KARTer 2nd Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 The identities of the people in a country may take years to cultivate and for a young nation like ours, is there a quick way to achieve the identities we want? In a migrant place like here, there are 'ready-made' identities our forefathers brought over from their previous homeland / culture. In a way, being a young nation / people, we have the advantage of starting from a relatively clean sheet of paper. Since prata nathan said we still lack identities but didnt tell us what identities we need, lets do some shopping with our own shopping list, better still if we can invent our own identities, if its at all possible (?) In identities, we are dealing with characters / behaviours basically, anything else? Maybe we start with looking around and check out what identities / characters people in other countries have? What're you favourite countries where you like the identities / characters of the people? What attributes of these peopel inspire you? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 we have identity cards....enough or not? one check the IC number, even throw cig butts decades ago also know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 HDB SMRT ECP AYE SLE PIE CTE KJE TPE BKE PAP PUB ...etc Merlion Esplanade Sentosa Orchard Road ...etc Ah Meng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 Ask prata man lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 11, 2012 Author Share April 11, 2012 What about identities of the people? other than being kiasu and jimp queues etc when in other countries as tourists etc etc? Something more positive On 4/11/2012 at 8:23 AM, Rncw said: HDB SMRT ECP AYE SLE PIE CTE KJE TPE BKE PAP PUB ...etc Merlion Esplanade Sentosa Orchard Road ...etc Ah Meng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 11, 2012 Author Share April 11, 2012 On 4/11/2012 at 8:19 AM, Rncw said: we have identity cards....enough or not? one check the IC number, even throw cig butts decades ago also know how to show such cig-butt record on our ID card? let me check mine.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 Get rid of the ATs, these are the people trying eroding our identity and culture. Talk to any of them, it is not they adapting to us, but forcing us to adapt to them. Recently there was a discussion here on the changes to the chinese name of some countries. Needless to say, mediacorse is trying to follow the ATs for whatever reasons unknown to us. How many of us say "tang shi" to refer to a spoon? In my ex-coy, the ATs die die insist that it is "shao zi" (whatever it is). Though they are not wrong, but this is how we call things here, just like our singlish. Most ATB would be pissed if you call them "xiao jie" as it has a different meaning back home. I purposely irritate them by calling them xiao jie, our local way of calling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 11, 2012 Author Share April 11, 2012 On 4/11/2012 at 11:07 AM, Bystander50 said: Get rid of the ATs, these are the people trying eroding our identity and culture. Talk to any of them, it is not they adapting to us, but forcing us to adapt to them. Recently there was a discussion here on the changes to the chinese name of some countries. Needless to say, mediacorse is trying to follow the ATs for whatever reasons unknown to us. How many of us say "tang shi" to refer to a spoon? In my ex-coy, the ATs die die insist that it is "shao zi" (whatever it is). Though they are not wrong, but this is how we call things here, just like our singlish. Most ATB would be pissed if you call them "xiao jie" as it has a different meaning back home. I purposely irritate them by calling them xiao jie, our local way of calling. i agree with you on this. We have our own ways of using chinese words, and why on hell they insist change it? The taiwanese use some chinese words their way and different from PRC's ways. Language is flexible in this regards. I am attending a business-mandarin class and can see the differences in the choice of words to mean the same things between sgp and PRC, i will adopt their ways when i go to their country, but here, i will stick to sgp ways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 (edited) Start with the language lor, can you speak like this? Edited April 11, 2012 by Alim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 Who say we dint have Sgp identities? We have Elite identity High class identity The rest are dogs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 11, 2012 Author Share April 11, 2012 On 4/11/2012 at 12:53 PM, Tigerwoods said: Who say we dint have Sgp identities? We have Elite identity High class identity The rest are dogs. Elite id ---- elite kindergarten, elite school... High class id ----- driving atas car, staying in highend (or feel highend) properties, dinning / shopping in highend places.. There are some truly first world countries where the people dont really go after the above things in life.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 11, 2012 Author Share April 11, 2012 Alim, why you make me laugh until like tat!!??..... phakkk u lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 next yr allocate lagi more from The Budget into citizen ft integration programs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 On 4/11/2012 at 1:41 PM, KARTer said: Alim, why you make me laugh until like tat!!??..... phakkk u lah Haha, I buy you big c0ck later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dice 3rd Gear April 11, 2012 Share April 11, 2012 Got identity what... I remember one time on a Taiwanese news channel they interviewed a guy whose tour bus had an accident in Hokkaido and immediately I can identify him to be Singaporean! We do have a look and we do speak differently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 11, 2012 Author Share April 11, 2012 On 4/11/2012 at 2:50 PM, Dice said: Got identity what... I remember one time on a Taiwanese news channel they interviewed a guy whose tour bus had an accident in Hokkaido and immediately I can identify him to be Singaporean! We do have a look and we do speak differently. this is true... the moment one of us open our mouth, he's exposed!! but i dont see there's a sgp look?... any pic to show examples? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 12, 2012 Share April 12, 2012 On 4/11/2012 at 1:34 PM, KARTer said: Elite id ---- elite kindergarten, elite school... High class id ----- driving atas car, staying in highend (or feel highend) properties, dinning / shopping in highend places.. There are some truly first world countries where the people dont really go after the above things in life.... Forgot to add... Some evolved to Pigs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear April 12, 2012 Share April 12, 2012 Iirc in sweden, poor and rich children study in the same school, same classroom, poor and rich go to the same hospital. Dunno how they do it, maybe their values in life very different from sporean. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...