Zenithpool 2nd Gear April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 Come 25th this Apr my car left 4yrs. Had confirm will give up driving, since personally I don think COE will drop. Even at current price, $80k is crazy (at least imho). break down to about $700 per month (just COE price only, yet to add in all other cost like car price, insurance, road tax, maintenance (servicing & repair), petrol, ERP, parking etc etc etc ), I can take cab for every trip and still got left. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 On 4/17/2012 at 9:12 AM, Zenithpool said: Come 25th this Apr my car left 4yrs. Had confirm will give up driving, since personally I don think COE will drop. Even at current price, $80k is crazy (at least imho). break down to about $700 per month (just COE price only, yet to add in all other cost like car price, insurance, road tax, maintenance (servicing & repair), petrol, ERP, parking etc etc etc ), I can take cab for every trip and still got left. 4 years still consider quite a long time, you never know what will happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 On 4/17/2012 at 8:40 AM, 13177 said: Why cant they let in another 2M? Since they are now improving the public transport and housing?! Since garment is so interested to increase the population here! COE come down to 30K level? Wonder when? i dun know economics theory, but here's wat i think....if in 2013/2014/2015/2016, the Cat A COE price decreases fr 70-80K level to 50-60K level, ppl will rush in to buy new cars n the slide in price will be stopped....as many forumers mentioned, those car owners who scrap or sell their old cars, surely they'll be keen to get new/used cars....only a small % will truly go BMW.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 On 4/14/2012 at 2:37 PM, Ghostami said: AD no use bidding high against people like my boss, he pays for his car in full cash. your boss is throttle2? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 On 4/17/2012 at 9:12 AM, Zenithpool said: Come 25th this Apr my car left 4yrs. Had confirm will give up driving, since personally I don think COE will drop. Even at current price, $80k is crazy (at least imho). break down to about $700 per month (just COE price only, yet to add in all other cost like car price, insurance, road tax, maintenance (servicing & repair), petrol, ERP, parking etc etc etc ), I can take cab for every trip and still got left. u r assuming tat in future, taxi fare doesnt see a drastic jump....with the high COE's tat the taxi companies bid for nowadays, i really doubt tat taxi fare rates will stay constant....so think twice b4 giving up car ownership. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cluboxed 1st Gear April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 2016 perhaps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 On 4/17/2012 at 7:54 AM, Jolie888 said: So you want to change from C180K to E250 by then? But your richer FT neighbors will be looking at more up-market RS5, or the CLS350! They sure to get their COE before you do! ADs know who to bid for COEs first ... those that they make the highest margins from. For you, can wait till 6th bid attempt, but still no guarantee hor, by 2015/16. I don't have a C180K to begin with. I was speaking from experience and what i observed during the last cycle where COE came down from yr 2000 to 2006. Sporeans in general all want face value. U see your neighbor drive a cheaper and better car than u, sure bui lun. And whether 6 bid non guarantee or whatever scheme, all doesn't matter really. The key is to dump the stupid $170K car which u bought with 60K COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched April 17, 2012 Author Share April 17, 2012 (edited) On 4/17/2012 at 9:28 AM, Roh96 said: I was speaking from experience and what i observed during the last cycle where COE came down from yr 2000 to 2006. Sporeans in general all want face value. U see your neighbor drive a cheaper and better car than u, sure bui lun. And my point is: your neighbor 6-12 years ago ain't the same one's you've got now. Already now, there is 1 FT for every 2 SGean. Don't even talk about the 2:3 target by 2016. What used to be normally-distributed wealth/demographic pyramid, has become top-heavy. Every FT family that has joined the SG band wagon over the last 6-12 years belong to the upper-middle-class-and-higher groups. As more of them come in, they will slowly, but surely displace more middle-class-and-lower SGean families to the have-nots / marginalized ... unable to afford a car, maybe not even prime district real estate any more! Even if there is no more (zero) FT intake from here on, they are already 1:2 among our numbers. >10 years ago, when GCT was PM, the published ratio was 1:3 ... which wasn't too bad. Edited April 17, 2012 by Jolie888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerrcik 1st Gear April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 U guys can always own and ride a bike. I been riding several bikes for the last 4 -5 years every since getting back my license. It so much better than driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 (edited) On 4/17/2012 at 9:12 AM, Zenithpool said: Come 25th this Apr my car left 4yrs. Had confirm will give up driving, since personally I don think COE will drop. Even at current price, $80k is crazy (at least imho). break down to about $700 per month (just COE price only, yet to add in all other cost like car price, insurance, road tax, maintenance (servicing & repair), petrol, ERP, parking etc etc etc ), I can take cab for every trip and still got left. that's what i did.. just traded-in my 5+ yr car for a pre-owned 2011 car. in a way, i'm hedging the coe futures... near-term, coe unlikely to fall.. but till 2021, there is a chance. if i hold my old car till coe expires in 2016, if coe don't come down, i either gonna downgrade or take our world-class transport. i (and family) are not prepared to do that. if heng heng 2016 coe somehow drops, i still have the option to change another car, or drive till 2021 (and see how things go) in short, more leeway to play around. edit: other advantages.. 2011 car still under warranty, and the coe (resulting in overall cost) is 35k. still cheaper than current level Edited April 18, 2012 by Solar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 On 4/18/2012 at 11:47 AM, Jerrcik said: U guys can always own and ride a bike. I been riding several bikes for the last 4 -5 years every since getting back my license. It so much better than driving. bikes are not practical for some.. esp with old folks or little kids to ferry about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 On 4/18/2012 at 12:35 PM, Solar said: that's what i did.. just traded-in my 5+ yr car for a pre-owned 2011 car. in a way, i'm hedging the coe futures... near-term, coe unlikely to fall.. but till 2021, there is a chance. if i hold my old car till coe expires in 2016, if coe don't come down, i either gonna downgrade or take our world-class transport. i (and family) are not prepared to do that. if heng heng 2016 coe somehow drops, i still have the option to change another car, or drive till 2021 (and see how things go) in short, more leeway to play around. edit: other advantages.. 2011 car still under warranty, and the coe (resulting in overall cost) is 35k. still cheaper than current level This is what i think too. If you are currently driving 2006 or 2007 cars, it is quite a good option to get a 1-2 year used car. Quite risky to drive until 2016, esp nobody can predict that the COE will drop by then. And even it drop in 2016, i believe there are also many many people going in to buy car, since their existing car has reached 10 years. As there are a huge number of cars registered in 2006, the demand for cars confirm will go up in 2015-2016. So i guess if you can afford to get the 1-2 year old used car now, better to buy now rather than later, since the car price will continue to go up. I have one friend who bought a used end 09 car which costs around 60K when he got it 1 year ago. But the same car needs to pay at least 70K or more if you buy it now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rezorn86 3rd Gear April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 wa xiong ah, cat b n open cat got more than $90k!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 On 4/14/2012 at 3:21 AM, RadX said: Good good.....for sure less OPCs, and less of those who cannot to afford car wun buy......leave the car owners to those who can afford My exact sentiment! Instead of KPKB here saying COE high cannot afford, why not use the KPKB time to make more $$$? Anyway, congrat to your new Altis 1.6A Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 Kotek got new car delivery for your customers anot? Don't come here and say its yours hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 On 4/18/2012 at 3:15 PM, Porker said: Kotek got new car delivery for your customers anot? Don't come here and say its yours hor Pookeemar u! This month bz deliver new cars to all my ELITE customer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 On 4/17/2012 at 9:16 AM, 13177 said: 4 years still consider quite a long time, you never know what will happen. Unless govt say wanna increase car growth rate which i think chances r near zero as they already say they wanna decrease till negative growth in future. So good luck to all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 18, 2012 Share April 18, 2012 On 4/18/2012 at 3:28 PM, Nkps said: Pookeemar u! This month bz deliver new cars to all my ELITE customer... Next time you should stay in Pookee Merah and do Pookeemar there ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...