Jman888 Moderator April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 it happened on Monday morning which was a stormy morning, trees fall, accidents, etc. I believe scdf were busy with those incidents. this bike accident was very early, if no witness it is hard to suspect someone had skid so far with a fallen bike lying by the roadside. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Damn sad! PIE fatal hit-and-run: Victim found nearly 5 hours later Above: Mr Muhammad Zulfiqar's body was found in the centre of the divider at the PIE on Monday morning close to five hours later after he was flung off his motorbike. SINGAPORE - A 21-year-old motorcyclist was flung off his motorbike while travelling on the Pan-Island Expressway (PIE) towards Changi Airport on Monday morning (April 2). The bike appeared to have skidded, The New Paper reported. But the victim of the fatal accident, Mr Muhammad Zulfiqar, was found close to five hours later at 10.15am. The police said in a joint statement with the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) that they first received a call about the accident at 5.25am. Upon arrival, they found an unattended motorbike at lane 3 of the expressway, the statement said. However "attempts to verify the whereabouts of the motorbike owner were unsuccessful and officers left the scene subsequently," the agencies said. At 9.15am, SCDF received another call about "someone lying down in the divider along PIE towards Changi Airport, after Upper Bukit Timah exit". But again the dispatched ambulance could not locate the victim. At about 10.07am, the police received another report of "a man lying in the bushes at the centre divider of PIE" and returned to the location. But it was another SCDF ambulance that was on its way to a separate incident along the PIE that spotted Mr Muhammad. Paramedics pronounced the biker dead at 10.15am. According to Chinese-language newspaper Lianhe Wanbao, Mr Muhammad was left for dead after he was hit by a car and flung off his bike. Mr Muhammad's father, Mr Mohd Nor, 45, said his family had never supported his son's decision to ride a motorcycle, according to The New Paper. However he had insisted that it was more convenient than taking the bus or MRT. Mr Mohd Nor said that on the day of the accident, his son had gone for supper with some frineds afer knocking off from work in the wee hours of the morning. Police investigations are ongoing. I believe there are more people with mild night-blindness than we expect. So not too surprised if the first group could not find the body. However, the others who found the body did not gave adequate description of the location. Example: near lamppost no: XXX. That would help locate the exact spot. Let us try to give such details when making any report. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pixel18 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 The report say police was the first to arrive at 5.25am leh. SCDF was only called at 9.15am. By 9.15, I think no chance of survival liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Be safe, bikers. Here's another recent case of hit and run. Culprit still not found. http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...to_my_lane.html Likely that driver got no valid Driving Licence, so escaped from the scene. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Be safe, bikers. Here's another recent case of hit and run. Culprit still not found. http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...to_my_lane.html Was told Japanese call motorcycles suicide vehicles Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 If about 90% of accidents involve motorcyclists. What could change their mind about using a motorcycle? I did changed my mind about using motorcycle many years back. A colleague wanted to sell his motorcycle. I had been helping him service it. I was to make payment on last Saturday of the month. On that last Friday of the month (eve of payment date), he had his first fall from his bike coming to work. He rode slowly after rain over a ponding. However, it was not water ponding. But diesel spill from heavy vehicles. His bike slipped so he fell. He accepted my cancellation as he nursed his wounds. I never ever wanted to buy/ride a motorcycle. Is the time-saving worthy of risking our lives, when all the time saved can not give us a second life? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Maybe need more cameras. Good excuse to raise ERP soon. i dun see why this sad case can sound funny to you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Where does it say it was a hit and run? And why are people so quick to blame the emergency services and not the rider who could have been speeding? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paradox55 Neutral Newbie April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Hmm I wonder if the bike involved in the accident has been removed from the incident site initially... If the bike has been removed, its even harder to locate the victim, expecially for an accident along a stretch of highway... the last time I reported about an accident along PIE, i stopped about a 100+meters after the accident than walked to the location... i also described approx how many meters it was from the the last exit or to the next exit ... something like that . . . I guess this kind of description do help specially when it is raining and all . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerealkiller 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 drove passed and saw police covered up, i suspected some one died but didn't see any motorcycle / car around. condolences to the family Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 (edited) Hmm I wonder if the bike involved in the accident has been removed from the incident site initially... If the bike has been removed, its even harder to locate the victim, expecially for an accident along a stretch of highway... the last time I reported about an accident along PIE, i stopped about a 100+meters after the accident than walked to the location... i also described approx how many meters it was from the the last exit or to the next exit ... something like that . . . I guess this kind of description do help specially when it is raining and all . . . The bike could be hit by other vehicles later and shifted location as a result of the/each impact. Lamppost are about 25metres aprt, if no landmark for reference. Do no mention Bo tree, or others may start looking for praying apparatus... Edited April 5, 2012 by Good-Carbuyer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...