Babyt 4th Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Make cookhouse food more salty so that NSF can have enough salt in body when they outfield. haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 His name sounds local and unless a Malaysian PR should be a MO or used to be one. He does make some sense though the cost will be quite substantial... Or he is a she actually? It's not abt the $, $ doesn't solve all problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 What unit? I was from the cookhouse, and yes we did have Malay cooks too. Mo...any malay guys in ur unit? Some of my friends who were in Guards Unit.....but not sure which one! Malik Kasdi and Yusof...... Your unit were the one that was involved in my units Batallion Prop Test. CB....put an MG on a Landrover and acted like an armoured carrier! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Make cookhouse food more salty so that NSF can have enough salt in body when they outfield. haha We did serve luncheon meat. Not salty enough? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 19, 2012 Author Share April 19, 2012 It's not abt the $, $ doesn't solve all problems. Just curious doc. You a MO as well? Finished your liability liao? Outfield do you think our combat medics are able to provide the appropriate care given their training in SMM in an emergency like this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 A TCM physician told me that if one has got d flu bug, its vital for d sick person to rest until fully recovered. But the problem is most think that after a bit of recovery, fit enuff to play sports and all that. But in actual fact, there's still some virus in d blood which may hang around in the heart. It is this that causes such sudden death scenarios. Any doctors can verify this theory? it is true. it is best to avoid strenuous activities - anything that gets your heart pumping fast. viruses can affect the heart muscles and more blood carrying the virus and going around is not good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Just curious doc. You a MO as well? Finished your liability liao? Outfield do you think our combat medics are able to provide the appropriate care given their training in SMM in an emergency like this? I'm an NSman MO. I mean medics are still what? 19-21 yr old. Outfield, u can't carry so much equipment. Even with a safety rover. Training can only teach so much. It all boils down to experience and familarity which with the simulators and teaching, no one can replicate. Paramedics & A&E personnel are the best obviously due to sheer experience. In times of a full blown resuscitation (patient collapse), everything is moving fast and furious. It's like from 0km/hr suddenly u are going at 200km/hr. In hospital, usually it's at least 2 docs and 1-2 nurses. And that's with everything set up properly and nicely and with pre-warning cos of Ambulance alert via radio comms. I would say minimum, a decent resuscitation can only be done with 3-4 experienced personnel. Medics and all the MOs are certified in the basic/advanced support courses that any hospital doctor/nurse have to do as well. The reason why we evacuate to medical center 1st is to reach equipment which may make a difference in that 15-20min ride to the hospitals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Just the 100plus will do Good to upgrade, even hdb also does it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Outfield do you think our combat medics are able to provide the appropriate care given their training in SMM in an emergency like this? Even if u participated in one resuscitation, gained some valuable experience, then what? time to ORD liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Wishful thinking, bro. truly wishful thinking. There just wouldn't be enough space. cyberspace can? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 cyberspace can? No budget for server and web design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 No budget for server and web design. I will do it for free for our fallen brothers... But if didnt do a good job, cannot blame me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 19, 2012 Author Share April 19, 2012 I'm an NSman MO. I mean medics are still what? 19-21 yr old. Outfield, u can't carry so much equipment. Even with a safety rover. Training can only teach so much. It all boils down to experience and familarity which with the simulators and teaching, no one can replicate. Paramedics & A&E personnel are the best obviously due to sheer experience. In times of a full blown resuscitation (patient collapse), everything is moving fast and furious. It's like from 0km/hr suddenly u are going at 200km/hr. In hospital, usually it's at least 2 docs and 1-2 nurses. And that's with everything set up properly and nicely and with pre-warning cos of Ambulance alert via radio comms. I would say minimum, a decent resuscitation can only be done with 3-4 experienced personnel. Medics and all the MOs are certified in the basic/advanced support courses that any hospital doctor/nurse have to do as well. The reason why we evacuate to medical center 1st is to reach equipment which may make a difference in that 15-20min ride to the hospitals. Read somewhere that during an emergency like in a life and death medical situation, the first 5min is the most critical period. We all know given our nature of training, there is no way we can conduct exercises near to any medical centres or public hospitals so the most important is the immediate care available which in most situations is the stationing of a trained SAF medic and a safety vehicle. So IMHO the focus should be on the training of the medics such that they are highly proficient and able to deal with most emergency situations. Ideally we should outsource this function to a dedicated service provider but even in peacetime this will post a challenge to unit commanders conducting exercises. How to be tactical on your troop movement when you have a bright civy ambulance following your coys or battalions? In wartime having them will be out of the question as they might turn around and scoot as they are not combatants in dicey situations. My ex-colleague who was a medic told me they were posted to A&E departments during service time and he himself had witnessed and participated in treatments of patients of broken limbs or severe injuries from industrial or traffic accidents and the closest to a wartime situation they will experience. So in this regard maybe we can recruit a regular corp of medics to be highly trained to deal with extreme medical situations (and maybe name them Special Medical Specialists or SMS? ). They should preferably be trained in NUH or any established medical school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 What unit? I was from the cookhouse, and yes we did have Malay cooks too. thought u were the troopers of 1st Guards.....Ready to Strike toto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 I will do it for free for our fallen brothers... But if didnt do a good job, cannot blame me I will not blame you, they will just jail you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 thought u were the troopers of 1st Guards.....Ready to Strike toto Who ever said I was from 1st Guards? I was with SFI. Singapore Farking Idiots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 I was posted to Seletar 1st Gds in 1986. This one lor! but all rifle unit will treat everybody else in the unit as a brother...no care cooks, storeman, rp, gp men, drivers...as long as u are there u are all brothers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 This one lor! but all rifle unit will treat everybody else in the unit as a brother...no care cooks, storeman, rp, gp men, drivers...as long as u are there u are all brothers That was the Canteen NEXT to 1st Guards. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...