Which car will you choose  

91 members have voted

1. 1. SST vs C180k

• Evo x sst 7 yrs old
    • New c180k

~31K

so cost: 31K * 2.284 + 60K = ~131K

thanks bro. gonna visit c&c tomorrow look-see. hopefully no hidden catch somewhere [:p]

Agree. "having face" is in their head. If you see a person with C180, 318i/320i etc, confirm people with limited budget for car or they do not want to spend too much on a car. More likely the former is true, otherwise buy jap or korean already.

It's being pragmatic, nothing to do with face lah.

At $150K or thereabouts:

- C180K (solid, German-made, RWD, NCAP 5-star) OMV $31K

- Altis 1.8L (tomyam-made, FWD, NCAP 4-star) OMV $17K

Even $160K:

- Camry 2L (tomyam-made, FWD), OMV $22K

The choice is obvious - a no brainer.

Look at the OMVs!!! Nauseating man ...

Still want a "Jap" car?

Korean car's also not any better off lah!

Hyundai i-45 2L at $151K.

OMV $18K nia. You want ah?

So for $150K, a Merc C180K actually makes a lot of sense, financially!

Edited by W210k

Even from the BHP to engine size, the Japs cannot fight:

C180K - 1.6L, 156 BHP ... $150K bracket

Altis - 1.8L, 140 BHP ... $150K bracket

Camry - 2.0L, 148 BHP ... $160K bracket

Merc is Cat A COE and lower road tax than the Japs (both Cat B COE and higher road tax hor).

How to fight?

How to sell?

at first i thot comparing the merc wif evo was oredi [dizzy] . now the discussion OT until compare wif an altis??.... :wacko::wacko:

Hold on to Evo X sst $1350/mth 1.88% intrest 39k Omv 3k insurance. 5k servicing. No warranty. Last EVO legend

Buy new C180k $1650 / mth 2.68% intrest 31k Omv 15k servicing. 3 yrs warranty. MB entry level.

If these are the options u have, which would u choose?

Dear TS,

I am pretty sure that you know what you would be getting changing from a EVO to C180K ..... just change lah if you really want ....at the end of the day, it is your decision and you are paying for it ....

Even if the poll indicate 100% to keep the EVO, would you keep the EVO ????

What the point of starting the thread and then this Poll ? Once you have decided ...... move on. Even if you regret later, it was the choice that you have made ....

Hmm, ok that's true. Well as they say, always expect the unexpected ^_^

But on topic, if I were to ever encounter this again, I'd feel much safer in a performance car.

well to be fair.

ppl who buy Merc and Volvo are likely not ppl who will speed like you(not intend as a pun) so chances to encounter such problem should be lesser. I think those who buy Volvo and Merc have in mind are safety and comfort. so i dont think they will enter same situation [laugh]

It all about personal choices.

1) Which is more important.. your drive or Family?

2) EVO yes power.. but how many times do you actually use that power?

3) Which is cheaper in the longer run.. but do bear in mind Merc servicing is not CHEAP!!

4) Space and comfort.. which is needed?

5) Value for $$

Merc C Class handling is not too bad, given that it is RWD.. almost 50 50 weight distribution. POwer for the 1.6L supercharger might not be there, but it is a proven technology used in C and E previously, and the 5 speed auto is also proven reliable, although not the best gearbox in terms of speed, but good enough.

the 1.6L Class is good enough to keep up with traffic, and fast enough to overtake if needed. Relatively good handling and solid build conti.

If you compare with an EVO.. EVO sure win in terms of power and handling, but all other things which your family will enjoy most of the time is in the C CLass.

Hmm, ok that's true. Well as they say, always expect the unexpected ^_^

But on topic, if I were to ever encounter this again, I'd feel much safer in a performance car.

If this really happen again, I will feel much safer in a C Class car than a jap performance car... My brother in law caught in a 4 car chain accident, he was the 2nd from the front.. all the other three cars have to wait for tow truck.. he just take down particulars.. and drive off. He drove a volvo. The rest are all jap and korean.

Edited by Bomby929

well to be fair.

ppl who buy Merc and Volvo are likely not ppl who will speed like you(not intend as a pun) so chances to encounter such problem should be lesser. I think those who buy Volvo and Merc have in mind are safety and comfort. so i dont think they will enter same situation [laugh]

Not entirely true.. most cars that speed on NSH are conti.. esp BMW and Merc.. (no need to say about those exotic sports cars). And the reason they can do it is that at 180km/h.. the car still feel planted and safe.

Edited by Bomby929

2) EVO yes power.. but how many times do you actually use that power?

400nm @ 3500prm.

Sure use it many time / day.

If nv use, change merc is the correct decision. Lol

at first i thot comparing the merc wif evo was oredi [dizzy] . now the discussion OT until compare wif an altis??.... :wacko::wacko:

All in $150K price point.

Since that other guy had asked to consider other Jap/Kor cars.

Thus my answer : Altis 1.8L also $150K as C-180K ... No brainer right?

400nm @ 3500prm.

Sure use it many time / day.

If nv use, change merc is the correct decision. Lol

Then Merc C Class 230Nm at 2800 would be even better! No need to rev to 3500.

Even from the BHP to engine size, the Japs cannot fight:

C180K - 1.6L, 156 BHP ... $150K bracket

Altis - 1.8L, 140 BHP ... $150K bracket

Camry - 2.0L, 148 BHP ... $160K bracket

Merc is Cat A COE and lower road tax than the Japs (both Cat B COE and higher road tax hor).

How to fight?

How to sell?

There was some comments earlier regarding C180 bringing more "face" compared to an evo.

With the pricing of today's COE, tides has changed unfortunately.

Cost of C180 is almost similar to an Altis 1.8......

What a sad reality [:/]

Then Merc C Class 230Nm at 2800 would be even better! No need to rev to 3500.

Where u get yr info from...

@1550kg , auto box, 230nm @ 4200.

Really nothing to compare.

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION Engine: 1,597cc 4-cylinder, 16-valves Supercharged

Power: 156bhp @ 5,200rpm

Torque: 230Nm @ 4,200rpm

Transmission: 5-speed automatic

Where u get yr info from...

@1550kg , auto box, 230nm @ 4200.

Really nothing to compare.

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION Engine: 1,597cc 4-cylinder, 16-valves Supercharged

Power: 156bhp @ 5,200rpm

Torque: 230Nm @ 4,200rpm

Transmission: 5-speed automatic

Go to Mercedes Benz website and look at the specs for C180K. It stated Rated torque (Nm at rpm) 230/2800 - 4600. Which means max torque flat from 2800 - 4600rpm.

Choosing cars like choosing GF, would u prefer a hot and sexy girl or a classy business sweet women.

hot and sexy girl in the bedroom.

classy business sweet women on the streets.

Don't forget to let us know what price

you got for the Evo.

well to be fair.

Actualli, at 180kmh, a merc or volvo feels like its onli travelling at 120. [:p]

In the unfortunate event of a high speed crash, i doubt anyone wif a sound mind would prefer to be in a lancer or impreza over a 5-star NCAP conti.