JackRabbit 3rd Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Singaporeans will rather give up $1.2m than lose computer privacy AsiaOne Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 A survey conducted by antivirus software company Norton said three quarters of Singaporeans would rather give up $1.2million than give strangers complete access to their computers. According to the report, 76 percent of Singaporeans believe that the information that can be accessed on their computers is worth US$1million. Despite being protective of personal privacy online, two in three Singaporeans are still confused about online security offerings. They have little or no understanding of the online security solutions available to them, the survey found. 45 percent of Singaporeans believe that a basic security solution or antivirus is all they need While Singaporeans know they need online protection, they do have a basic awareness of cybercrime and online threats. What Singaporeans do online According to the survey, Singaporeans spend an average of 66 hours a week online, more than half of their waking hours, connected to the Internet. 93 per cent uses the Internet to check their emails. More are also spending an increasing amount of time browsing the Internet (up to 15 hours a week) and socialising online (up to 12 hours a week). If they were to be cut off from the Internet, one in three Singaporeans said they would start feeling Internet withdrawal within the first three hours. They would be prepared to pay an average of S$180 just to get connected. The younger segment, those between 18 and 34 year old, were willing to pay an average of S$223 Half of Singapore's online community said that they value their financial information the most, followed by 24 percent who value their online accounts the most, including email and social networks. 45 per cent of respondents said protecting personal information was the main reason for using an Internet security solution. Vice President of Norton for Asia Pacific & Japan. David Freer said Singapore Internet users place a high value on their personal information, but do not have a comprehensive security solution in place to protect them from online security threats. "As the owners of multiple connected devices in a country that enjoys high Internet connectivity, there is a greater need for Singaporeans to have strong, comprehensive security to protect the important information stored on multiple devices. and platforms be it PCs, Macs, mobile phones or tablets," he said. The survey also found that 80 per cent of Singaporeans back up personal information like documents, pictures, contacts and music. http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...404-337795.html What is glaring is that .... when discussing "What Singaporeans do online" nowhere in this report does it say that looking at porn is one of those acivities - and yet porn is the biggest industry on the Internet. So ... the survey and the report are simply not reporting the whole truth! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiaceminibus Clutched April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 "browsing the Internet" mean browsing everything lah. Understand boh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Wahlau eh. You pay me $100K and you can access my computer as much as I want. I'll just change my passwords immediately afterwards and cancel all my cards. I'll even give you HD filled with my priceless collection. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 (edited) i can do one better. Give the 1 million dollars and they can have my computer and evrything connected to it! Even my flat......and i wont delete any files that were saved! Idiot reporting! Edited April 5, 2012 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Wahlau eh. You pay me $100K and you can access my computer as much as I want. I'll just change my passwords immediately afterwards and cancel all my cards. I'll even give you HD filled with my priceless collection. Pay me $50k and you can have my Notebook + my External HDD Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 If you tell me sgporeans would rather give up marriage and children dan lose computer privacy, I would believe that. Looking at the singles you will know why. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Singaporeans will rather give up $1.2m than lose computer privacy AsiaOne Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 A survey conducted by antivirus software company Norton said three quarters of Singaporeans would rather give up $1.2million than give strangers complete access to their computers. According to the report, 76 percent of Singaporeans believe that the information that can be accessed on their computers is worth US$1million. Despite being protective of personal privacy online, two in three Singaporeans are still confused about online security offerings. They have little or no understanding of the online security solutions available to them, the survey found. 45 percent of Singaporeans believe that a basic security solution or antivirus is all they need While Singaporeans know they need online protection, they do have a basic awareness of cybercrime and online threats. What Singaporeans do online According to the survey, Singaporeans spend an average of 66 hours a week online, more than half of their waking hours, connected to the Internet. 93 per cent uses the Internet to check their emails. More are also spending an increasing amount of time browsing the Internet (up to 15 hours a week) and socialising online (up to 12 hours a week). If they were to be cut off from the Internet, one in three Singaporeans said they would start feeling Internet withdrawal within the first three hours. They would be prepared to pay an average of S$180 just to get connected. The younger segment, those between 18 and 34 year old, were willing to pay an average of S$223 Half of Singapore's online community said that they value their financial information the most, followed by 24 percent who value their online accounts the most, including email and social networks. 45 per cent of respondents said protecting personal information was the main reason for using an Internet security solution. Vice President of Norton for Asia Pacific & Japan. David Freer said Singapore Internet users place a high value on their personal information, but do not have a comprehensive security solution in place to protect them from online security threats. "As the owners of multiple connected devices in a country that enjoys high Internet connectivity, there is a greater need for Singaporeans to have strong, comprehensive security to protect the important information stored on multiple devices. and platforms be it PCs, Macs, mobile phones or tablets," he said. The survey also found that 80 per cent of Singaporeans back up personal information like documents, pictures, contacts and music. http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...404-337795.html What is glaring is that .... when discussing "What Singaporeans do online" nowhere in this report does it say that looking at porn is one of those acivities - and yet porn is the biggest industry on the Internet. So ... the survey and the report are simply not reporting the whole truth! I wouldn't think they are lying in their reports. More to slanted and selective reporting. News can be reported in many angles, even with real facts it can always be slanted to what the intended message they want to put through. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Singaporeans will rather give up $1.2m than lose computer privacy AsiaOne Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 A survey conducted by antivirus software company Norton said three quarters of Singaporeans would rather give up $1.2million than give strangers complete access to their computers. According to the report, 76 percent of Singaporeans believe that the information that can be accessed on their computers is worth US$1million. Despite being protective of personal privacy online, two in three Singaporeans are still confused about online security offerings. They have little or no understanding of the online security solutions available to them, the survey found. 45 percent of Singaporeans believe that a basic security solution or antivirus is all they need While Singaporeans know they need online protection, they do have a basic awareness of cybercrime and online threats. What Singaporeans do online According to the survey, Singaporeans spend an average of 66 hours a week online, more than half of their waking hours, connected to the Internet. 93 per cent uses the Internet to check their emails. More are also spending an increasing amount of time browsing the Internet (up to 15 hours a week) and socialising online (up to 12 hours a week). If they were to be cut off from the Internet, one in three Singaporeans said they would start feeling Internet withdrawal within the first three hours. They would be prepared to pay an average of S$180 just to get connected. The younger segment, those between 18 and 34 year old, were willing to pay an average of S$223 Half of Singapore's online community said that they value their financial information the most, followed by 24 percent who value their online accounts the most, including email and social networks. 45 per cent of respondents said protecting personal information was the main reason for using an Internet security solution. Vice President of Norton for Asia Pacific & Japan. David Freer said Singapore Internet users place a high value on their personal information, but do not have a comprehensive security solution in place to protect them from online security threats. "As the owners of multiple connected devices in a country that enjoys high Internet connectivity, there is a greater need for Singaporeans to have strong, comprehensive security to protect the important information stored on multiple devices. and platforms be it PCs, Macs, mobile phones or tablets," he said. The survey also found that 80 per cent of Singaporeans back up personal information like documents, pictures, contacts and music. http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...404-337795.html What is glaring is that .... when discussing "What Singaporeans do online" nowhere in this report does it say that looking at porn is one of those acivities - and yet porn is the biggest industry on the Internet. So ... the survey and the report are simply not reporting the whole truth! I think you barking up wrong tree. The report was done by Norton. And internet browsing include all young and old. Not many of them are humsup like you. Please do not generalise everybody to be like you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 If you tell me sgporeans would rather give up marriage and children dan lose computer privacy, I would believe that. Looking at the singles you will know why. giving up marriage is bcos of the living standards and "affordable" flats (as mentioned by our beloved u know who)... noting to do wif computer privacy... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 1.2 mil for my com? Sure man.... Show me the $$$$$$$$$!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 I think you barking up wrong tree. The report was done by Norton. And internet browsing include all young and old. Not many of them are humsup like you. Please do not generalise everybody to be like you. you got it wrong. he just want to slam msm nia. but using this type of report is epic fail. self pwnd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 giving up marriage is bcos of the living standards and "affordable" flats (as mentioned by our beloved u know who)... noting to do wif computer privacy... lol not really true. if you see the amount of time those single chose to play computer games then go out and meet girls. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 another lame crap article that astroturfs like no tml. no buy internet security= you lose marnie! so must buy! got buy got hope no buy no hope! hey wait a minute.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Whos the gal in the fotograph? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear April 6, 2012 Share April 6, 2012 show me the money too,i am willing to share the porn sites and porn collection with them as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged April 6, 2012 Share April 6, 2012 Singaporeans will rather give up $1.2m than lose computer privacy AsiaOne Wednesday, Apr 04, 2012 A survey conducted by antivirus software company Norton said three quarters of Singaporeans would rather give up $1.2million than give strangers complete access to their computers. According to the report, 76 percent of Singaporeans believe that the information that can be accessed on their computers is worth US$1million. They surveyed 76% of Singaporeans? Want to BS oso must know limits lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poker Neutral Newbie April 6, 2012 Share April 6, 2012 not really true. if you see the amount of time those single chose to play computer games then go out and meet girls. no leh i know of some use gaming to jio xmm out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear April 6, 2012 Share April 6, 2012 no leh i know of some use gaming to jio xmm out Later kp waste time n $. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...