Paddie 3rd Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 Using a proper child seat and seat belts might have saved lives. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 5:53 AM, Paddie said: Using a proper child seat and seat belts might have saved lives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 5:48 AM, Maka said: Only near RnR will have 3 lanes. Mostly is 2 lane traffic. Will u take left lane or lane 1? I know it well cos i go KL every 2 weeks. Depends on the traffic quite frankly. If two lanes - I would mostly take left lane. I am not a slow driver, but in heavy rain I take particular care - as the stopping distance is far more than visibility. In that sort of situation I get very antsy - is part of my "driver education" driving in dual carriageways where you really didn't know what was around the next corner, and you had many blind corners where you might meet almost anything (from a wandering sheep to a slow moving tractor to somebody partially cutting the corner). I often feel that this is something not well understood by Singapore drivers either - but that's just a feeling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 5:53 AM, Paddie said: Using a proper child seat and seat belts might have saved lives. I agree completely but we cannot confirm whether the passengers at the back of the car were wearing seatbelts. If they did, they could have still be alive. Accidents happens all the time ..... but we have to take the necessary precautions. Seat belts and child seat are there for a purpose. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 5:57 AM, Darryn said: Depends on the traffic quite frankly. If two lanes - I would mostly take left lane. I am not a slow driver, but in heavy rain I take particular care - as the stopping distance is far more than visibility. In that sort of situation I get very antsy - is part of my "driver education" driving in dual carriageways where you really didn't know what was around the next corner, and you had many blind corners where you might meet almost anything (from a wandering sheep to a slow moving tractor to somebody partially cutting the corner). I often feel that this is something not well understood by Singapore drivers either - but that's just a feeling. I am not sure how many aware the usefulness of tooting horn before blind bends (along Federal Highway and the likes). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 5:44 AM, Darryn said: In heavy rain on the NS I tend to stick to middle lane, on hazard lights, and if possible follow another car that is travelling at a speed I am comfortable with. bro, dangerous to use hazard signal when not stationary. Drivers behind you will be confused. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 6:05 AM, Civic6228 said: I agree completely but we cannot confirm whether the passengers at the back of the car were wearing seatbelts. If they did, they could have still be alive. Accidents happens all the time ..... but we have to take the necessary precautions. Seat belts and child seat are there for a purpose. If they were flung out, it would seem that they weren't wearing seat belts. Still puzzles me today on why ppl do that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 4:03 AM, Davidtch said: A lot of drivers are not used to driving in heavy downpour. I believe most drivers would slow down. But there are some who believe they are the ''rainmaster'' in their protons or kancils. Once had this Waja that was cutting in and out of cars in heavy rain. Decided to slow down and let him choot thru and told my passengers to watch the drama unfold later. True enuf, 10mins down the road, the waja had crashed into the centre barrier....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 5:44 AM, Darryn said: In heavy rain on the NS I tend to stick to middle lane, on hazard lights, and if possible follow another car that is travelling at a speed I am comfortable with. Many reasons - 1. Left lane got lorries, not all have good lights etc 2. Right lane - cars going faster than me 3. By following another car I feel that it is a bit safer - is easier to see their lights than the road, and let them hit any obstacles first :-) yeah man. I always on middle lane..... safest lane of all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 6:27 AM, Soya said: If they were flung out, it would seem that they weren't wearing seat belts. Still puzzles me today on why ppl do that. Yeah... many wear seat belt to avoid kena saman. Not really for their own safety. I have friends and relatives, everytime I drive in to my apartment area, they will remove the seat belt automatically, no fail. The seat belt really so uncomfortable meh? They seems can't even wait for another 30 seconds for the car to stop. ... same goes to the people in the plane. Many will want to be the first to release their seat belt.. well before the pilot turns off the seat belt light. Like got prize to win. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 Every Journey comes with risks During all long weekend PH, death on road increased,esp during CNY and HRP. RIP and all of us drive safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 That is very true. Even the best cars are exposed to skidding and aquaplanning. I ve also seen mercedes,beemers, crashed onto guard rails along straight roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 Some pics found on net on NSH...ride safe always remind us to drive safe. blackened out the deceased pics.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cllee 2nd Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 5:53 AM, Paddie said: Using a proper child seat and seat belts might have saved lives. Fully agreed, alto no guarantee but it reduces the risk a lot. In Malaysia, rear seat passengers need to wear seat belt. Dun give chance to the TP there to issue summon to you. We cant bring them back but we can prevent and save other life. It is yr choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 6:49 AM, Ben5266 said: Yeah... many wear seat belt to avoid kena saman. Not really for their own safety. I have friends and relatives, everytime I drive in to my apartment area, they will remove the seat belt automatically, no fail. The seat belt really so uncomfortable meh? They seems can't even wait for another 30 seconds for the car to stop. ... same goes to the people in the plane. Many will want to be the first to release their seat belt.. well before the pilot turns off the seat belt light. Like got prize to win. Exactly, it irks me most when drivers allow their kids to seat in the front passenger seat without any precaution and also allowing children to roam freely when they are at the back of the car. What is in the head of such drivers ? I never move my car till everyone is buckled up safely unless i have to ferry too many people which does not happen very often, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 See this video from the other thread : http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...;hl=GVGT*++NSH* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 6:24 AM, Wishcumstrue said: bro, dangerous to use hazard signal when not stationary. Drivers behind you will be confused. on NSE, this seems to be the standard ... most MY cars will on hazard lights if really big rain, so do what the "romans" do....in SG, please don't Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 9, 2012 Share April 9, 2012 On 4/9/2012 at 6:24 AM, Wishcumstrue said: bro, dangerous to use hazard signal when not stationary. Drivers behind you will be confused. On the NSH it is the norm, and frankly speaking, having driven in the super heavy rain a number of times I prefer that people do it. It does make a very big difference to the visibility. Even when some cars turn on headlights they are less visible than if also turn on hazard lights. It is a lot lot easier to see a car that has its flashers on - of course, when you do it, must also adjust driving style a little (as in, not change lanes) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...