RadX Moderator April 3, 2012 Share April 3, 2012 Why not just take SBS's double decker bus? Or drive around town in our own car? can go into sea meh? oh that one hippo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 3, 2012 Share April 3, 2012 The duck tour overall still ok la, although dont have the splash effect. But your expectation cannot be too high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 3, 2012 Share April 3, 2012 can go into sea meh? oh that one hippo wait for the floods lor, the water will come to the car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged July 23, 2018 Share July 23, 2018 a very serious accident last week in USA. the safety of these boats are not exactly prisitne. are they still operating from suntec city? https://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2018/07/20/us/ap-us-missouri-boat-accident-duck-boats.html = = 20 july 18 Duck boats like the one that sank in Branson, Missouri, killing 17 people, have a long history of safety problems and have been linked to the deaths of more than 40 people since 1999. The deadly sinking in Missouri brought back painful memories of a similar accident nearly two decades ago in Arkansas. Both duck boats had overhead roofs or canopies that the National Transportation Safety Board warned could greatly increase the risk of passengers becoming trapped in the boat and drowning. The sinking on Table Rock Lake near Branson Thursday came during stormy weather. The official cause has not been determined, but investigators initially blamed thunderstorm = = = General Motors developed the DUKW in 1942 to get supplies and reinforcements to World War II troops, and the amphibious vehicles became known as "ducks." They were later modified for use for sightseeing in cities around the U.S. The long, narrow vehicles are shaped like boats, but have wheels they use when on land. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 OK lah, ours are operating in lagoon not the open sea. I wonder is business good? I have never tried and wouldn't bother even if it is free. More a tourists attraction I guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 OK lah, ours are operating in lagoon not the open sea. I wonder is business good? I have never tried and wouldn't bother even if it is free. More a tourists attraction I guess. Definitely it is a tourists attraction, but think some locals also might go take one time to try? Or locals might take when they have visitors from overseas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 a very serious accident last week in USA. the safety of these boats are not exactly prisitne. are they still operating from suntec city? https://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2018/07/20/us/ap-us-missouri-boat-accident-duck-boats.html = = 20 july 18 Duck boats like the one that sank in Branson, Missouri, killing 17 people, have a long history of safety problems and have been linked to the deaths of more than 40 people since 1999. The deadly sinking in Missouri brought back painful memories of a similar accident nearly two decades ago in Arkansas. Both duck boats had overhead roofs or canopies that the National Transportation Safety Board warned could greatly increase the risk of passengers becoming trapped in the boat and drowning. The sinking on Table Rock Lake near Branson Thursday came during stormy weather. The official cause has not been determined, but investigators initially blamed thunderstorm = = = General Motors developed the DUKW in 1942 to get supplies and reinforcements to World War II troops, and the amphibious vehicles became known as "ducks." They were later modified for use for sightseeing in cities around the U.S. The long, narrow vehicles are shaped like boats, but have wheels they use when on land. omg. my daughter sch just went on a duck tour excursion last week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 40 deaths since 1999 is like 2 incidents? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 40 deaths since 1999 is like 2 incidents? And yet they still did not closed down the duck tour?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 And yet they still did not closed down the duck tour?!i was quoting from @camrysfa post. i think is USA context, so considering the size of the country and the number of trips they have, 2 incidents may not be that many, statiscally speaking... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 i was quoting from @camrysfa post. i think is USA context, so considering the size of the country and the number of trips they have, 2 incidents may not be that many, statiscally speaking... I know you are quoting from other post. Maybe you are right, consider the size of the country, 40 deaths not a lot? Anyway, sg duck tour should be quite safe lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 Took it once many moons ago. Kids found it boring and noisy. Very safe one lah. How choppy can our water in the Bay Area get? I believe if it rain the tour would cancel or cut short one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 Took it once many moons ago. Kids found it boring and noisy. Very safe one lah. How choppy can our water in the Bay Area get? I believe if it rain the tour would cancel or cut short one. When it rains, think they will cancel the tour de, so indeed overall very safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 After reading the comments, I am quite assured our duck boats are safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banz86 5th Gear July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 (edited) I took the tour twice but it was couple of years back. Overall, I find the way our Singapore operators work is quite safe. The safety briefing is very well explained. I remember all the life jackets are very visible and easy to reach in the event that anything happens. However, it's a couple of years back. Travelling in Singapore river or reservoir, it's really quite safe. There isn't high waves or choppy waters. There are many tourist boats around, if really touch wood anything happens. Edited July 24, 2018 by Banz86 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 I took the m113 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 I took the m113 So m113 safer ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 24, 2018 Share July 24, 2018 I took the m113i took the rpl and the assault boat.... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...