COE prices soar because.....

Mllcg

i would not blame entirely on consumers. the root of the problem is "out ka liao" forecast of coe quota

if coe quota was maintained steadily ... the price of coe might maintained at $30K-$40K level

because of coe quota released too many ... coe plunged to <$10K

too many coe, people just joined the workforce earning $2.5K also buying cars liao

now coe quota slashed ... naturally coe price wilk spike

just like "bad" trader for commodity of salt, sugar, vege, etc ... just manupilate quantity up/down ... can make price goes up/down crazily

if quota is maintained steadily, coe price will still grow in tandem with economy (aka people earning more) not because of outbidding each other

On 4/16/2012 at 3:06 AM, Civic6228 said:

It is about supply and demand ..... there were more than 100,000 COE released from Y2003 to Y2009 ..... high supply moderate demand .... COE price was moderate as well. Current situation, low supply, high demand ... prices will shoot to the sky.

Who to blame for current high COE ???? The consumers !!!!!

when demand is high, cost go up because who can afford willing to pay more. why would someone reduce price when demand is high? -_-

On 4/16/2012 at 3:38 AM, Jrage said:

i tell you, feel so fedup with all the new things that the gov come up with recently.

Instead of helping to fight inflation, they have selectively increase the cost of individual segment of the country.

1) increase levy for foreigner work , target business owner only.

2) off-day for FWL , target household with maids only.

3) increase taxi fare, target ppl that take taxi

4) increase healthcare cost for PR, target PR.

5) decrease COE quota, increase COE price, target ppl want to change/buy car.

Even though, each increase is only target a certain grp of society. But overall, there is a increase in cost in living in singapore and now nearly everyone kena shoot at.

why cant the government work the other way round, but decrease the cost living? like increase health subsidy for singaporean , instead for increase for PR ? Re-structuring taxi fare, instead of increasing it ? More incentive for hiring singaporean, instead of increase levy ?

The excess they earn from COE, shld help to subsidies taxi and other public transport.. Cannot just say inevitable.. then the poor folks just have to live with it.

These minister dont get their pay docked when they are late for work.. but the blue collars does.. so public transport has to be reliable.

I tot they earn alot from the 2 IRs already ? why cannot share..

i tell you, feel so fedup with all the new things that the gov come up with recently.

Instead of helping to fight inflation, they have selectively increase the cost of individual segment of the country.

Even though, each increase is only target a certain grp of society. But overall, there is a increase in cost in living in singapore and now nearly everyone kena shoot at.

why cant the government work the other way round, but decrease the cost living? like increase health subsidy for singaporean , instead for increase for PR ? Re-structuring taxi fare, instead of increasing it ? More incentive for hiring singaporean, instead of increase levy ?

The excess they earn from COE, shld help to subsidies taxi and other public transport.. Cannot just say inevitable.. then the poor folks just have to live with it.

These minister dont get their pay docked when they are late for work.. but the blue collars does.. so public transport has to be reliable.

This is your perspective. From mine, it looks like this:

1) increase levy for foreigner work , target business owner only. -> Promote biz owner to employ Singaporean

2) off-day for FWL , target household with maids only. -> Being gracious and appreciative that maids are human too.

3) increase taxi fare, target ppl that take taxi ->This is due to structural system. I agree with you

4) increase healthcare cost for PR, target PR. Singapore want differentiation in treatment so govt are doing so

5) decrease COE quota, increase COE price, target ppl want to change/buy car. Car is a luxury, not necessity. Get it in your head. The roads in Singapore are already packed.

Not all policies are bad because it seems bad to you. Sometimes we have to reflect on matters and issues instead of looking at short term and personal goals.

On 4/16/2012 at 3:48 AM, Pioneer said:

This is your perspective. From mine, it looks like this:

1) increase levy for foreigner work , target business owner only. -> Promote biz owner to employ Singaporean

2) off-day for FWL , target household with maids only. -> Being gracious and appreciative that maids are human too.

3) increase taxi fare, target ppl that take taxi ->This is due to structural system. I agree with you

4) increase healthcare cost for PR, target PR. Singapore want differentiation in treatment so govt are doing so

5) decrease COE quota, increase COE price, target ppl want to change/buy car. Car is a luxury, not necessity. Get it in your head. The roads in Singapore are already packed.

Not all policies are bad because it seems bad to you. Sometimes we have to reflect on matters and issues instead of looking at short term and personal goals.

I am okay with most except for point 3

3) increase taxi fare, target ppl that take taxi ->This is due to structural system. I agree with you - Everyone want a pay rise, Taxi Driver also

  On 4/16/2012 at 12:44 AM, Mllcg said:

-ve will kill off the entire B&B market coz the COE will be too high.

all u will see on the roads are either BMW, Merc, Audi, Lexus and VW.

Isn't that the aim? Monaco?

On 4/16/2012 at 3:25 AM, KARTer said:

He should spend his time to solve public transport problems n road congestions, economy doing well or not is NOHFB...! :D tell us the solutions, not the state of economy.

He is solving the public transport problems and ropoad congestions by reducing COE lo. :D

  On 4/16/2012 at 12:49 AM, Mllcg said:

lol.

POSB interest rate just went down recently.

now its 0.05% i think for savings acc...

posb savings got interest one meh? always thot of the acct onli as a secured milo-tin. :D

Don't fight lah. Learn to take bus lah.

Cheng hu already tambah downpayment for you liao.

Mr Lui also addressed concerns on the $1.1 billion government funding to buy buses for SBS Transit and SMRT, during a dialogue with residents.

"If you want this enhanced standard of more buses, but you don't want government to put in the money... fares we think on average will have to go up by 15 cents. That's quite a lot. So essentially, when we came up with this scheme, the way we were thinking about it is that this is not a subsidy to the operator. It is actually a subsidy to the commuter," said Mr Lui.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/premium/to...t-line-upgrades

Edited by Sabian

Mai TL lah. Everybody chip in, then can buy more ai see buay see shares from silverman sex...haut ah and as always, their timing sucks.

On 4/16/2012 at 4:14 AM, 13177 said:

He is solving the public transport problems and ropoad congestions by reducing COE lo. :D

For doing that he deserves a pay increase :D

On 4/16/2012 at 12:48 AM, Bystander50 said:

If economy is doing well as ge mentioned, then banks must be doing equally well, so why still give the low pathetic interest rates?

Interest rates are tied to the central bank's policies. The MAS knows it cannot afford to be too generous on both lending and borrowing aspects, otherwise Singaporeans will become too rich. On their agenda, it's reads 'must-not', 'cannot', 'never'.

On 4/16/2012 at 4:21 AM, Sabian said:

Don't fight lah. Learn to take bus lah.

Cheng hu already tambah downpayment for you liao.

Mr Lui also addressed concerns on the $1.1 billion government funding to buy buses for SBS Transit and SMRT, during a dialogue with residents.

"If you want this enhanced standard of more buses, but you don't want government to put in the money... fares we think on average will have to go up by 15 cents. That's quite a lot. So essentially, when we came up with this scheme, the way we were thinking about it is that this is not a subsidy to the operator. It is actually a subsidy to the commuter," said Mr Lui.

http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/premium/to...t-line-upgrades

Bus companies' profit margin is more sacred than sacred cow.!

On 4/16/2012 at 3:46 AM, Matchy said:

i alway ask why they need to have COE?

to limit the cars?

but still so many cars on the road wat

Simple but spot on!

On 4/16/2012 at 4:47 AM, KARTer said:

Simple but spot on!

My exact sendiments ..... negative growth for COE allocation .... to reduce car population. COE is losing it's effectiveness.

  On 4/16/2012 at 2:15 AM, Civic6228 said:

I dont understand what has COE to do with starting a family ?

Certificate of Engagement... [cool]