Worst Case: Cat A COE quota shrink by 65%

Jolie888

On 4/14/2012 at 2:23 AM, Jolie888 said:

So bro, resort to BMW ah?

What happens when MRT and buses continue to be super packed and keep breaking down?

Don't forget population will be 6.5 million by then hor!

Welcome to the daily grind of 2016! [:p]

Last option, bicycle. :D

always find new tricks to milk Singaporeans

don't understand why must treat locally such a manner.

we are here to stay for life not those foreigners.

why cannot crave a diff scheme for the local instead.

What happens when MRT and buses continue to be super packed and keep breaking down?

Pack and squeezy plus frequent break downs still not so bad, it is bad when they bundle it with fare increases. Then Government have to come out with a stupid rule that charge foreigners and PRs more to show that citizens are taken care of. Like the recent medical policy.

The hardest hit will be SMEs who NEED vans/lorries. With COE of over 50k, that's over $5000 per year per vehicle of 'tax' just because of COE. While we have to keep wages low to keep business cost low, other costs like land and COE can continue to escalate.

No Lah - no BMW for me,6 maybe look for XR6 or senator.... :-)

On 4/14/2012 at 2:44 AM, Pchmj said:

The hardest hit will be SMEs who NEED vans/lorries. With COE of over 50k, that's over $5000 per year per vehicle of 'tax' just because of COE. While we have to keep wages low to keep business cost low, other costs like land and COE can continue to escalate.

Cost of goods & services will increase too.

Also in ST, CPI forecasted to go up 3.5-4.5%.

Also oil price shooting to $200/B.

Another round of inflation coming liao!

Real income will continue to shrink further.

I read the ST report and was [furious] .

Sure cut COE cos number of scrap cars down. With the COE so high, who want to scrap his car. LTA never see such a simple equation meh ... [hur]

If the COE peg at $20,000/- sure plenty ppl scrap cars. [mad]

On 4/14/2012 at 2:51 AM, Jolie888 said:

Cost of goods & services will increase too.

Also in ST, CPI forecasted to go up 3.5-4.5%.

Also oil price shooting to $200/B.

Another round of inflation coming liao!

Real income will continue to shrink further.

While I agree some things we have no control like oil price, our dear gov seems to magnify the problems. I pity those SME owners when they tell me they worry about their next van as COE is expiring soon, it's a huge burden for small scaled companies with less than 5 workers.

COE up - commercial vehicles cost up, company increase overheads, put cost to consumers

govt cited high oil prices and labour, but what they exclude are cars and housing, which in fact, are also the contributing factor to rising cost...

On 4/14/2012 at 2:57 AM, Picnic06 said:

I read the ST report and was [furious] .

Sure cut COE cos number of scrap cars down. With the COE so high, who want to scrap his car. LTA never see such a simple equation meh ... [hur]

So now it becomes a game of who blinks first mah!

All car owners only got <10 years of time on their side to delay here, delay there.

The MoT/LTA has until forever, to achieve actual reduction of vehicle population to target limit.

When it comes to the crunch: to scrap, renew PQP COE, or buy new car at >$100K COE ... the answer will be clear.

Many many more will be forced to let go of their cars.

Painful hor ... [:(]

On 4/14/2012 at 3:08 AM, Rncw said:

COE up - commercial vehicles cost up, company increase overheads, put cost to consumers

govt cited high oil prices and labour, but what they exclude are cars and housing, which in fact, are also the contributing factor to rising cost...

If everything goes up, sure someone will speak in Parliament to support not well-to-do PR .... :ph34r:

We have to fend for ourselves though... [:(]

On 4/14/2012 at 3:08 AM, Rncw said:

Actually for property, why must Singaporeans have this penchant to buy private property?

Outskirts, 99-yr leasehold somemore.

Some take loans to buy and hope to support loan payment with rental income.

So highly geared, so risky, it's plain stoopid and foolish lah.

We the people, are the ones actually cooking this buying frenzy and driving private property prices up and up!

Why cannot we be satisfied with HDB, like our parents did? Also 99-yrs what!

Don't blame foreign investors hor, cos they are not interested in outskirts 99-yr LH properties (from latest stats).

Good good.....for sure less OPCs, and less of those who cannot to afford car wun buy......leave the car owners to those who can afford

On 4/14/2012 at 3:09 AM, Jolie888 said:

So now it becomes a game of who blinks first mah!

All car owners only got <10 years of time on their side to delay here, delay there.

The MoT/LTA has until forever, to achieve actual reduction of vehicle population to target limit.

When it comes to the crunch: to scrap, renew PQP COE, or buy new car at >$100K COE ... the answer will be clear.

Many many more will be forced to let go of their cars.

Painful hor ... [:(]

Is abt time...bloody roads too congested

On 4/14/2012 at 3:12 AM, Picnic06 said:

If everything goes up, sure someone will speak in Parliament to support not well-to-do PR .... :ph34r:

We have to fend for ourselves though... [:(]

Now to become PR cannot just put $$$$ in the bank anymore!

On 4/14/2012 at 3:21 AM, RadX said:

Good good.....for sure less OPCs, and less of those who cannot to afford car wun buy......leave the car owners to those who can afford

What I am going to say here is based on fact and pure observation. No underlying sentiments at all.

Every Friday, when I go for lunch at Taman Jurong hawker centre, there will be rows and rows of small-cc, OPCs parked alongside the roads all over the shop!

On 4/14/2012 at 3:22 AM, RadX said:

Is abt time...bloody roads too congested

you happy lor cos your ride is just new... [sly]

comes when your ride is 10yrs old and the COE is $150k... [sweatdrop]

[:p][:p]

On 4/14/2012 at 3:30 AM, Picnic06 said:

you happy lor cos your ride is just new... [sly]

comes when your ride is 10yrs old and the COE is $150k... [sweatdrop]

[:p][:p]

hurray......really! [:p]