Why POSB ATMs dispense only $50 notes?

Watwheels

On 4/16/2012 at 3:43 AM, So_nice said:

the esso at jalan ahmad ibrahim is different bro..full of FTs lining up to draw $$!

but lately they changed it to $50 note only..solved the problem. but lucky we still can top up cash card and stuffs

FT or FW?? big different leh...

On 4/16/2012 at 2:09 AM, 13177 said:

If dispense only $50 notes not very "practical", cause if you buy things from small shop or hawker stall, dont think they have the change to give you. Sometimes even supermarket like NTUC also tell me that they do not have change! [rolleyes]

Students who is old enough to use ATM are forced to use $50 notes in school canteen?

On 4/16/2012 at 2:50 AM, Vhtfhwlego said:

Citibank best for me....

Drive Thru ATM!

No need to worry park by roadside kanna fine.

DBS/POSB, every month from 1st~5th & 10th~13th & end of the month, people hogging.

I cannot stand those bloody Q!

Geylang there got their drive thru Bo? :D

On 4/16/2012 at 2:06 AM, Jman888 said:

where did we get $20 note??

I have 5 $20/- notes, keep it & not for use. Was in the bank (OCBC) when spotted at the teller and informed her can I exchange those $20/- notes.... [cool]

On 4/16/2012 at 3:45 AM, Joseph22 said:

FT or FW?? big different leh...

FW lor.

i ever went to a food court and ordered a bowl of mee rubus wif a hot dog and fish cake ($5.80!!) . but no loose change hence gave a 50 note. the aunty tell me no $$$ and refused to let me take my food until i get change. i look at the drink stall and the queue is like a snake. hence i told her..

wa mai buay liao. hahaha :D

as a service provider u no change is not my problem. earn so much $$ from mee rubus and still no change? hence dun ask ur customers to solve ur problem.

dispensing only $50 helps to stimulate the economy indirectly when the bank's customers have more 'disposable cash' at their hands and spends it..huat ah! :D

On 4/16/2012 at 4:00 AM, So_nice said:

as a service provider u no change is not my problem. earn so much $$ from mee rubus and still no change? hence dun ask ur customers to solve ur problem.

she earn TOO MUCH, so can afford to lose one that has no small note [laugh] [laugh]

On 4/16/2012 at 1:50 AM, Watwheels said:

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...413-339606.html

I personally do not use POSB, I find that it not only inconvenience low-income earners but also to everyone else especially when you need to buy something small. When a lot of ppl wanna pay for a bowl of $3 noodles with a $50 note how is the hawker gonna come up with so much change?

UOB ATMs at least has an option of minimum $80 withdrawal which has a mix of 3 x $10 and 1 x $50. The next option is $200 btw. MAS is printing more $50 dan $10? So difficult to squeeze $10 notes into the ATMs as it takes up more space and hold lesser value dan $50 notes? The cash escorts make less trips if the ATMs are stuffed with $50 notes? Diesel expensive or the COE for the trucks transporting the cash too expensive? OMG, gahment's fault again [rolleyes] . Knn, how not to drift the topic to gahment...again?

I hope the ppl working at the banks can be smarter dan studying the "cash withdraw pattern" from a machine and give ppl more options coz there's not much to begin with. [rolleyes]

can draw 10s wht. i always draw $90

On 4/16/2012 at 4:00 AM, So_nice said:

FW lor.

i ever went to a food court and ordered a bowl of mee rubus wif a hot dog and fish cake ($5.80!!) . but no loose change hence gave a 50 note. the aunty tell me no $$$ and refused to let me take my food until i get change. i look at the drink stall and the queue is like a snake. hence i told her..

wa mai buay liao. hahaha :D

Nowadays stall owners will tell you change problem is not their problem lo. There was once this stall owner even told me if every customer also give me $50 note to buy few dollars food, where could she able to find so much small notes?! :blink: So either you give small note or exact amount and they will not entertain you with $50 note.

On 4/16/2012 at 4:07 AM, 13177 said:

Nowadays stall owners will tell you change problem is not their problem lo. There was once this stall owner even told me if every customer also give me $50 note to buy few dollars food, where could she able to find so much small notes?! :blink: So either you give small note or exact amount and they will not entertain you with $50 note.

this type i confirm blacklist. best is when they already prepared the food. i'll simply walk off. haha

i think alot of pple still confuse to the min. $50 withdrawal...

1st type - Fast cash machine which dispense only min $50 note and in multiples of $50 notes

2nd type - normal machine whereby usually can draw min $20 and in multiples of $10 notes

But in recent time, the 2nd type machine is also being changed to dispense only $50 notes (there is a sign on top of machine stating that this ATM only dispense $50 notes)

So this is the complaint on the 2nd type of machine.....eg. if u want to withdraw $90...not possible.....either $50 or $100....

On 4/16/2012 at 4:31 AM, Jonpaul0104 said:

i think alot of pple still confuse to the min. $50 withdrawal...

1st type - Fast cash machine which dispense only min $50 note and in multiples of $50 notes

2nd type - normal machine whereby usually can draw min $20 and in multiples of $10 notes

But in recent time, the 2nd type machine is also being changed to dispense only $50 notes (there is a sign on top of machine stating that this ATM only dispense $50 notes)

So this is the complaint on the 2nd type of machine.....eg. if u want to withdraw $90...not possible.....either $50 or $100....

Precisely! I have setup 'MY ATM' for fast withdrawal of $90, but now this feature is useless on some machines. [mad]

On 4/16/2012 at 2:37 AM, Picanto said:

oh no, stop your crap about the govt.if you so unhappy with them, then get out of this country

As a matter of fact, I am spend most of my time abroad, leaving SG right now. Pigcuntto

Edited by Kspchew

its not the single $50 note or $10 note thats the problem

its the kopi tiam uncle kpkb u

got paying a $0.90 kopi with a $50 note.

coz the more money u have inside, the more interest bank must give.

jokes aside

but honestly, min $50 is stupid.

when i need to draw $50, i wont mind 5x$10 notes.

but most of the time when i draw i need $20-30 only.

why force ppl to draw $50

Edited by Mllcg

On 4/16/2012 at 4:19 AM, So_nice said:

this type i confirm blacklist. best is when they already prepared the food. i'll simply walk off. haha

You better think twice before you walk off. Cause nowadays those hawkers will curse and swear and also #@$%@ you if you simply "sabo" them! [sweatdrop]