First Comprain Curry Now Comprain Sambal Chilli...

Vulcann

What's next?

咸鱼 or salted fish?

[shakehead][shakehead]

From STOMP:

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...bal_chilli.html

Posted on 25 Apr 2012

First neighbours argued over curry, now it's 'stinky' sambal chilli

first_neighbours_argued_over_curry_now_its_stinky_sambal_chilli-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Daniel came across a notice online, apparently posted at a void deck of a block of flats in Punggol. The anonymous note was addressed to neighbours who cooked 'stinky' sambal chilli. The STOMPer also referenced a separate dispute over curry.

Said the STOMPer, who came across the photo on facebook posted this morning (Apr 25):

"First, it was curry. Now, sambal chilli.

"Saw this notice at a void deck of an HDB block at Punggol.

"First, there was a conflict between neighbours about the smell of curry, now it's the smell of sambal chilli.

"Wonder what happens to our society's tolerance level and wonder whether the family who cooks the sambal chilli would be advised to ensure that their neighbour is not around before they can cook sambal chilli, if this matter is brought for mediation."

In August last year, Singaporeans organised a 'Cook A Pot of Curry' event online in response to the outcome of a mediation action when a mainland Chinese family asked a local Indian family to stop cooking curry as they did not like the smell.

That separate incident happened over seven years ago, and Minister for Law and Foreign Affairs K. Shanmugam applauded the solidarity of Singaporeans but cautioned them not to be xenophobic.

It is not known if the Punggol residents involved in the dispute are local or foreign.

Depend on the situation. My friends used to have a neighbour who cook sambal everyday, from morning till late afternoon. That neighbour make it to sell. On top of that, that neighbour also process food eg, fish, meat, etc for F&Bs....so everyday there will be trolleys loads of raw food send to her place....the 'juice' drip from loading bay, into the lift and along the corridor.

Like this, how not to complaint? The people living in that block only complaint after 2-3 years of 'suffering'.

Edited by Silver_blade

Depend on the situation. My friends used to have a neighbour who cook sambal everyday, from morning till late afternoon. That neighbour make it to sell. On top of that, that neighbour also process food eg, fish, meat, etc for F&Bs....so everyday there will be trolleys loads of raw food send to her place....the 'juice' drip from loading bay, into the lift and along the corridor.

Like this, how not to complaint? The people living in that block only complaint after 2-3 years of 'suffering'.

I think both NEA & HDB has very strict policies of not allowing food preparation for business inside dwelling units so technically your friend's neighbour was breaking the law.

But unless someone provides "feedback" to the authorities, they will not know nor will take any action.

Having said that, we tend to be rather tolerant to especially to people we know in the neighbourhood all in the spirit of neighbourliness so if can loon loon lor.

My neighbour downstairs is very fond of peng liu her (BBQ dried squid) & the ba wu or aroma is heavenly to me but others may find it stinking to high heavens.

I have an upstair neighbor who will go to the staircase landing to smoke. The smoke then enters my living room when we are watching TV. I find it selfish of him. He don't want his family to smell smoke and instead let other families smell. I think it is worse than smelling sambal chilli

can call NEA on this. Appaqrently new rules cover the landings too, no smoking.

Nobody seems would complaint if his or her neighbour smoke along the corridor area.....

This part bo bian... [:(]

Mine oppo ward so no lift landing at every floor so we have to go down one floor to access the lift and just next to the staircase lived a ill-tempered retiree who liked to smoke outside his unit.

Since his wife and my mum are good friends plus his wife also quite nice and seemed apologetic about her hubby's behaviour and always stuffing sweets/candies & biscuits into the hands of my kids so we LLST had to put up with the smoke. My wife just had to always remind our kids to pinch their noses when passing through their unit.

There is Someone high up there after all when one fine day my mum said the man had decided to live in PRC stating life here expensive ( maybe ciggies price's killing him [laugh] ), just uprooted and left his family.

Not sure how a man could just do that but good riddance nonetheless! [thumbsup]

I think both NEA & HDB has very strict policies of not allowing food preparation for business inside dwelling units so technically your friend's neighbour was breaking the law.

But unless someone provides "feedback" to the authorities, they will not know nor will take any action.

Having said that, we tend to be rather tolerant to especially to people we know in the neighbourhood all in the spirit of neighbourliness so if can loon loon lor.

My neighbour downstairs is very fond of peng liu her (BBQ dried squid) & the ba wu or aroma is heavenly to me but others may find it stinking to high heavens.

You are right that some people tends to be as tolerant as they can but I'm surprise in this supposedly self-centered society....all the neighbours could tahan for 2yrs.

Sometimes a little tolerance goes a long way...

But most of us becomes territorial as times goes by. Maybe it is due to the stress created by the masses and the swanky condo/HDB bought using our hard-earned $$$ that we are becoming like that: You-better-not-encroach-into-my-space-type of attitude. [:(]

Used to stay in a kampong back in the seventies and where got such thing as comprains about noise, curry, sambal chilli or kiam hei?

And all the kampong folks knew one another and yes there were quarrels but these never lasted long and all would be neighbourly again once the storm blew over.

We boys from all over the kampong would be chopping down bamboos to make goal posts and played soccer on a piece of sandy land with one another: Teochews, Hokkiens, Cantonese, Malays, etc.

We did not even lock our main doors during the day!!!

Sadly all these happy state of affairs ended when we kena "chased" away by the gahment in the late eighties and we all ended up in concrete HDB flats... [bigcry] [bigcry]

Bros who ever stayed in kampongs would know what I meant.

actually those who love sambal would welcome the smell :D:D

can call NEA on this. Appaqrently new rules cover the landings too, no smoking.

Thanks. didn't know the law covers landing. We just closed our wooden door, but then this sacrificed the airiness my living room. anyway, moving house in 1.5 months time :D

I cook a lot of sambal, heng not me. [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

Got disturbed aunties give you funny looks not?

[laugh] [laugh]

Got disturbed aunties give you funny looks not?

[laugh] [laugh]

No leh, when I pound the rampa paste, downstairs will ask me for some. [laugh]

When my kitchen got white smoke, they know I grilling my balachan. [laugh]

No leh, when I pound the rampa paste, downstairs will ask me for some. [laugh]

When my kitchen got white smoke, they know I grilling my balachan. [laugh]

Good for you [thumbsup]

I think at the end of the day it boils down to maintaining good neighbourliness [wave]