Subaru BRZ and Toyota GT86

S7rik3R

msia no have 10 year lifespan

243 000 Malaysian ringgits = 99 166.2525 Singapore dollars

Ok wad... 100k i hoot.

Malaysian imported cars always is S'pore price without C.O.E.,'imagine' C.O.E. is $1000.00,BRZ or GT-86 the most costs $105,000.00.

The market they were targeting is no more. The COE has priced out the young ah beng marginal owner types.

Right now, these cars have NO clear market. Performance enthusiasts (myself included) are turned off by the poor power and straight-line performance. The nostalgic enthusiasts hankering after the old Hachiroku legend are mature enough to want some creature comforts, or at least good fit and finish. They're also mature enough to not want to pay this sort of premium (with the COE and completely unjustifiable markup for the MT version) for a car that lacks those features. It's likely that the only people who really want this car to the point of actually buying it are those who can ill-afford it.

if coe is cheaper.

im sure the golf and rocco drivers will get this.

in usa, this car is only 30k USD.

and their targets are the same as us. lol

if coe is cheaper.

I don't think so. Once u r hooked to turbo, very hard to get rid of it.

Let's leave this 2 car for NA whore like me.

Anyway, i think BM will launch 86 next wk.

Edited by Davidtch

if coe is cheaper.

wun wan la... golf / rocco ppl will say, eeyer, no turbo.. so slow... 0-100 so long... look sporty but buay zao one.. behkan... etc etc...

you said a Toyota is never cheaper than other brands even though it is Thai made mah... honda city $120K, Vios $107K-$114K.

I meant the resale value of Toyota la since we are talking about the resale value of the GT68 and BRZ.

Cat B coe increase but BRZ drop price by $5k. I think this car is not selling well.

Probably haven't sold any.

Saw GT86 got quite a few reservation. Wonder did they eventually buy the car.

Probably haven't sold any.

Saw GT86 got quite a few reservation. Wonder did they eventually buy the car.

I know someone from another forum has ordered the brz at lower coe but higher price.

You simply don't appreciate the effort Subaru has made to make the BRZ a driver's car. Interior is really not the focus of a true Driver's car.

agree but they also cant always b stuck in history. unless one is a die hard jap fan, they wont survive on something intangible called drive feel.

of cos the intangibles n soft aspects can b factors but thats usu when the products are neck and neck at hard specs. but frankly if pit agst the roc r, rcz, megane sport now, i doubt they even win on hard specs.

all cars dropped price, not jus the BRZ.

The market they were targeting is no more. The COE has priced out the young ah beng marginal owner types.

Right now, these cars have NO clear market. Performance enthusiasts (myself included) are turned off by the poor power and straight-line performance. The nostalgic enthusiasts hankering after the old Hachiroku legend are mature enough to want some creature comforts, or at least good fit and finish. They're also mature enough to not want to pay this sort of premium (with the COE and completely unjustifiable markup for the MT version) for a car that lacks those features. It's likely that the only people who really want this car to the point of actually buying it are those who can ill-afford it.

The problem is that the generation of people who can appreciate this car for what it is (the Initial D generation) have by now mostly grown up and have different priorities for their wheels.

That includes me. If u ask me 5 years ago, i will buy this car with without thinking. Now that i am older, things have changed.

Edited by Soran

The problem is that the generation of people who can appreciate this car for what it is (the Initial D generation) have by now mostly grown up and have different priorities for their wheels.

That includes me. If u ask me 5 years ago, i will buy this car with without thinking. Now that i am older, things have changed.

Unless i can afford a Porky Cayman S, i m looking at this car as my next target.

Do u mean the 86 is out in BM showroom alr?

Hiding behind the show room. The SE let me start the car to listen to the exos. No test drive yet as the car is not officially launch. SE also know nuts about the car as they have not gone thru the training.

Will be launched some time next wk.

My only gripe is that the execution of the car's rear is done by an idiot.

Wah lau, the rear of the concept car is quite aggressive and it mirrors the elongated front lights of the car.

But seeing the actual car with those passe Altezza style jewel effect lights, it cheapens the whole car and dated the overall design by 10 years. :huh: