Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/27/2012 at 7:11 PM, GPunto said: how about the bus mee rubus? i like the one at marine parade food court and bedok hawker center The mee rebus at Bedok HC? Are you referring to Upp Changi Road HC Blk 58? If so, yes. It's economical and definitely value for $$$. Prices - $1.20, $1.5 up to $2.0 per plate. Weekends usually finished before 1-1.30 p.m. if not earlier. Marine Parade - where? Maybe originated from Siglap? Have tried any good mee goreng? Got chance to recommend? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 5:58 AM, Neutralsg said: By this, I presume you to mean "tapioca"? If so, it should be a good alternative to the flour and will give it a try. Thanks for sharing. BTW, any idea where I can get a coconut grater because often coconut in packets or from market/provision shops are not as fresh as if you do it on your own. Used to have one but somehow lost (when moving house) which was in galvanised steel purely for grating. Yes, sorry, Tapioca. Grated coconut, only commercial ones, not worth it, go to the wet markets, they have WHITE grated coconut for kuay kuay. Open packetand keep in chiller till you need to use it. (within a day or next still fine. The manual grater can be found in Gelany Serai, I don't know if it's still sold there now, I still have mine, hand down, along with love letter cast and kuay pie tee maker as well. Kuay pie tee is a killer to make 100-200 cups. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 5:59 AM, Neutralsg said: Bro, didn't know Italians also use Peranakan slangs. [laugh] Betul2 cekek darah huh. My malay is limited to spoken, not written, bro. My elder spoke to me in hakka and peranakan malay. Hakka was two different types, Indonesian and Local. Italians nor is *ahem* not cooking THAT nor2 we *ahem* know. That one is BEST eaten raw. *ahem* Cook and lu sudah mait lagi! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 6:01 AM, Raymondism said: http://static.soshiok.com/critic/article/16599 maybe u try some of these also.. Ray, this one looks power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 6:01 AM, Raymondism said: http://static.soshiok.com/critic/article/16599 maybe u try some of these also.. Hi Ray, Thank you very much for the relevant link. Ajimer Sharif - Block 665 Buffalo Road, Tekka Centre, #01-25 looks good. Will have to try. Guess this is one of the few which Donut refers to. Thanks again! and have a nice weekend! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 6:16 AM, Mazdaowner said: Yes, sorry, Tapioca. Grated coconut, only commercial ones, not worth it, go to the wet markets, they have WHITE grated coconut for kuay kuay. Open packetand keep in chiller till you need to use it. (within a day or next still fine. The manual grater can be found in Gelany Serai, I don't know if it's still sold there now, I still have mine, hand down, along with love letter cast and kuay pie tee maker as well. Kuay pie tee is a killer to make 100-200 cups. 1) Been there but couldn't find. Will continue to search because it beats buying grated coconut outside. 2) Love letter & kueh pie tee cast - Yeah. The ones in brass? 3) Kueh pie tie - I am still privileged for home made ones. Only the effort to create the cups can be a killer and time consuming if you want it to look nice to appeal to the eyes. Also, it should not be thick. Factory made ones cannot match lah. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 6:31 AM, Neutralsg said: 1) Been there but couldn't find. Will continue to search because it beats buying grated coconut outside. 2) Love letter & kueh pie tee cast - Yeah. The ones in brass? 3) Kueh pie tie - I am still privileged for home made ones. Only the effort to create the cups can be a killer and time consuming if you want it to look nice to appeal to the eyes. Also, it should not be thick. Factory made ones cannot match lah. Cheers! The love letters and pie tee moulds are made of cast iron, not brass. If making Pie tee cups, you have to go the whole damn mile bro. the amount of oil used to make the cups, if you make like 50, don't even bother, doesn't justify, also, 50 don't LAST more then 2mins. know. commercial ones have a weird smell, the oil used doesn't cut it, and it's not fresh. Believe they were known as : Kukor nyur or close to that tune. Hahaha! Here! They sell it still. http://culinarysupplies.org/products_all.h...mp;disp_order=1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 6:20 AM, Mazdaowner said: Ray, this one looks power. see liao hungry right.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 6:23 AM, Neutralsg said: Hi Ray, Thank you very much for the relevant link. Ajimer Sharif - Block 665 Buffalo Road, Tekka Centre, #01-25 looks good. Will have to try. Guess this is one of the few which Donut refers to. Thanks again! and have a nice weekend! guess so.. i hvnt tried any of those :p need to know which stalls to go cos there will be many "clones" around.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene Neutral Newbie April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 Did anyone mention the mee goreng at clementi ave 2? The one oppo CK or near sunset way. Miss this place and the food. Will usually go there for nasi lemak or mee goreng after my dance. .... with a cup of teh tarik. Best time to go.... after midnight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 6:51 AM, Mazdaowner said: The love letters and pie tee moulds are made of cast iron, not brass. If making Pie tee cups, you have to go the whole damn mile bro. the amount of oil used to make the cups, if you make like 50, don't even bother, doesn't justify, also, 50 don't LAST more then 2mins. know. commercial ones have a weird smell, the oil used doesn't cut it, and it's not fresh. Believe they were known as : Kukor nyur or close to that tune. Hahaha! Here! They sell it still. http://culinarysupplies.org/products_all.h...mp;disp_order=1 1) The cups are always done by wife. We avoid buying outside and yes, we do more and keep for own consumption. For info, if the cups are somewhat soft because it's container is not airtight, you can revive its crispiness by heating them up them in a toaster. 2) What picture is that? Didn't come across one before 3) Grater - Not the same and we used to have. Can you post a pic of yours? Perhaps, I can recognise if it is similar to the one I have in mind. Btw, do you still use grengseng to make agar agar, sesagoon etc..? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 7:04 AM, Raymondism said: guess so.. i hvnt tried any of those :p need to know which stalls to go cos there will be many "clones" around.. Usually, I don't want following in my mee goreng: a) meat b) corn c) cabbage d) sunny side up e) any form of seafood meat - fishcake, prawns etc.. Green chillies must be well fried together with the mee goreng instead of using it as a topping. I will also ask for dry rather than wet mee goreng. Some will understand while other may not. Those who understand will also ensure that it's not too oily. Problem is often the quality of ingredients they use. For e.g., some chilli sauce are too salty and not spicy. Should be spicy, yet not salty. Different grades of tomato sauce too. Some too sweet while some are just not sweet which is good for the mee goreng. Just sharing based on my experience with good and not good mee goreng. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 7:06 AM, Irene said: Did anyone mention the mee goreng at clementi ave 2? The one oppo CK or near sunset way. Miss this place and the food. Will usually go there for nasi lemak or mee goreng after my dance. .... with a cup of teh tarik. Best time to go.... after midnight. Doesn't look like it. What is CK? Closest to Clementi Ave 2 mentioned was by StefanK Post No. 6 but that was at Clementi Ave 4. Can provide the block if not the address? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 Long thread, but since you have the list of ingredients that make a good Mee Goreng, maybe you can try also making the mee goreng yourself. Then you can put whatever ingredients you desired. I am guessing the red sause is a little more tricky, but I am sure you can find an Indian friend to show you how it is made. Then the rest will be experimenting I guess. Now that you listed the ingredient, I may try it myself. 60-70 is not my era, so I can't comment on the taste, but I see how I can do it. I did a search & there are quite many links to cooking the Indian style Mee goreng. Like this video. Ok liao, I will buy noodles & ingredients & try to make it over the weekend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 (edited) On 4/28/2012 at 7:16 AM, Neutralsg said: Usually, I don't want following in my mee goreng: a) meat b) corn c) cabbage d) sunny side up e) any form of seafood meat - fishcake, prawns etc.. Green chillies must be well fried together with the mee goreng instead of using it as a topping. I will also ask for dry rather than wet mee goreng. Some will understand while other may not. Those who understand will also ensure that it's not too oily. Problem is often the quality of ingredients they use. For e.g., some chilli sauce are too salty and not spicy. Should be spicy, yet not salty. Different grades of tomato sauce too. Some too sweet while some are just not sweet which is good for the mee goreng. Just sharing based on my experience with good and not good mee goreng. like this? but he added some cuttlefish the "chef" will rotate the wok from time to time to let the heat be evenly spread... btw he is squeezing lime can look for it if u visit penang... its just before u reach khoo kongsi might be abit too ecofriendly though Edited April 28, 2012 by Raymondism Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear April 28, 2012 Author Share April 28, 2012 On 4/28/2012 at 7:24 AM, Kiadaw said: Long thread, but since you have the list of ingredients that make a good Mee Goreng, maybe you can try also making the mee goreng yourself. Then you can put whatever ingredients you desired. I am guessing the red sause is a little more tricky, but I am sure you can find an Indian friend to show you how it is made. Then the rest will be experimenting I guess. Now that you listed the ingredient, I may try it myself. 60-70 is not my era, so I can't comment on the taste, but I see how I can do it. I did a search & there are quite many links to cooking the Indian style Mee goreng. Like this video. Ok liao, I will buy noodles & ingredients & try to make it over the weekend. Indeed from time to time, I've fried my own mee goreng lah. Better than some I get at some stalls but have yet to get the same taste which I used to get. There can be are many reasons for this. If you have the opportunity, I recommend you try based on the ingredients provided and don't forget the black sauce. It should not be sweet but salty one. The frying must be long enough to be sufficiently dry and must not be too oily. Anyway, cooking can only be done when time is available and not always practical. Sometimes, it's good to pay without the need to go through the hassle PROVIDED the taste is worth its value. Personally, I don't mind paying more if the food satisfies me as I Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forgot2bme Clutched April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 Anybody tried the indian stall at tampines prime foodcourt S11.. Always long queue! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear April 28, 2012 Share April 28, 2012 (edited) Let me contribute also..... Bukit Batok Blk 373, there is a coffeeshop beside Prime Supermarket. The mee goreng is Other than mee goreng merah, his bee hoon goreng merah, nasi goreng merah or putih all very tasty ask for ikan bilis......EVEN MORE SHIOK !!!!! Oh ya......the kopi / kopi O is nice as well...... Edited April 28, 2012 by Nightkids ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...