Hotshot85 4th Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 you sure its not your doing?? how i read, i feel you are the one putting yourself in that situation leh. How I know the proton don't even bother to check side mirror to see if there's any oncoming traffic before trying to overtake ma ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 BTW, I think this has quite a bit to do with the price point of these cars over the years. In the "golden era", the cars were not only fairly new additions to the international scene (the US was just beginning to notice them, and the models were being featured in the hottest new games, etc.), but to buy a WRX in Singapore would put you back about $130,000 at least. In the "chao ah beng era", a base WRX cost "merely" $80,000 or even less. Now, everyone has gotten used to them, and contis have become the new B&B cars, so no matter how expensive the Samurai warriors are, noone really cares anymore. Besides, the last generations of each icon have been rather bad missteps - the Evo X changed too many things (including going from the legendary bulletproof 4G63 to a completely unknown 4b11t for its swan song) and earned a reputation for being a compromise car, and the hatchback WRX was just an embarrassment. If people are really interested in getting a serious Japanese performance car, they just look to the GTR. I'm sure my rather blunt opinions are going to piss quite a few people off, and for that, I'm sorry. But I assure you that plenty of people, even enthusiasts, think in much the same terms. I am a fan of both Evo and WRX and I agree totally. Sad but maybe by the time my son can drive, these samurais may return to their former glory. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 BTW, I think this has quite a bit to do with the price point of these cars over the years. In the "golden era", the cars were not only fairly new additions to the international scene (the US was just beginning to notice them, and the models were being featured in the hottest new games, etc.), but to buy a WRX in Singapore would put you back about $130,000 at least. In the "chao ah beng era", a base WRX cost "merely" $80,000 or even less. Now, everyone has gotten used to them, and contis have become the new B&B cars, so no matter how expensive the Samurai warriors are, noone really cares anymore. Besides, the last generations of each icon have been rather bad missteps - the Evo X changed too many things (including going from the legendary bulletproof 4G63 to a completely unknown 4b11t for its swan song) and earned a reputation for being a compromise car, and the hatchback WRX was just an embarrassment. If people are really interested in getting a serious Japanese performance car, they just look to the GTR. I'm sure my rather blunt opinions are going to piss quite a few people off, and for that, I'm sorry. But I assure you that plenty of people, even enthusiasts, think in much the same terms. I tend to agree with you. Whether people choose to notice my WRX or the BMW next to me, I couldn't care less, as I know what my ride is capable of. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 I tend to agree with you. Whether people choose to notice my WRX or the BMW next to me, I couldn't care less, as I know what my ride is capable of. That's a very healthy attitude to take. I'm seriously thinking of going from my 911 to a GTR, and I'm well aware that many non-enthusiasts look at that as a step-down marque-wise, but I don't care. I drive what I like, and the GTR is just too awesome to ignore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 That's a very healthy attitude to take. I'm seriously thinking of going from my 911 to a GTR, and I'm well aware that many non-enthusiasts look at that as a step-down marque-wise, but I don't care. I drive what I like, and the GTR is just too awesome to ignore. That's nice bro But, a 911 does have its charms too .. though maybe it ain't as powerful. I totally respect the GTR, unfortunately I'll probably have to sell backside to own one haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 i'm ah pek. but i like the new C and E class Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 How I know the proton don't even bother to check side mirror to see if there's any oncoming traffic before trying to overtake ma errr... i mean if you dont drive at 180 but say at speed limit, maybe you have to brake so hard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 (edited) damn.. all these discussions have gotten me itchy again.. what is the omv for the c180k? assuming omv 35k, and coe 60k, the paper value is about 90k. if c&c is selling at 150k, what does that (150k-90k) 60k comprise of? Edited April 4, 2012 by Solar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 what is the omv for the c180k? ~31K so cost: 31K * 2.284 + 60K = ~131K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 errr... i mean if you dont drive at 180 but say at speed limit, maybe you have to brake so hard Wanted to see how fast I could go with gravity helping me ma Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titaniumr Neutral Newbie April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Agree. "having face" is in their head. If you see a person with C180, 318i/320i etc, confirm people with limited budget for car or they do not want to spend too much on a car. More likely the former is true, otherwise buy jap or korean already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Wanted to see how fast I could go with gravity helping me ma ai yeah. i am not saying this lah. you want to see how fast you can lah. what i mean is, you put yourself in that situation to justify saying that this is something that just happen one? anyway discussion only not talking about you should or should not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Agree. "having face" is in their head. If you see a person with C180, 318i/320i etc, confirm people with limited budget for car or they do not want to spend too much on a car. More likely the former is true, otherwise buy jap or korean already. why must be jap or korean?? they so expensive now. Conti on the contradict is cheaper for what they offer in current market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 ai yeah. i am not saying this lah. you want to see how fast you can lah. what i mean is, you put yourself in that situation to justify saying that this is something that just happen one? anyway discussion only not talking about you should or should not. Hmm, ok that's true. Well as they say, always expect the unexpected But on topic, if I were to ever encounter this again, I'd feel much safer in a performance car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 you sure its not your doing?? how i read, i feel you are the one putting yourself in that situation leh. sounds like a self-created problem needing a self-created solution. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kings Neutral Newbie April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 different types of cars. comfort vs perfomance. unfair Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 sounds like a self-created problem needing a self-created solution. sounds like masturb.... u bad old man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 (edited) Choosing cars like choosing GF, would u prefer a hot and sexy girl or a classy business sweet women. Both also want... one red rose and one white rose..... just right Edited April 5, 2012 by Icebrush79 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...