Bystander50 5th Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 ADs don't give a damn. As long as there are sentiments that there is demand, they don't care whether how high the bid is. The costs are going to be transferred to buyers anyway. Commission for loans also gao gao. Ever increasing COE prices also benefits these ADs. I did not throw away my price list after getting my ride. Few months later, a friend was thinking of getting a car from the same AD and we compared both old and new price lists. COE was up by about $4k, yet the selling package of that car was increased by $6k!!! Can't be yen appreciate by that much in just a few months right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 AD no use bidding high against people like my boss, he pays for his car in full cash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Ever increasing COE prices also benefits these ADs. I did not throw away my price list after getting my ride. Few months later, a friend was thinking of getting a car from the same AD and we compared both old and new price lists. COE was up by about $4k, yet the selling package of that car was increased by $6k!!! Can't be yen appreciate by that much in just a few months right? B&b cars? if so lesser car sold now so have to up more selling price to balance out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shinigaimi Neutral Newbie April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Ever increasing COE prices also benefits these ADs. I did not throw away my price list after getting my ride. Few months later, a friend was thinking of getting a car from the same AD and we compared both old and new price lists. COE was up by about $4k, yet the selling package of that car was increased by $6k!!! Can't be yen appreciate by that much in just a few months right? Depending when... Yen did shoot up alot... Sometimes.. Later vehicles have more options.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Ever increasing COE prices also benefits these ADs. I did not throw away my price list after getting my ride. Few months later, a friend was thinking of getting a car from the same AD and we compared both old and new price lists. COE was up by about $4k, yet the selling package of that car was increased by $6k!!! Can't be yen appreciate by that much in just a few months right? That is the grey area that ADs like to play around with - the change in coe prices. An excuse for them to push up/down prices regardless of the extent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 AD no use bidding high against people like my boss, he pays for his car in full cash. Not everyone is as rich as your boss to pay in full. The thing we should look at is who is causing the spike in COE price. Maybe high COE helps to boost GDP levels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Not everyone is as rich as your boss to pay in full. The thing we should look at is who is causing the spike in COE price. Maybe high COE helps to boost GDP levels. I believe quite alot of people like him. His frienda all the same, change car like underwear, wish i can too... Anyway, maybe like you say, gdp growth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Depending when... Yen did shoot up alot... Sometimes.. Later vehicles have more options.. We did a check, Yen was averaging around the same level. Car options wise, it's still the same. I wouldn't be posting this if there was indeed noticable differences. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 In today's ST: COE prices set to soar even higher. Ho say liao, for those who already bought new car, or renewed COE car. Others LLST till next year and continue to hope. Worst case: 43% drop in overall COE supply. Worst case: 65% shrinkage in Cat A COE supply. Cat A COE projected to hit high $80,000 later this year. Outcome: - more Mercedes Benz and BMWs sold - continue to top charts - C180K top Cat A seller, death of all other Cat A car sales - rich will continue to upgrade and/or buy even more Cat B/E cars Orbi good! part of the reason i 'hedge' the coe and change my car now.. even though it still had 4 more years to go.. well, i got a 1yr old pre-owned. coe 35k.. still better compared to a possible 80k or even 100k in the near future.. i keep my car now, 4yrs later, i may have to take train Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 part of the reason i 'hedge' the coe and change my car now.. even though it still had 4 more years to go.. well, i got a 1yr old pre-owned. coe 35k.. still better compared to a possible 80k or even 100k in the near future.. i keep my car now, 4yrs later, i may have to take train If your current car left 4 more years and you afraid 4 years later COE still super high or even higher, maybe can change car now. Either get a used car which is about 2 years old, or spend 60K COE and get a brand new car. Since according to the report, the COE might go up even higher later part of the year. So if you think the COE for cat A at current 58K is high, if the COE really go up to 80K or even higher, perhaps you will regret not buying at 58K COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CKP 3rd Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 COE should never have been cheapened to as low as 10K years ago. The car population was "inflated" by release of too many COEs; now it needs to be deflated. A too modest reduction in the car population growth rate could possibly mean the same and even larger increase in the number of cars put on the road each year due to the base effect of the previous year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emile12345 Neutral Newbie April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Of course it's not possible for a $50 COE at the moment. But what I'm trying to say is people who put in low bids are mostly individuals. It is the ADs who are putting in high bids near closing to push up the final price. I believe ADs only have 1 or 2 clerks putting in the bids and most likely they bid high and submit once without amending. Assuming if each AD is bidding for just 50 customers (All Cats combined), I don't think they have the resources and time to outbid each other by $1 or even $100 at a time. Just take a look at the initial bids when the bidding exercise begins. aiyoh, do you know how the COE price system works? supply and demand, to arrive at one final price assuming that there are 10000 COEs the price of the 10000th bid (when counted from the top, highest to lowest) is the final price of the 10000 COEs so if the 10000th bid is $100000, you pay $100000, even though you might have submitted a $1M bid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear April 15, 2012 Share April 15, 2012 when cat a was 20k i told my fren its time to switch ur 7yr hyundai crap , she said too steep la hahah! now stuck liao going bmw next yr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear April 15, 2012 Share April 15, 2012 (edited) If overall COE supply drop, still not so bad. But if only shrinkage of Cat A COE means beri bad. It seems like cutting the goodies of "lower societies" and giving/accomodating the portion to the high end ones. Animal farm leow. Edited April 15, 2012 by Renegade777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 15, 2012 Share April 15, 2012 If your current car left 4 more years and you afraid 4 years later COE still super high or even higher, maybe can change car now. Either get a used car which is about 2 years old, or spend 60K COE and get a brand new car. Since according to the report, the COE might go up even higher later part of the year. So if you think the COE for cat A at current 58K is high, if the COE really go up to 80K or even higher, perhaps you will regret not buying at 58K COE. Yes bro.. change leow.. last week. 'New' 1 yr old car Coe 'only' 35k.. Knn..this thingy machiam like play futures. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear April 15, 2012 Share April 15, 2012 It take another 5 years fir the COE to come down to 20K level...because by then,..the whole car population is getting too old and Lta will want it to be replaced...it is a cycle lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 15, 2012 Share April 15, 2012 monaco also got casino? Walao-eh, Monaco is only like world-famous for it. You damn suaku, you know that? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monte_Carlo_Casino Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 15, 2012 Share April 15, 2012 Walao-eh, Monaco is only like world-famous for it. You damn suaku, you know that? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monte_Carlo_Casino Cut the brudder some slack lah deh. I mean not many will know you're world famous in the pink cummunity right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...