Worst Case: Cat A COE quota shrink by 65%

Jolie888

On 4/14/2012 at 3:29 AM, Jolie888 said:

What I am going to say here is based on fact and pure observation. No underlying sentiments at all.

Every Friday, when I go for lunch at Taman Jurong hawker centre, there will be rows and rows of small-cc, OPCs parked alongside the roads all over the shop!

u haven't seen at CCK, like mass casualty exercise, all over the place....but the polyclinic parking lots empty <_<<_<

On 4/14/2012 at 3:30 AM, Picnic06 said:

you happy lor cos your ride is just new... [sly]

comes when your ride is 10yrs old and the COE is $150k... [sweatdrop]

[:p][:p]

my car coming june...so i can hurray for another 2-3 yrs..... [:p]

on paper, i make 10k aldy...can flip the car

On 4/14/2012 at 3:33 AM, RadX said:

u haven't seen at CCK, like mass casualty exercise, all over the place....but the polyclinic parking lots empty <_<<_<

The question I have is: why they neber kenna saman one ah?

Parking along double yellow lines and single continuous white line?

They must have special no-saman labels one hor!

On 4/14/2012 at 3:37 AM, Jolie888 said:

The question I have is: why they neber kenna saman one ah?

Parking along double yellow lines and single continuous white line?

They must have special no-saman labels one hor!

let's not go there...but with the recent influx of more PRC ppl I see as summon aunties, the game might change? But it is known that some leeway is given since friday prayers occur that time

Yes!!! I think it's blardy high time that COE quotas are cut back.

Our roads have become so congested during weekday peak hours that its no fun stuck in crawling jams AM and PM.

We will need to continue to reduce the number of private cars on the roads.

For this, the MoT has my vote!

On 4/14/2012 at 3:45 AM, W210k said:

Yes!!! I think it's blardy high time that COE quotas are cut back.

Our roads have become so congested during weekday peak hours that its no fun stuck in crawling jams AM and PM.

We will need to continue to reduce the number of private cars on the roads.

For this, the MoT has my vote!

+1 LIKE We may be called elitist here, but it does the nation a whole lot good... :angry: :angry:

I think Sinkies who borrow from banks to buy shoebox apartments in outskirts developments and hoping to rent them out to singles and DINKies are really gullible! :mad:

On 4/14/2012 at 3:21 AM, Jolie888 said:

Actually for property, why must Singaporeans have this penchant to buy private property?

Outskirts, 99-yr leasehold somemore.

Some take loans to buy and hope to support loan payment with rental income.

So highly geared, so risky, it's plain stoopid and foolish lah.

We the people, are the ones actually cooking this buying frenzy and driving private property prices up and up!

Why cannot we be satisfied with HDB, like our parents did? Also 99-yrs what!

Don't blame foreign investors hor, cos they are not interested in outskirts 99-yr LH properties (from latest stats).

The night is darkest just before dawn. If I recall correctly, COE for small cars was in the $60k+ in the late 90s, and I couldnt even afford the down payment. By 2001, you can get $101 COE if you are lucky. Before I know it, I could buy a whole car without loan.

In the early 2000s, everyone was scrapping their car as early as 3 years. Now everyone is delaying till 10 years (directly as car owner or indirectly via used car dealers). Therefore, there is a pent up number of cars to be scrapped. We should be at the tail end of low scrapping and should turn the corner soon. And given the huge difference in COE price, a good number of existing car owners will give up their cars when their 10 years are up. So COE prices should peak by next year and start to grind downwards, barring government making further car population growth cuts.

Also, looking at sgcarmart, I see decent 5yo cars like Chevrolet Optras selling for just $28k... the high COE for new cars doesnt seem to affect them much, so I dont see why anybody will need to give up driving because of the high COE.

Giving up haolian, well, that's a different matter. From a conservation point of view, people who wants to haolian with new cars should be made to pay the maximum, and everybody should be encouraged to keep their cars for at least 10 years. Turning 3 year old cars into scrap metal like in the early 2000s was a massive environmental sin.

To ease the Cat. A crunch, they shd create a separate category for taxis lor. Gahmen just forcing this bracket of car owners to give up and go back to public transportation.

On 4/14/2012 at 3:53 AM, Toothiewabbit said:

To ease the Cat. A crunch, they shd create a separate category for taxis lor. Gahmen just forcing this bracket of car owners to give up and go back to public transportation.

it will ease out those who wanted the cheap ones, but the conti makes are moving into this area, Volvo, Merc, next BMW.....soon, Japs gonna be phased out like a dying breed

I think the govt should introduce an Environmental (unfriendly) tax for:

(1) Cars that are scrapped at <10 years old.

(2) Cars that renew COEs after 10 years, if they fail exhaust emissions test over the next 10 years of life.

u gonna see more forum letters saying they have 7 children, 5 inlaws, and need car to ferry their family, dog, goldfish........and they expect gahmen to help them.

I say this, it is really a dog eat dog world out there...and actually taxis here are pretty good....so dun come here saying a car is a NEED...bollocks!

On 4/14/2012 at 3:54 AM, RadX said:

it will ease out those who wanted the cheap ones, but the conti makes are moving into this area, Volvo, Merc, next BMW.....soon, Japs gonna be phased out like a dying breed

It's suicide to work in Jap/Kor AD these days...haiz. There no way out for BB people like me :wacko:

Edited by Toothiewabbit

i have an used car now, shall i take this chance to quickly trade for another used car that is more reliable and able to last till 10 years?

On 4/14/2012 at 4:02 AM, RadX said:

u gonna see more forum letters saying they have 7 children, 5 inlaws, and need car to ferry their family, dog, goldfish........and they expect gahmen to help them.

I say this, it is really a dog eat dog world out there...and actually taxis here are pretty good....so dun come here saying a car is a NEED...bollocks!

Yah, these are the same group of people asking the govt to assign one COE to each citizen family first.

My question is: WHY? :angry:

There is no country in the world that provides families the right to own a car.

You've gotta earn that right!

Just like respect is not entitled, but it needs to be earned -_-

On 4/14/2012 at 4:05 AM, Toothiewabbit said:

It's suicide to work in Jap/Kor AD these days...haiz. There no way out for BB people like me :wacko:

u gotta refocus to see the new BB.... [laugh][laugh] to me BB is BMW318

On 4/14/2012 at 4:11 AM, Jolie888 said:

Yah, these are the same group of people asking the govt to assign one COE to each citizen family first.

My question is: WHY? :angry:

There is no country in the world that provides families the right to own a car.

You've gotta earn that right!

Just like respect is not entitled, but it needs to be earned -_-

I also say......and guess in an envt like this, he who can afford, will....so step aside the marginals

On 4/14/2012 at 4:10 AM, GPunto said:

i have an used car now, shall i take this chance to quickly trade for another used car that is more reliable and able to last till 10 years?

It may work ... but please avoid cars with DSG hor [laugh]

Otherwise, it will be from the frying pan into the fire!