Mllcg 3rd Gear April 13, 2012 Share April 13, 2012 need doctor recommendation?? i heard only for medical purpose like quit smoking then can buy. or any one of us can buy?? that one smoking gum la. need doctor the one i talking about is the "teeth whitening" gum. no need doc. just go and buy. but need pharmacist ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic April 13, 2012 Share April 13, 2012 need doctor recommendation?? i heard only for medical purpose like quit smoking then can buy. or any one of us can buy?? Anyone can buy. At least the pharmacist didn't stop me. Bought it for my children to try One cannot grow up not having tried chewing gum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic April 13, 2012 Share April 13, 2012 (edited) The westerners say ban shark fins, everyone then follow, even fellow asian. Shark is the top of the sea predators. If the top predators were lesser, would that allow those at the lower level of the food chain to flourish? How about we ban Beef 1) the cattle requires farms to breed, 2) the produces plenty of carbon gases 3) The feed requires more carbon footprint to reproduce. 4) It's sacred to more than a billion people globally. 5) Bottomline - eating beef is environmentally unfriendly. Beef - Global Issues The lesser Evil? Edited April 13, 2012 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear April 13, 2012 Share April 13, 2012 The thing is will banning shark's fin work? Or will it drive up demand? Surely there will be ppl or restaurants who will defy such a ban coz you can't run away from the fact that ppl want their shark's fin soup. Banning chewing gum is obviously not effective. This kinda hardline tactics will only piss ppl off and make them go against the ban. As we can see in the chewing gum ban, i think the ban is just dumb. How can you stop ppl from what they want to eat or chew? Democratic society indeed. Actually, its been verified many times, that the taste of the shark fin soup doesn't come from the sharkfins at all. Only thing the shark fin provide is the tactile feel, which you can find many substitutes. You can still enjoy the 'sharkfin soup' without losing much taste, if at all, if there is no actual sharkfin in the soup. I am not a environmental activitist, but its quite silly & cruel to kill a living thing yet it doesn't really do much. Just saying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 1) Sharks ain't reared in a farm. Hence, they aren't meant for mass consumption, or to be hunted. Cutting off the fin is quite akin to chopping off one of your limb and dumping you in the jungle for you to slowly wait for your end to come. 2) Disturbing the food chains, be it land or sea, has never been and never will be a good idea. Just my SGD$0.02. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Again...selective banning. Rare earth should be banned like how Indonesia is doing! Stop sales to outsider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Anyone can buy. At least the pharmacist didn't stop me. Bought it for my children to try One cannot grow up not having tried chewing gum Huh? Let your children try nicotine?.. How old are they?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvingoh45 Clutched April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 And officers will deployed themself at woodlands custom to conduct urine test.Cosumers detected with sharks fin in thier urine will be charge and sent to jail even if they consume it overseas.No chance given. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Huh? Let your children try nicotine?.. How old are they?... No, not nicotine chewing gum... chewwwwwwing guuuuuummmmmmmm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 singapore probably is the only country on earth to ban the sale of chewing gum banning other stuff is possible....except cigarettes which generate high tax revenue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Ban plastic bags - some countries did it Ban car wash - some countries did it Encourage green cars - many many countries did it but we still need to wait for diesel/green rebates next year. Going green is NEVER here! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Actually, its been verified many times, that the taste of the shark fin soup doesn't come from the sharkfins at all. Only thing the shark fin provide is the tactile feel, which you can find many substitutes. You can still enjoy the 'sharkfin soup' without losing much taste, if at all, if there is no actual sharkfin in the soup. I am not a environmental activitist, but its quite silly & cruel to kill a living thing yet it doesn't really do much. Just saying. Quite true. Quite no point to kill something, yet no value add... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 compel farking....we need babies [:p] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 1) Sharks ain't reared in a farm. Hence, they aren't meant for mass consumption, or to be hunted. Cutting off the fin is quite akin to chopping off one of your limb and dumping you in the jungle for you to slowly wait for your end to come. 2) Disturbing the food chains, be it land or sea, has never been and never will be a good idea. Just my SGD$0.02. I agree its cruel. But we need to think about why we are protecting the sharks. If its just about cruelty, or dumping of mutilated sharks, we can make a law that say can only import whole sharks lor... Or sharks must be sold whole, ie got order shark meat, then can order sharks fin? Like it or not, the truth is, humans have been disrupting food chains for thousands of years. I don't disagree with banning sharks fin, cos no impact to me. But i feel that it is just fashionable to be shark protector. Nothing else. Just people trying to feel better about themselves and hopefully impress others about how 'kind' they are. A little hypocritical if i may say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
8oo8 Neutral Newbie April 14, 2012 Author Share April 14, 2012 I agree its cruel. But we need to think about why we are protecting the sharks. If its just about cruelty, or dumping of mutilated sharks, we can make a law that say can only import whole sharks lor... Or sharks must be sold whole, ie got order shark meat, then can order sharks fin? Like it or not, the truth is, humans have been disrupting food chains for thousands of years. I don't disagree with banning sharks fin, cos no impact to me. But i feel that it is just fashionable to be shark protector. Nothing else. Just people trying to feel better about themselves and hopefully impress others about how 'kind' they are. A little hypocritical if i may say. Yes you are right, Hypocrite. All living animal that consumed by human, all very cruel... but it depend how you eat them and slaughter them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 I agree its cruel. But we need to think about why we are protecting the sharks. If its just about cruelty, or dumping of mutilated sharks, we can make a law that say can only import whole sharks lor... Or sharks must be sold whole, ie got order shark meat, then can order sharks fin? Like it or not, the truth is, humans have been disrupting food chains for thousands of years. I don't disagree with banning sharks fin, cos no impact to me. But i feel that it is just fashionable to be shark protector. Nothing else. Just people trying to feel better about themselves and hopefully impress others about how 'kind' they are. A little hypocritical if i may say. shark meat how to eat? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jpcc Clutched April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 i thought shark meat is sold in the market? I saw some Teochew porridge / Chai Peng store has a dish with kiam cai and fish. I was told the fish is shark meat. Any mcf'er can confirm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 shark meat how to eat? lol cook and eat lah. i ever eat shark meat before... how it taste?? not very nice leh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...