourt S11.. Always long queue! See my PM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 (edited) On 4/28/2012 at 8:59 AM, Mazdaowner said: Bro. cups kept in the fridge, will stay dry and crispy, reheat when needed in oven. 30 degrees, 10mins, preheat. That is a old coconut grater, I have a similar one as well, inside my store room lah. What's grengseng? I don't make agar agar. If you look at the picture, its a seat where you sit on, and grate the coconut with the metal part. These were used in household many years ago. The other site is selling this sort of stuff. Unless you're talking about the "knuckle buster" which looks like this? A BIG YES!!! Haven't seen one in decades. Anywhere can get these days? Thanks for the photo! Bro. I'll download the photo and bring it along with me when I do my search for one. Cheers! You really make my day! P/S: I'll take a photo of the grengseng and post it here later. Regarding the cups suggestion, thanks! Will do that if the fridge can be free up. Edited April 28, 2012 by Neutralsg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 9:24 AM, Neutralsg said: A BIG YES!!! Haven't seen one in decades. Anywhere can get these days? Thanks for the photo! Bro. I'll download the photo and bring it along with me when I do my search for one. Cheers! You really make my day! Ah! So this is the one. it's also a vegetable shredder, carrots etc. Beach Road market, back facing main road, right hand side, across the Beach Road Market, rows of old shops, 3-4 of them sell kitchen wares, they should have this available. One antique seller went there and bought off them 3 tengkat (tiffin carrier) and sold them online as antiques. (Well, they were, really old stock) To add, these were made of aluminum or iron, I remember they always ended up rusty if I recollect proper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 9:09 AM, Mazdaowner said: You, my Mee Goreng friend, is going to have a very very difficult time, finding the ideal and perfect mee goreng. Cook your own lah. You're as anal as i'am when it comes to food. Wahahaha! Join the "Picky about my food" club. And yes, I agree fish cakes seafood, kumbeng scraps (eeeewww) CORN, cabbage are no no in mee goreng. The shredded chicken which I wrote is optional, but it does soak up and give the mee goreng flavor. eggs to be added last mixed into the mee goreng, sticks to the noodle. YUM! Tomato ketchu use Delmont. Oldest brand! Pork lard! Cannot disagree with you on that lah. Definitely will cook lah. Just that it's not possible all the time when one wants a quick meal outside. I forgot you don't usually eat out. There, I'm not as anal lah. Only skip my meals sometimes and have lunch and dinner at one go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 9:32 AM, Neutralsg said: Cannot disagree with you on that lah. Definitely will cook lah. Just that it's not possible all the time when one wants a quick meal outside. I forgot you don't usually eat out. There, I'm not as anal lah. Only skip my meals sometimes and have lunch and dinner at one go. Ok lah, I win. You just can get good old fashioned food anymore bro. Thus best to self cook. Can't go wrong there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 9:29 AM, Mazdaowner said: Ah! So this is the one. it's also a vegetable shredder, carrots etc. Beach Road market, back facing main road, right hand side, across the Beach Road Market, rows of old shops, 3-4 of them sell kitchen wares, they should have this available. One antique seller went there and bought off them 3 tengkat (tiffin carrier) and sold them online as antiques. (Well, they were, really old stock) Thank you very much, bro. You are obviously a reliable source and resourceful too when it comes to such matters. kumsiah! kumsiah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 9:34 AM, Mazdaowner said: Ok lah, I win. You just cant get good old fashioned food anymore bro. Thus best to self cook. Can't go wrong there. I cannot agree with you more on that. That's one reason why my family and I never miss my family functions / gatherings whenever it crops up. Always get the authentic food I used to when mother was still around. Cheers! Gotta go now. Take care Bro! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...