Territorial claims in South China Sea

Ahtong

On 12/13/2023 at 9:40 AM, Jamesc said:

I think you are absolutely right.

They are using cancel culture trying to blank them out.

So in their tiny minds and anyone they can brainwash they don't exist anymore.

I tried that with my MIL but I can tell them it doesn't work.

Looking in the mirror and repeating 3 times my MIL does not exist worked

until she banged on the bathroom door shouting kah kin lah sia ai chut liao.

Let her kns then...tell her shix happens sometimes...just make sure no fan nearby...😁

Edited by mersaylee

On 12/13/2023 at 11:30 AM, mersaylee said:

Let her kns then...tell her shix happens sometimes...just make sure no fan nearby...😁

Cannot lah!

After I die from gas poisoning!

image.png.7fd8ceff6be91e675a993b394a3b0828.png

On 12/12/2023 at 10:57 AM, inlinesix said:

Just because China is not invoived in US type of invasion in Phillippine territorial water does not mean that China is NOT aggressive in South China Sea.

PLAN activity in South China Sea affects Singapore Air Controller work.

In this case, China is the aggressor claiming almost the entire South China Sea belongs to it.

China's rise has been peaceful generally but more muscle flexing can be expected, don't think its claims /actions in SCS can be defended but that is just big power politics.  They are not alone nor are they the most aggressive based on last 50 years history.

Interestingly, it was ROC that started this dot and line thingy.

A 1946 map showing a U-shaped eleven-dash line was first published by the Republic of China government on 1 December 1947.[8] In 1952, Mao Zedong of the PRC decided to remove two of the dashes in the Gulf of Tonkin amid warming ties with North Vietnam.[9][10] However, the ROC government still uses the eleven-dash line.

Philippines needs to be firm but also not become a pawn in this geopolitical game. Think PM Lee spoke about it in a recent interview.

On 12/14/2023 at 1:40 PM, Voodooman said:

China's rise has been peaceful generally but more muscle flexing can be expected, don't think its claims /actions in SCS can be defended but that is just big power politics.  They are not alone nor are they the most aggressive based on last 50 years history.

Interestingly, it was ROC that started this dot and line thingy.

A 1946 map showing a U-shaped eleven-dash line was first published by the Republic of China government on 1 December 1947.[8] In 1952, Mao Zedong of the PRC decided to remove two of the dashes in the Gulf of Tonkin amid warming ties with North Vietnam.[9][10] However, the ROC government still uses the eleven-dash line.

Philippines needs to be firm but also not become a pawn in this geopolitical game. Think PM Lee spoke about it in a recent interview.

To stand firm, Phillippines needed navy muscle to push any non-military blockade.

In the end, it will still be a pawn in this game.

p.s. LHL rem the lesson of Terrex.

Edited by inlinesix

I think this original PM lee was right. 

https://www.belfercenter.org/publication/be-wary-rising-china-says-lee-kuan-yew

The very name China, he says - Middle Kingdom - recalls a region in which it was dominant, “when other states related to them as supplicants to a superior”.

“Will an industrialized and strong China be as benign to Southeast Asia as the US has been since 1945? Singapore is not sure. Neither is Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, The Philippines, Thailand or Vietnam.”

He says “many small and medium countries in Asia are concerned. They are uneasy that China may want to resume the imperial status it had in earlier centuries, and have misgivings as being treated as vassal states”.

“China tells us that countries big or small are equal, that it is not a hegemon,” Mr Lee writes. “But when we do something they do not like, they say you have made 1.3 billion people unhappy. So please know your place.”

On 12/14/2023 at 1:42 PM, inlinesix said:

To stand firm, Phillippines needed navy muscle to push any non-military blockade.

In the end, it will still be a pawn in this game.

p.s. LHL rem the lesson of Terrex.

I hope they are not counting on some fair weather friend that promised them the sky to pick a fight.

It is difficult but it shouldn't be a binary play, that is what PM Lee said during the recent interview.  

Asserting sovereignty over one’s remaining territory after other territories have been occupied by a foreign country isn’t picking a fight, in my opinion.

Seems to me some people feel only one country among the several claiming all or part of SCS has the rights to defend their sovereignty; the rest are merely picking fights, because they are much smaller and rely on an external power to tilt any conflict to anything vaguely resembling tactical parity.

On 12/14/2023 at 5:01 PM, Macrosszero said:

Well maybe you can explain why you think there’s similarities there then 

Is Israel occupying Palestinian lands?  I support 2 state solution.  No end to the killing if everything is just binary like what you are saying.

Lots of people benefit from war and killing.

If you cannot see the irony of it, i can't help you.

On 12/14/2023 at 5:27 PM, Voodooman said:

Is Israel occupying Palestinian lands?  I support 2 state solution.  No end to the killing if everything is just binary like what you are saying.

Lots of people benefit from war and killing.

If you cannot see the irony of it, i can't help you.

Don't put words into my mouth - I did not say that anything was binary, let alone everything. 

While I do not disagree with a two-state solution that is an argument for a different thread, I asked what the Gaza situation has similar that you chose to draw parallels with it into the SCS dispute. 

Its not irony, poor choice of words on your part. Its something else, either you lack the vocabulary for it or chose the wrong term. I won't help you out either. 

Chinese Coast Guard Blasts Philippine Boats With Water Cannons 

in Philippines own territorial waters.

image.thumb.png.0caffff0be4b88123d291c2ca58bc9c2.png

China 10 Dash line almost touching Philippines and East Malaysia.

image.thumb.png.9157aa1f7914673a0f74c00b58a9f233.png

On 12/16/2023 at 9:43 AM, Jamesc said:

Chinese Coast Guard Blasts Philippine Boats With Water Cannons 

in Philippines own territorial waters.

image.thumb.png.0caffff0be4b88123d291c2ca58bc9c2.png

China 10 Dash line almost touching Philippines and East Malaysia.

image.thumb.png.9157aa1f7914673a0f74c00b58a9f233.png

See how peaceful and not-warlike they are? If it was some other superpower, it would be live round warning shots across the bows, not play water guns already!

1607586972_Screenshot2023-12-21at6_10_57PM.thumb.png.92418b964c68812e936f512da3af377a.png

https://www.eurasiantimes.com/us-mulls-bedding-down-f-15-air-superiority-fighters/

The inevitable..

Uncle Sam is now pushing Singapore into the fray.

Chinese/ North Korean or Russian Missiles launched at Guam will now possibly hit the SG detachment housed there.

Effectively, SAF hardware and their servicemen are now hostages to ensure the correct side is picked when the conflict starts.

A calculated, and unfriendly move by the current US government.

Doubt Ng Eng Hen volunteered to put his detachment there.

Should it materialise, the fleet numbers are expected to grow given the infrastructural investment required for "Twelve" F-15s as reported

On 12/16/2023 at 9:54 AM, Macrosszero said:

See how peaceful and not-warlike they are? If it was some other superpower, it would be live round warning shots across the bows, not play water guns already!

Have previously shared the 11-dash lines under China's claim were actively supported by USA post war under KMT China in 1940s and 50s.

USA even provided warships to KMT to claim these islands.

EEZ of 200nm only came into effect in 1982, because of disputes between Iceland and United Kingdom on fishing grounds.

It was only 3nm at the start and UK fished near Iceland for Salmons post world war, and as a result, its now 200nm 

Only when KMT fled and CCP ruled China, their support became ambiguous, and now non-existent due to politics, not based on facts.

Edited by Sturtles