Black Hawk Down Afghanistan

Vulcann

Nope not another Hollywood blockbuster movie but an actual crash in Afghanistan.

Since Vietnam till today, never cease to amaze me how troopers dare to charge into battle in choppers with skins as thick as those of our B&B cars. [sweatdrop]

And the crews either in troop carrier or gunship mode (other than dedicated ones like Apaches) helicopters must have nerves of steel and have b*lls made of brass to be daring enough to maneuver their ships into war zones & out.

Respect [thumbsup][thumbsup]

From CNA:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp...1196387/1/.html

US helicopter crashes in Afghanistan: US official

Posted: 20 April 2012 0458 hrs

i will never want to sit in a chopper and go into an urban area.... you are just like a sitting duck, waiting to be slaughtered in the open.

all it takes is just 2 RPGs to blow it up. The pilot can siam 1 RPG, but not another one coming from another direction.........

Hey posted in the wrong section. <_< Should not be under CAR DISCUSSIONS.

Bro, correction. I believe I have posted into the Complaints section!!

Paiseh paiseh!

shd not be under lite n ez too....crash not too lite [laugh][laugh]

Nope not another Hollywood blockbuster movie but an actual crash in Afghanistan.

Since Vietnam till today, never cease to amaze me how troopers dare to charge into battle in choppers with skins as thick as those of our B&B cars. [sweatdrop]

And the crews either in troop carrier or gunship mode (other than dedicated ones like Apaches) helicopters must have nerves of steel and have b*lls made of brass to be daring enough to maneuver their ships into war zones & out.

Respect [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Certain part of the military heli is armour-plated like the pilot's door, avonics n fuel tank.

i will never want to sit in a chopper and go into an urban area.... you are just like a sitting duck, waiting to be slaughtered in the open.

all it takes is just 2 RPGs to blow it up. The pilot can siam 1 RPG, but not another one coming from another direction.........

Ya lo that's why folks from the US 101st and even our even own Gds really earn my admiration gao gao [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Though they say it is not easy to shoot down an airborne moving target but without both speed and armor, a chopper in any sense is a big fat juicy target if you ask me.

And correction you need not need a RPG round to bring down a bird. Even a small calibre 5.56mm ball round hitting a major hydraulic line, engine part or either one of the usually two-pilot flight crew can cause serious trouble to the both the ship and the mission itself.

Bro, correction. I believe I have posted into the Complaints section!!

Paiseh paiseh!

complaint is your default page for new topic :huh:

Certain part of the military heli is armour-plated like the pilot's door, avonics n fuel tank.

Correct but the plexiglass of the cockpit is not armoured. And as mention if a stray round happen to hit a critical part or the pilot, ho say liao...

IIRC even the mighty tank-busting Apache is able to withstand up to a 20mm round only.

Given the choice I rather be in a APC or even tracked on foot into a battle zone as a rifleman...

complaint is your default page for new topic :huh:

Lao liao paiseh...

Actually was engrossed in reading the Complaints section thread posted by a bro of his experience with a reckless driver chionging out of a slip road without stopping and then got interrupted by my colleague.

Then after hearing his comprain (so gam!), I went to the CNA website to see what's the latest and happened to read sbout the chopper crash news and decided to share with MCF bros.

The rest as they said is history... [blush]

got lah, he say chop skin as thick as CARS [laugh] [laugh]

Ya lo that's why folks from the US 101st and even our even own Gds really earn my admiration gao gao [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Though they say it is not easy to shoot down an airborne moving target but without both speed and armor, a chopper in any sense is a big fat juicy target if you ask me.

And correction you need not need a RPG round to bring down a bird. Even a small calibre 5.56mm ball round hitting a major hydraulic line, engine part or either one of the usually two-pilot flight crew can cause serious trouble to the both the ship and the mission itself.

for a 5.56mm to hit a hydraulic is really FLUKE luck I tell you. A sniper .5" is a different story. Regardless of guards or any unit, even logistics, so long as you go past the safety zone, you're in for a fire fight, regardless. Give credit where credit is really due.

shd not be under lite n ez too....crash not too lite [laugh][laugh]

should be under complaint, knn, early morning black hawk down.... choy choy choy [laugh] [laugh]

Nut, urban or jungle, nowhere is safe, the chopper is not exactly "SILENT".

Correct but the plexiglass of the cockpit is not armoured. And as mention if a stray round happen to hit a critical part or the pilot, ho say liao...

IIRC even the mighty tank-busting Apache is able to withstand up to a 20mm round only.

Given the choice I rather be in a APC or even tracked on foot into a battle zone as a rifleman...

Heli cockpit doors are unarmored, only the pilot seat are armored from below and back but from front bullets still can shoot thru from the front lower windshield.

Good example on what can go wrong

http://youtu.be/gPGVj9IOPCk

Edited by Trex101

All armor have a limitation, no such thing as can tahan all. 155mm ai mai? Even bullet proof vest,

can only stop rounds at x distances and up to x caliber.

we've got a black hawk down, we've got a black hawk down (With a Texan drawl)! Thats why when we board a chopper our weapons must face downwards, loaded or not! [angel][angel]

I shift my upwards, feels more comfortable, sitting down, standing up, running etc.. easy also when I take a piss.

Oh..sorry, weren't we talking about........... [blush]