Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 22, 2012 Share April 22, 2012 From CNA: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1195800/1/.html SAF full-time NSman dies during training at Lim Chu Kang By Imelda Saad | Posted: 17 April 2012 1840 hrs ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryosuke 1st Gear April 22, 2012 Share April 22, 2012 when i did reservist there.............yah aircon still working..........but the bunk very small.......... [laugh] Yes the bunks were really small, just slightly bigger than a hdb bedrm with 4 double decker at 4 corners. Needless to say the cupboard was small as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 22, 2012 Share April 22, 2012 Sadly, this is one of the Price that we paid preparing for war. Sounds like a clich Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 22, 2012 Share April 22, 2012 Yes the bunks were really small, just slightly bigger than a hdb bedrm with 4 double decker at 4 corners. Needless to say the cupboard was small as well. lucky you agree with me................now let's tell MO not i grow bigger................ [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear April 22, 2012 Share April 22, 2012 looks like a very popular guy ... could had been a good soldier or officer ... R.I.P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 22, 2012 Share April 22, 2012 lucky you agree with me................now let's tell MO not i grow bigger................ [laugh] Ok, both of you grew bigger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 22, 2012 Share April 22, 2012 Bro.................are you sure you can post this picture????.............. You mean the soldier with GPMG ? The pic is from a Mindef photo library. Why I choose it is because I find it poignant since it was taken on the day of official opening of Murai Urban Training ground in 2008 and the soldier was running under cover of this thick smoke supposedly from smoke granades. The very condition and place in which Pte Lee might be training under on that fateful day. Source: http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_...05sep08_nr.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 23, 2012 Author Share April 23, 2012 From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_791589.html Strong safety culture in SAF Published on Apr 23, 2012 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear April 23, 2012 Share April 23, 2012 im also former 3sir back in 92 MTline , 3sir is now in selarang . my nephew is sgt in 3sir . will ask him what actually happen wow..my senior..i "graduated" in 1999..8th mono.. my mono was tough because 7th mono got best infantry, best combat unit.. they pushed us like siao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear April 23, 2012 Share April 23, 2012 wow..my senior..i "graduated" in 1999..8th mono.. my mono was tough because 7th mono got best infantry, best combat unit.. they pushed us like siao.... Ya 7th mono broke the Commando record n snatch the best unit for that year... then they happily ORD. My unit kena GOH for both National Day n SAF day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear April 23, 2012 Share April 23, 2012 Eh..how come..u 3 SIR meh. I was GOH for SAF day, national day blah2..coz previous batch won.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 26, 2012 Author Share April 26, 2012 Electronic liao? Guess many MCF bros like me last time all use the thick thick medical docket wan. That's technology for you... They must have backups yes? If not system kena hacked or worst server kena fire habis- imagine all your previous mecdical history/records up in smoke... From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_792560.html National servicemen's medical records managed electronically Published on Apr 26, 2012 Mr Brian Tan for his letter last Saturday ('Be more accountable to national servicemen with medical conditions'). Since the late 1990s, the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) has adopted an electronic medical records system for all servicemen. This enables past medical records to be retrieved more efficiently during medical consultations. The current medical docket is used only for storing hard-copy medical documents issued by doctors outside the SAF. The SAF Military Medicine Institute has verified that the fainting episodes mentioned in Mr Tan's letter were captured in his electronic medical records. In addition, our medical records indicate that Mr Tan underwent a personal health screening in March last year, after which he presented the results to an SAF medical centre during a medical review in August. His medical review has been duly processed and we apologise for not getting in touch with him to apprise him of the outcome. For medical confidentiality reasons, we have contacted Mr Tan personally to clarify his medical status. The Ministry of Defence and the SAF take the health and well-being of our personnel seriously, and will continue to maintain a high standard of medical care for them. Lieutenant-Colonel (Dr) Lionel Cheng Commander, Military Medicine Institute Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 Bullcrap! They way they treated us, was far worse then cattle heading to the slaughter house! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 Bullcrap! They way they treated us, was far worse then cattle heading to the slaughter house! They wanted the outside world to see they 'treat' us very well but in reality, we all know the truth. I rem when I was enlisted and boarded the 3-tonner for the journey to CMPB, the Cpl in the tonner shouted at us to 'smile' at the family members and no one should cry......'cos one of the guys were actually sobbing...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 They wanted the outside world to see they 'treat' us very well but in reality, we all know the truth. I rem when I was enlisted and boarded the 3-tonner for the journey to CMPB, the Cpl in the tonner shouted at us to 'smile' at the family members and no one should cry......'cos one of the guys were actually sobbing...... Spinal operation and still Pes A. yes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 26, 2012 Author Share April 26, 2012 Bullcrap! They way they treated us, was far worse then cattle heading to the slaughter house! Remembered my first visit to a medical centre because of high fever in SAFTI. The young sa tong without even examining me said this, "Pte, do you know that malingering is a chargeable offence? Better dun let me catch you chao keng ok?" Maybe many before me did that but it was a sobering experience that I was in the army then. I got attend C for my fever. And I did my dental filling in Nee Soon SBMT back then & the young dental officer kept telling me not to eat food for at least the next few hours. By late afternoon the little piece of filling came off without me even drinking a bit of water. So much so for medical/dental treatment in the service then Hope today's 3G army does a better job of treating the father-mother sons as they have promised. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear April 26, 2012 Share April 26, 2012 do NSF medics get to practise what they learn after they completed their medic course? many times, i see them sit one corner, some even read books. most of the time, nothing for them to do. I do hope SAF send them to hospitals to refresh and practise their skills so that it wont turn rusty later on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 26, 2012 Author Share April 26, 2012 Spinal operation and still Pes A. yes. The surgeon must be 华佗再世 or Asclepius. He didn't even touch the patient right? [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...