CAN YOU SPEAK CHINESE?

JJ_JJ

Exactly. These PRC look up and serve the white with extra efforts, but to us local chinese they ask us speak their language!! If they say "sorry, would you please help, if you dont mind, may i use mandarin?", at least they are not imposing themselves on the customers. Instead, they demand the customers speak their language.

they look up to white or not i dont know.

but they definitely look down on chinese who can speak mandarin but chose to speak in english.

Cold storage (7 11) also mend by chinese speaking FT. Well generally i just go into (7 11) point at the cd, smile and pay up without ushering a word. [laugh]

when i want to buy condoms, i point at my didi, the PRC salesgirl fully understands me.... :D

they look up to white or not i dont know.

but they definitely look down on chinese who can speak mandarin but chose to speak in english.

no leh, i tell them in chinese "why you no speak the most common language here --- english" :D

on the lighter side: ktv is ok for them to insist on "speak mandarin" :D in fact, language is reduntant there, actions louder than words

Knowing you...i am sure somehow somewhere u will come up with such sentence. [laugh]

I prefer mouth word than hand action.

Edited by Kopites

which f*** steamboat u talking about? Is it so serious you needed to use that? Or there is some f--king problem with your brain?

ok la cool la. I help the PRC xmm answer your question k?

The steamboat (chongpang) now at balestier market liao. :D

P/S: the mei mei got as chio as my avatar? :D

when i want to buy condoms, i point at my didi, the PRC salesgirl fully understands me.... :D

You gonna turn this thread into another LTK thread. [laugh]

Be careful she might mis understood and give u some anticeptic cream for your didi hor. [laugh]

form TS post, I presume that he/she is a Chinese... i dont know what is wrong when a PRC ask a Chinese whether he could speak in Mandarin... Why is TS get so pissed??

i personally felt that Singaporean Chinese dont feel that it is a shame for not able to speak in their own mother tongue... Me for instance, always blame myself for not being able to speak fluent mandarin... But at least Im good in cantonese and Hokkien...

i think it's not about whether the chinese customer is able or choose to use chinese, its about the PRC customer service officer insists that the customer to use her own language. There's a difference between this and what you said.

I am able to speak mandarin, i will use it to tell her to speak the language the customer prefers, not what she dictates.

You gonna turn this thread into another LTK thread. [laugh]

Be careful she might mis understood and give u some anticeptic cream for your didi hor. [laugh]

or she asks me follow her behind the counter, and opens her mouth :D .... the thread is getting hot, so needs tiko posts to cool it down :D

If TS is asking abt giant stuff or wan to buy something there den is reasonable ..KNN but he went to ask for where is the streanboat resturant? like pple own him ike tat.. wan ask something show respect la .. not that he didnt know chinese..

ang mo here ang mo there..KNN

ok, you're right... he asked something not related to Giant and therefore should not have insisted the Giant PRC to follw his language.

or she asks me follow her behind the counter, and opens her mouth :D .... the thread is getting hot, so needs tiko posts to cool it down :D

Haha...indeed, you are OT tiko no 1. To add that, i couldnt bring myself to do that because my gf who was with me is 1000x better looking than that PRC.

As a matter of fact, I didnt realise she is a PRC till she spoke.

Bro, let me be tiko no. 2 here then. I had not bedded with many PRCs (not the paid kind lah) before, but in general, they dont really like to blow "flute".

Thats a more discreet way of saying Blow Job to the PRC. ( I learnt it from a PRC gal).

i think it's not about whether the chinese customer is able or choose to use chinese, its about the PRC customer service officer insists that the customer to use her own language. There's a difference between this and what you said.

I am able to speak mandarin, i will use it to tell her to speak the language the customer prefers, not what she dictates.

PRC will not hesitate to demonstrate their proficiency in english if they are capable in that language....given the situation, i do not think that that PRC is proficient in english otherwise none of this problem would have erupted.....i guess the only option for her was either to use mandarin or her own provincial dialect to communicate. seeing that the person in front is a chinese, it is very natural for her to ask if that person can speak mandarin...come on what choice does she has right? whats is there to insist if she can only communicate in mandarin it is not as if she knows japanese, otherwise she would probably be a tour guide back home why would she need to come to sing to work as a CSO at giant right?? This is giant supermarket, you think she will go and fetch her manager to answer something obviously not related to her area of responsibility?

ok la cool la. I help the PRC xmm answer your question k?

The steamboat (chongpang) now at balestier market liao. :D

P/S: the mei mei got as chio as my avatar? :D

Seriously? Thanks for info.

P/S: the mei mei confirmed oihc. i learnt one term called "fugly" that ppl decribe some cars here.

PRC will not hesitate to demonstrate their proficiency in english if they are capable in that language....given the situation, i do not think that that PRC is proficient in english otherwise none of this problem would have erupted.....i guess the only option for her was either to use mandarin or her own provincial dialect to communicate. seeing that the person in front is a chinese, it is very natural for her to ask if that person can speak mandarin...come on what choice does she has right? whats is there to insist if she can only communicate in mandarin it is not as if she knows japanese, otherwise she would probably be a tour guide back home why would she need to come to sing to work as a CSO at giant right?? This is giant supermarket, you think she will go and fetch her manager to answer something obviously not related to her area of responsibility?

Good that you didnt use that word in this reply. Karter reinforced by bolding and highlighting certain words pertaining the first3/4 of your paragraph. Please scroll up.

Actually, fetching the manager was definitely not neccessary for a situation like this; so the last 1/4 was like 画蛇添足 to me, if you dont mind.

no leh, i tell them in chinese "why you no speak the most common language here --- english" :D

No. Our common language is Singlish.

Our official mother-tongues are Malay, Mandarin and Tamil.

As for conversing in Mandarin with PRC or Taiwanese or a Malaysian Chinese who are fluent with their language which happens to be one of language used in Singapore's Bilingual education, I say why not ?

In fact, I had always take the initiative to hold conversation with PRC folks in their native 普通话 just to brush up my "2nd language" and in return they frequently request me to 请教 their conversational English.

Now, about this thread, this is not a language issue, it is more of an Attitude problem.

I dun agree with you. If the PRC or any other foreigner intends to work in Australia or for that matter, in any European countries, he or she must be able to speak reasonably good English or the language of that country, if the job require them to interact with the locals. If the PRC girl working at Giant here is able communicate in English, she would probably be working in Australia and not here.

To the PRC, Mandarin is also widely spoken here by Chinese Singaporean, and since she is not able to communicate in English, it is reasonable for her to ask the customers who is a Chinese to speak in Mandarin. If in the next moment, you found her speaking to a Caucasian in English, then u can say she suck up to the Ang Mo.

Every where is full of PRC .. some more u go giant ask where is streamboat restaurant in ang mo? obviously u giam gan...

Like that also termed "giam gan...?" then i think going to use toilet at the petrol kiosk without pumping petrol nor buying anything in the kiosk also giam gan liao according to your mindset.

Good that you didnt use that word in this reply. Karter reinforced by bolding and highlighting certain words pertaining the first3/4 of your paragraph. Please scroll up.

Actually, fetching the manager was definitely not neccessary for a situation like this; so the last 1/4 was like 画蛇添足 to me, if you dont mind.

just like to reinforce by own quote abt this tread, that is "bo-liao" and 强词夺理 to me, if you dont mind. :D

well hatred is blind:)

and to TS, as much as you dislike seeing AT around(just as i do), remember who were the ones who allowed them in.

so do redirect your anger properly and do the right thing in 2016 [cool]

Hatred is too strong a word to be used in this context. But for sure bro, my eyes are wide opened to witness all the effects of policies made whether good or bad.